
Service Date: October 30, 2018 
   

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

 

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE 

FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES 

 

 

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: DG-180828 

PENALTY AMOUNT: $1,000 

 Investigation # 7776 

 

 

Rodarte Construction, Inc. UBI:  600-264-803 

17 East Valley Hwy E  Phone: (253) 939-0532 

Auburn, WA 98092 

  

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that you have 

violated Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 19.122.030 by failing to request a dig ticket prior to 

performing an excavation. RCW 19.122.055 states, in part, that any excavator who fails to notify a 

one-number locator service and causes damage to a hazardous liquid or gas facility is subject to a 

civil penalty of not more than $10,000 for each violation. 

 

Commission staff (Staff) conducted an investigation that included reviewing damage reports 

submitted by Puget Sound Energy (PSE), which identified a natural gas damage event involving 

Rodarte Construction, Inc. (Rodarte or Company). Accordingly, the Commission hereby notifies 

you that it is assessing a penalty against you in the amount of $1,000 on the following grounds: 

 

On October 19, 2016, the Commission issued an Alleged Violation of Washington 

Dig Law letter to Rodarte, informing the Company of its obligation to have 

underground utilities located prior to excavation, as outlined in RCW 19.122.030. 

This letter was issued following damage incidents on August 1, 2016, and August 

15, 2016, in Milton, Washington, that occurred because Rodarte failed to obtain 

valid dig tickets prior to excavation. The letter emphasized the importance of 

becoming familiar with the law, and the possibility of penalties for each violation. 

 

On June 4, 2018, Rodarte performed an excavation while doing electrical work at 

1814 E 30th St., Tacoma, Washington. Prior to beginning excavation, Rodarte did 

not submit a request to a one-number locator service to locate underground utilities. 

A 5/8” underground PSE gas line was struck and damaged by equipment used by 

Rodarte employees. 

 

On July 12, 2018, PSE submitted a Damage Incident Reporting Tool report 

identifying Rodarte as the party responsible for damaging the natural gas service 

line on June 4, 2018. Staff was unable to find a valid dig ticket for Rodarte at the 

work site on this date, but found a dig ticket that expired on April 16, 2018. Rodarte 

submitted a new request for utility locate for this site the same day the damage 

occurred. 
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Staff recommends the commission assess a $1,000 penalty against Rodarte for one 

violation of RCW 19.122.030(2) for failing to provide the required notice to a one-

number locator service not less than two business days before excavating, as follows: 

 

 No penalty for the violation of RCW 19.122.030(2) that occurred on August 

1, 2016; and  

 No penalty for the violation of RCW 19.122.030(2) that occurred on August 

15, 2016; and 

 $1,000 penalty for the violation of RCW 19.122. 030(2) that occurred on 

June 4, 2018. 

 

Staff’s research indicates that Rodarte has a significant history of requesting and 

updating utility locates, and the violation appears to be the result of the Company’s 

negligence rather than a lack of knowledge of the requirements of Washington’s dig 

law. After considering all of the circumstances, Staff recommends that the 

Commission offer to suspend $800 of the penalty for a period of one year subject to 

the conditions that: (1) the Company’s field crews involved in excavation, including 

management, attend Dig Safe training provided through the National Utility 

Contractors Association (NUCA) within six months of the date of this Notice; and 

(2) the Company commits no further violations of RCW 19.122 within 12 months 

of the date of this Notice. Additionally, the Commission would like to remind 

Rodarte of its obligation to report damages of underground facilities to the 

Commission, facility operators, and the one-number locator service, as required by 

RCW 19.122.053. 

 

The Commission agrees with Staff’s recommendation and assesses a penalty of $1,000, with an 

offer to suspend $800 of the penalty subject to the conditions listed above. The Commission will 

waive the $800 suspended penalty if Rodarte complies with both conditions. If Rodarte fails to 

comply with either of these conditions, the $800 suspended penalty will become immediately due 

and payable, in addition to any new penalties that the Commission may assess for additional 

violations. 

 

These facts, if not contested or if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, are 

sufficient to support the penalty assessment. 

 

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe any or all of the violations did not occur, you 

may deny committing the violation(s) and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a 

hearing or in writing. Or, if there is a reason for the violation(s) that you believe should excuse you 

from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence presented 

at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing only if material issues 

of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest 

the violations or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written statement of the reasons 

supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See 

RCW 81.04.405. 

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the 

Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation(s) or application for 
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mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The 

administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of his or her decision. 

 

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following: 

 

 Pay the $1,000 penalty amount due; or 

 Notify the Commission that you accept the offer to suspend, and ultimately waive, 

$800 of the $1,000 penalty subject to the following conditions: 

o Rodarte employees, including management and crew foremen involved in 

excavations, attend Dig Safe training provided through NUCA within six (6) 

months of the date of this Notice; and 

o Submit documentation of attendance to the commission within five (5) days 

of attending the training; and  

o Commit no further violations of RCW 19.122 within twelve (12) months of 

the date of this Notice; or 

 Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of any or all of the violation(s); or 

 Request mitigation to reduce the amount of the penalty. 

 

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and 

Transportation Commission, P.O. Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within 

FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice. 

 

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the 

Attorney General for collection. The Commission may then sue you to collect the penalty.  

 

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective October 30, 2018. 

 

 

 

/s/ Rayne Pearson 

       RAYNE PEARSON 

Director, Administrative Law Division



 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

PENALTY ASSESSMENT DG-180828, Investigation # 7776 
 

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the commission within 15 

days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed. 

 

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false statements 

under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the matters set forth 

below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the following 

statements: 

 

[   ]  1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred and enclose $1,000 in payment of 

the penalty. 

 

[   ]  2. Accept conditions. I admit that the violations occurred and have enclosed $200 of the penalty 

amount. I also accept the Commission’s offer to suspend, and ultimately waive, the remaining 

$800 of the penalty amount subject to the following conditions:  

o Rodarte employees, including management and crew foremen involved in 

excavations, attend Dig Safe training provided through NUCA within six (6) 

months of this Notice; and 

o Submit documentation of attendance to the Commission within five (5) days of 

attending the training; and 

o Commit no further violations of RCW 19.122 within twelve (12) months of the 

date of this Notice. 

 

[   ]  3. Contest the violation. I believe that the alleged violation(s) did not occur for the reasons I 

describe below: 

 

 

 

 

 

[   ]  a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an 

administrative law judge for a decision. 

     OR [   ]  b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide above. 

 

[   ]  4. Request mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should be reduced 

for the reasons set out below:  

 

 

 

 

 

 

[   ]  a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an 

administrative law judge for a decision. 

     OR [   ]  b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide above. 

 

 

 

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing, 

including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct. 

 



 

 

Dated: __________________ [Month/Day/Year], at ______________________ [City, State] 

 

 

 _____________________________________  ___________________________ 

Name of Respondent (company) – please print  Signature of Applicant 

 

 

 

RCW 9A.72.020: 

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official 

proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath required or 

authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, 

and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution 

under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”   


