Service Date: May 24, 2018

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TV-180363
PENALTY AMOUNT: $100

Redefyne Moving, LL.C
8811 SE Herbert Ct Suite B
Clackamas, OR 97015

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that Redefyne
Moving, LLC (Redefyne or Company) has committed violations of Washington Administrative
Code (WAC) 480-15-555, Criminal Background Checks for Prospective Employees.

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.405 allows penalties of one hundred dollars for each
violation. In the case of an ongoing violation, every day’s continuance is considered a separate
and distinct violation.

On April 5, 2018, Commission Motor Carrier Investigator Sandi Yeomans completed a routine
safety investigation of Redefyne and documented the following violations:

® One violation of WAC 480-15-555 — Failing to acquire criminal background check
of prospective employee. The carrier failed to acquire a criminal background check for
one prospective employee, Kyle Nicodemus.

The Commission considered the following factors in determining the appropriate penalties for
these violations:

1. How serious or harmful the violation is to the public. The violation noted is serious
and potentially harmful to the public. Moving companies that fail to conduct criminal
background checks on prospective employees place customers and their belongings at
risk.

2. Whether the violation is intentional. Considerations include:
e  Whether the company ignored Commission staff’s previous technical assistance;
and

e  Whether there is clear evidence through documentation or other means that shows
the company knew of and failed to correct the violation.

In its August 2, 2016, application for household goods moving authority, Aaron Schaller,
owner of Redefyne, acknowledged the Company’s responsibility to understand and
comply with applicable motor carrier safety rules.
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10.

11.

On August 8, 2016, and on November 17, 2016, Aaron Schaller and Sarah Lewis
attended household goods training provided by Commission staff. Aaron Schaller and
Sarah Lewis acknowledged receiving training pertaining to motor carrier safety
regulations.

The Company knew or should have known about these requirements.

Whether the company self-reported the violation. The Company did not self-report the
violation.

Whether the company was cooperative and responsive. Redefyne was uncooperative
and argumentative throughout the review.

Whether the company promptly corrected the violations and remedied the impacts.
Upon notice of the violations, the Company corrected its new hire packets. The Company
did not indicate whether it has corrected any other violations.

The number of violations. In total staff identified 17 violation types and a total of 28
individual occurrences.

The number of customers affected. The company traveled 45,754 miles in 2017. A
significant number of customers, as well as members of the traveling public, were likely
affected by these safety violations.

The likelihood of recurrence. The Commission does not know if Redefyne is likely to
repeat these safety violations. However, the Company was uncooperative and
argumentative with staff and it is unknown if appropriate steps were taken to correct the
safety violations documented in staff’s report.

The company’s past performance regarding compliance, violations, and penalties.
This is the Company’s first routine safety investigation.

The company’s existing compliance program. Redefyne did not have a formal
compliance program at the time of staff’s review. Bob Sparks was hired on March 26,
2018, to maintain the Company’s compliance program. '

The size of the company. Redefyne is a small company with three drivers and two
vehicles. The Company reported $954,828 in gross revenue for 2017,

The Commission’s Enforcement Policy provides that some Commission requirements are so
fundamental to safe operations that the Commission will issue mandatory penalties for each
occurrence of a first-time violation.! The Commission generally will assess penalties per type of
violation, rather than per occurrence, for first-time violations of those critical regulations that do
not meet the requirements for mandatory penalties. The Commission will assess penalties for any

! Docket A-120061 — Enforcement Policy of the Washington Utilities & Transportation Commission —
Section V.
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equipment violation meeting the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration’s “out-of-service”
criteria, and also for repeat violations of critical regulations found in future compliance
investigations, including each occurrence of a repeat violation.

The Commission has considered these factors and determined that it should penalize Redefyne
$100 for violation of WAC 480-15-555, Criminal Background Checks for Prospective
Employees, calculated as follows:

* One violation of WAC 480-15-555 — Failing to acquire criminal background check for
prospective employees. The Commission assesses a penalty of $100 for each occurrence
of this critical violation, for a total of $100.

This information, if proven at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support the
penalty assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe any or all of the violations did not oceur,
you may deny committing the violation(s) and contest the penalty assessment through evidence
presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing only if
material issues of law or fact concerning the violation(s) require consideration of evidence and
resolution in a hearing. Any contest of the penalty assessment must include a written statement
of the reasons supporting that contest. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of
the contest. :

If there is a reason for any or all of the violations that you believe should excuse you from the
penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of this penalty through evidence presented at a
hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing only if material issues of
law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request for
mitigation must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to
provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See RCW 81.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the
Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation(s) or application
for mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The
administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of his or her decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:
e Pay the amount due.
e Contest the occurrence of the violations.
 Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and submit it electronically through the
Commission’s web portal within FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice. If you are
unable to use the web portal, you may submit it via email to records@utc.wa. gov. If you are
unable to submit the form electronically, you may send a paper copy to the Washington Utilities
and Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250.
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If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may take additional enforcement action,
including but not necessarily limited to suspending or revoking your certificate to provide
regulated service, assessing additional penalties, or referring this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective May 24, 2018,

YNE PEARSON

Director, Administrative Law Division
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT TV-180363

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I'have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the
matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. hereby make, under
oath, the following statements.

[ 1 1. Payment of penalty. | admit that the violations occurred and enclose §
in payment of the penalty.

[ ] 2. Contest the violation(s). I believe that the alleged violation(s) did not occur for the
reasons I describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest
here, your request will be denied):

[ ] a) Iask fora hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to
an administrative law judge for a decision.

OR [ ] b) [Iask fora Commission decision based solely on the information I provide
above.

[ 1 3. Application for mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should
be reduced for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting
your application here, your request will be denied):

[ ] a) Task forahearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to
an administrative law judge for a decision.

OR [ ] b) Iask fora Commission decision based solely on the information I provide
above.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: [month/day/year], at [city, state]

Name of Respondent (company) — please print Signature of Applicant
RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official
proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath
required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a
defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”



