Service Date: October 2, 2018

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TV-180748 PENALTY AMOUNT: \$600

Seattle Moves & More LLC 4601 Shilshole Ave Seattle, WA 98107

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that Seattle Moves & More LLC (Seattle Moves or Company) has committed violations of Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-15-555, Criminal Background Checks for Prospective Employees, and WAC 480-15-560, Equipment Safety Requirements, which adopts Title 49 CFR Part 396 – Inspection, Repair, and Maintenance.

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.405 allows penalties of one hundred dollars for each violation. In the case of an ongoing violation, every day's continuance is considered a separate and distinct violation.

On August 29, 2018, Commission Motor Carrier Investigator Edward Steiner completed a comprehensive intrastate investigation of Seattle Moves and documented the following violations:

- Five violations of WAC 480-15-555 Failing to acquire criminal background check of prospective employees. The Company failed to acquire criminal background checks for five prospective employees, Justin Johnson, Conner Jordan, Lauren Ritter, Taylor Cox, and Troy Mundale.
- One violation of Title 49 CFR Part 396.3(b) Required records. The Company failed to keep the minimum required records of inspection and maintenance for the two vehicles examined.

The Commission considered the following factors in determining the appropriate penalties for this violation:

- 1. How serious or harmful the violation is to the public. The violations noted are serious and potentially harmful to the public. Companies that fail to keep records of vehicle inspection and maintenance put the traveling public at risk. Moving companies that fail to conduct criminal background checks on prospective employees place customers and their belongings at risk.
- 2. Whether the violation is intentional. Considerations include:
 - Whether the company ignored Commission staff's previous technical assistance; and

• Whether there is clear evidence through documentation or other means that shows the company knew of and failed to correct the violation.

In its January 20, 2017, application for a household goods moving permit, owner Lars Kaldestad acknowledged the Company's responsibility to comply with applicable laws and regulations. On February 22, 2017, Mr. Kaldestad attended household goods training provided by Commission staff (Staff) and acknowledged receiving training pertaining to motor carrier safety regulations.

The Company knew or should have known about these requirements.

- 3. **Whether the company self-reported the violation.** The Company did not self-report the violation.
- 4. Whether the company was cooperative and responsive. Seattle Moves was cooperative throughout the investigation.
- Whether the company promptly corrected the violations and remedied the impacts.
 Upon notice of the violations, the Company corrected them throughout the investigation process.
- 6. **The number of violations.** In total, Staff identified nine violation types and a total of 21 individual occurrences.
- 7. **The number of customers affected.** The Company traveled 5,600 miles in 2017. A significant number of customers as well as members of the traveling public were potentially affected by these violations.
- 8. **The likelihood of recurrence.** It is unknown if Seattle Moves is likely to repeat this violation, however the Company was very cooperative with Staff and took appropriate steps to correct the safety violations documented in the report.
- 9. The company's past performance regarding compliance, violations, and penalties. This is the Company's first routine safety investigation. The Company has no previous violations or penalties.
- 10. **The company's existing compliance program.** Mr. Kaldestad is responsible for the Company's safety compliance program.
- 11. **The size of the company.** Seattle Moves is a small company with two drivers and four vehicles. The Company reported \$108,000 in gross revenue for 2017.

The Commission's Enforcement Policy provides that some Commission requirements are so fundamental to safe operations that the Commission will issue mandatory penalties for each

occurrence of a first-time violation.¹ The Commission generally will assess penalties per type of violation, rather than per occurrence, for first-time violations of those critical regulations that do not meet the requirements for mandatory penalties. The Commission will assess penalties for any equipment violation meeting the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration's "out-of-service" criteria, and also for repeat violations of critical regulations found in future compliance investigations, including each occurrence of a repeat violation.

The Commission has considered these factors and determined that it should penalize Seattle Moves \$600 for violations of WAC 480-15-555, Criminal Background Checks, and WAC 480-15-560, Equipment Safety Requirements, which adopts Title 49 CFR Part 396, calculated as follows:

- Five violations of WAC 480-15-555 Failing to acquire a criminal background check for five prospective employees. The Commission assesses a penalty of \$100 for each occurrence of these critical violations, for a total of \$500.
- One violation of Title 49 CFR Part 396.3(b) Failing to keep inspection and maintenance records. The Commission assesses a penalty of \$100 for the first occurrence of this critical violation, for a total of \$100.

This information, if proven at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support the penalty assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe any or all of the violations did not occur, you may deny committing the violation(s) and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. Or, if there is a reason for any or all of the violations that you believe should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest the violation(s) or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See RCW 81.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation(s) or application for mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of his or her decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

- Pay the amount due.
- Contest the occurrence of the violations.
- Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

¹ Docket A-120061 – Enforcement Policy of the Washington Utilities & Transportation Commission – Section V.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and submit it electronically through the Commission's web portal **within FIFTEEN** (**15**) **days** after you receive this notice. If you are unable to use the web portal, you may submit it via email to records@utc.wa.gov. If you are unable to submit the form electronically, you may send a paper copy to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may take additional enforcement action, including but not necessarily limited to suspending or revoking your certificate to provide regulated service, assessing additional penalties, or referring this matter to the Office of the Attorney General for collection.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective October 2, 2018.

RAYNE PEARSON Director, Administrative Law Division

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION PENALTY ASSESSMENT TV-180748

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed. I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the following statements.

matters	set forth b	pelow and I have personal knowledge g statements.	e of those matters. I hereby make, under
[] 1.	Payment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred and enclose \$600 in payment of the penalty.		
[] 2.	Contest the violation(s). I believe that the alleged violation(s) did not occur for the reasons I describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest here, your request will be denied):		
	[] a)	I ask for a hearing to present evider an administrative law judge for a d	ce on the information I provide above to ecision.
OR	[] b)	I ask for a Commission decision ba above.	sed solely on the information I provide
[] 3.	Application for mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should be reduced for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting your application here, your request will be denied):		
	[] a)	I ask for a hearing to present evider an administrative law judge for a d	ace on the information I provide above to ecision.
OR	[] b)	I ask for a Commission decision ba above.	sed solely on the information I provide
	-	enalty of perjury under the laws of thation I have presented on any attachm	e State of Washington that the foregoing, nents, is true and correct.
Dated:		[month/day/year], at	[city, state]
Name o	of Respond	lent (company) – please print	Signature of Applicant

RCW 9A.72.020:

"Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the actor's mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony."