Service Date: January 5, 2018

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TE-171193
PENALTY AMOUNT: $1,500

BML Investments LLC

d/b/a Wenatchee Valley Shuttle
400 South Wenatchee Avenue
Wenatchee, WA 98801

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that BML
Investments LLC, d/b/a Wenatchee Valley Shuttle (Wenatchee Valley Shuttle) has committed
violations of Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-30-221 — Vehicle and Driver Safety
Requirements which adopts Title 49 Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) Part 382 — Controlled
Substances and Alcohol Use and Testing.

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.530 allows a penalty of one thousand five hundred
dollars for a company operating without a controlled substance and alcohol testing program that
is in compliance with the requirements of Title 49 CFR Part 382.

In December 2017, Commission Motor Carrier Investigator Francine Gagne completed a routine
safety investigation of Wenatchee Valley Shuttle and documented:

¢  One violation of Title 49 CFR Part 382.305(a) — Failing to implement a random
controlled substance and/or alcohol testing program. Wenatchee Valley Shuttle had
no controlled substance testing program until April of 2017,

The Commission considered the following factors in determining the appropriate penalty for this
violation:

1. How serious or harmful the violation is to the public. The violation noted is serious
and potentially harmful to the public. Passenger transportation companies that fail to
implement a controlled substance and/or alcohol testing program put the traveling public
at risk. An impaired driver presénts serious safety concerns.

2. Whether the violation is intentional. Considerations include:

¢ Whether the company ignored Commission staff’s previous technical assistance;
and

e  Whether there is clear evidence through documentation or other means that shows
the company knew of and failed to correct the violation.

Wenatchee Valley Shuttle applied for passenger transportation authority in 2012. In its
application, the company’s chief executive officer Monique Lott, and the chief financial
officer Byron Lott acknowledged their responsibility for understanding and complying
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with applicable state and federal safety regulations. Staff also provided new entrant
technical assistance at that time.

Since 2012, Commission staff has conducted five safety investigations of Wenatchee
Valley Shuttle. Staff believes that the company knew or should have known about these
requirements.

Whether the company self-reported the violation. The company did not self-report
these violations.

Whether the company was cooperative and responsive. Wenatchee Valley Shuttle was
cooperative and responsive throughout the entire investigation.

Whether the company promptly corrected the violation and remedied the impact,
Wenatchee Valley Shuttle corrected the violation in April 2017, prior to the safety
investigation,

The number of violations. In total, staff identified 18 violation types with a total of 61
occurrences. This is a significant number of violations for a company the size of
Wenatchee Valley Shuttle.

The number of customers affected. The company traveled 455,000 miles and reported
$853,300 in gross revenue for 2016. A significant number of customers as well as
members of the traveling public were potentially affected by these safety violations.

The likelihood of recurrence. The Commission does not know if Wenatchee Valley
Shuttle is likely to repeat these safety violations. However, the company was cooperative
with staff and appeared interested in coming into compliance with safety regulations.

The company’s past performance regarding compliance, violations, and penalties.
This is the company’s fifth safety investigation. The Commission penalized Wenatchee
Valley Shuttle in 2012 for safety violations and for operation in violation of a
Commission order, and in 2013 for failure to file its annual report or pay its regulatory
fee. '

The company’s existihg compliance program. Chief Executive Officer Monique Lott is
responsible for the carrier’s safety compliance program.

The size of the company. Wenatchee Valley Shuttle is a small company with eleven
drivers and eight commercial vehicles.

The Commission’s Enforcement Policy provides that some Commission requirements are so
fundamental to safe operations that the Commission will issue mandatory penalties for each
occurrence of a first-time violation.! The Commission generally will assess penalties per type of

" Docket A-120061 — Enforcement Policy of the Washington Utilities & Transportation Commission —
Section V.
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violation, rather than per occurrence, for first-time violations of those critical regulations that do
not meet the requirements for mandatory penalties. The Commission will assess penalties for any
equipment violation meeting the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration’s “out-of-service”
criteria and also for repeat violations of critical regulations found in future compliance
investigations, including each occurrence of a repeat violation.

The Commission has considered these factors and determined that it should penalize Wenatchee
Valley Shuttle $1,500 for violations of WAC 480-30-221 Vehicle and Driver Safety
Requirements, calculated as follows:

e One violation of Title 49 CFR Part 382.305(a) — Failing to implement a random
controlled substance and/or alcohol testing program. The Commission assesses a penalty
at the statutory amount of $1,500 for this violation.

This information, if proven at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support the
penalty assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may deny
committing the violation and contest the penalty assessment through evidence presented at a
hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing only if material issues of
law or fact concerning the violation require consideration of evidence and resolution in a
hearing. Any contest of the penalty assessment must include a written statement of the reasons
supporting that contest. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the contest.

If there is a reason for the violation that you believe should excuse you from the penalty, you
may ask for mitigation (reduction) of this penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in
writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing only if material issues of law or fact
require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request for mitigation must
include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a
statement will result in denial of the request. See RCW 81.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the
Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for
mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The
administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of his or her decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following;
e Pay the amount due.
e Contest the occurrence of the violation.
* Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and
Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within
FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.
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If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may take additional enforcement action,
including but not necessarily limited to suspending or revoking your certificate to provide
regulated service, assessing additional penalties, or referring this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective January 5, 2018.

/sl Gregory J. Kopta
GREGORY J. KOPTA
Director, Administrative Law Division
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT TC-171193

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment, Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the
matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under
oath, the following statements,

[ ] L Payment of penalty. I admit that the violation occurred and enclose $
in payment of the penalty.

[ ] 2. Contest the violation. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur for the reasons I
describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest here, your
request will be denied):

[ ] a) Task forahearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to
an administrative law judge for a decision

OR [ ] b) TaskforaCommission decision based solely on the information I provide
above.

[ 1 3. Application for mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty should
be reduced for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting
your application here, your request will be denied):

[ ] a) Iask fora hearing to present evidence on the information I pr ovlde above to
an administrative law judge for a decision

OR [ ] b) TaskforaCommission decision based solely on the information I provide
above.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: [month/day/year], at [city, state]

Name of Respondent (company) — please print Signature of Applicant
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RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official
proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath
required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a
defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”



