WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: DG-180733 PENALTY AMOUNT: \$3,500 Investigation # 7761

UBI: 603 222 558 Phone: (425) 677-5197

Infrasource Services, LLC 14103 Stewart Rd Sumner, WA 98390

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that you have violated Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 19.122.030(2) by failing to obtain a valid dig ticket prior to performing an excavation. RCW 19.122.055 states, in part, that any excavator who fails to notify a one-number locator service and causes damage to a hazardous liquid or gas facility is subject to a civil penalty of not more than ten thousand dollars for each violation.

Commission staff (Staff) conducted an investigation that included reviewing damage reports submitted by Puget Sound Energy (PSE), which identified two natural gas damage events involving Infrasource Services, LLC (Infrasource or Company). Accordingly, the commission hereby notifies you that it is assessing a penalty against you in the amount of \$3,500 on the following grounds:

On October 19, 2016, the commission mailed an Alleged Violation of Washington Dig Law letter to Infrasource, informing the Company of its obligation to have underground utilities located prior to excavation, as outlined in RCW 19.122.030. This letter was sent following a damage incident on August 8, 2016, at 4727 40th Ave. SE, Seattle, Washington, that occurred because Infrasource failed to obtain a valid dig ticket prior to excavation. The letter emphasized the importance of becoming familiar with the law, and the possibility of penalties for each violation.

(First Violation)

On April 23, 2018, Infrasource was installing new service lines and damaged a 5/8" natural gas line at 2526 226th Pl. NE, Sammamish, Washington. On May 29, 2018, PSE submitted a Damage Incident Reporting Tool (DIRT) report identifying Infrasource as the party responsible for damaging the natural gas service line on April 23 without providing notice to a one-number locator service at least two days before commencement of excavation.

Staff found that Infrasource requested a utility locate for this site on February 27, 2018, that was valid until April 13. This ticket was updated on Friday, April 20, 2018, and excavation activity commenced on Monday, April 23, less than the required two full business days after calling for a utility locate.

On April 25, 2018, Infrasource performed an excavation at 10218 NE 65th St, Kirkland, Washington. While excavating, the Company struck and damaged a PSE natural gas line. On May 29, 2018, PSE submitted a DIRT report identifying Infrasource as the party responsible for damaging the natural gas service line.

Staff found that Infrasource failed to obtain a valid dig ticket prior to beginning excavation.. The One Call ticket database indicated that Infrasource had a valid ticket for this site that expired on February 25, 2018. A new request was made on April 25, 2018, the same day the incident occurred, which establishes that Infrasource did not wait the required two full business days after requesting a locate prior to excavation.

Staff recommends the commission assess a \$3,500 penalty against Infrasource for two violations of RCW 19.122.030(2) for failing to provide the required notice to a one-number locator service not less than two business days before excavating, as follows:

- No penalty for the violation of RCW 19.122.030(2), which occurred on October 19, 2016; and
- \$1,000 penalty for the violation of RCW 19.122.030(2), which occurred on April 23, 2018.
- \$2,500 penalty for the violation of RCW 19.122.030(2), which occurred on April 25, 2018.

The commission agrees with Staff's recommendation and assesses a penalty of \$3,500 for two violations of RCW 19.122.030(2) for failing to request a dig ticket prior to performing an excavation. These facts, if not contested or if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, are sufficient to support the penalty assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe either or both of the violations did not occur, you may deny committing the violation(s) and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. Or, if there is a reason for the violation that you believe should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. The commission will grant a request for hearing only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest the violations or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. *See* RCW 81.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the commission grants that request, the commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation(s) or application for mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of his or her decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

• Pay the \$3,500 penalty amount due;

- Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of either or both of the violation(s); or
- Request mitigation to reduce the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, P.O. Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, **within FIFTEEN (15) days** after you receive this notice.

If you do not act within 15 days, the commission may refer this matter to the Office of the Attorney General for collection. The commission may then sue you to collect the penalty.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective October 9, 2018.

/s/ *Rayne Pearson* RAYNE PEARSON Director, Administrative Law Division

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION PENALTY ASSESSMENT DG-180733, Investigation # 7761

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the commission within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the following statements:

- [] 1. **Payment of penalty.** I admit that the violations occurred and enclose \$3,500 in payment of the penalty.
- [] 2. **Contest the violation.** I believe that the alleged violation(s) did not occur for the reasons I describe below:
 - [] a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an administrative law judge for a decision.
 - OR [] b) I ask for a commission decision based solely on the information I provide above.
- [] 3. **Request mitigation.** I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should be reduced for the reasons set out below:

- [] a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an administrative law judge for a decision.
- OR [] b) I ask for a commission decision based solely on the information I provide above.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing, including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: _____ [Month/Day/Year], at _____ [City, State]

Name of Respondent (company) – please print Signature of Applicant

"Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the actor's mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony."