Service Date: November 9, 2017

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TE-171064
PENALTY AMOUNT: $200

H.LS. International Tours (NY) Inc.
619 Maynard Avenue South
Seattle, WA 98104

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that H.I.S.
International Tours (NY) Inc. (H.L.S. International) has committed violations of Washington
Administrative Code (WAC) 480-30-221 Vehicle and Driver Safety Requirements, which adopts
Title 49 Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) Part 391 — Qualifications of Drivers and Part 396 —
Inspection, Repair, and Maintenance.

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.405 allows penalties of one hundred dollars for each
violation. In the case of an ongoing violation, every day's continuance is considered a separate
and distinct violation.

In September 2017, Commission Motor Carrier Safety Investigator Wayne Gilbert conducted a
routine safety investigation of H.I.S. International and documented the following critical
violations:

e One violation of Title 49 CFR Part 391.51(a) — Failing to maintain a driver
qualification file on each driver employed. H.1.S. International failed to maintain a
complete driver qualification file for its employee Ayako Okutani.

¢  One violation of Title 49 CFR Part 396.17(a) — Using a commercial motor vehicle
not periodically inspected within minimum standards. The company allowed more
than 12 months to pass between required annual inspections of its vehicle. The company
inspected its vehicle on May 19, 2016 and not again until September 25, 2017, slightly
more than four months late.

The Commission considered the following factors in determining the appropriate penalties for
these violations:

1. How serious or harmful the violation is to the public. The violations noted are serious
and potentially harmful to the public. Companies that fail to document driver
qualifications or conduct required periodic inspections put the traveling public at risk. An
unqualified driver or an undetected vehicle defect present serious safety concerns.

2. Whether the violation is intentional. Considerations include:

e Whether the company ignored Commission staff’s previous technical assistance;
and
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e  Whether there is clear evidence through documentation or other means that shows
the company knew of and failed to correct the violation.

In the company’s 2013, application to the Commission for charter authority, Branch
Manager Mamoru Tokeshi acknowledged responsibility for understanding and complying
with applicable state and federal safety regulations. Commission staff also provided
technical assistance to the company in 2013. Staff believes the company knew, or should
have known about these requirements.

Whether the company self-reported the violation. The company did not self-report
these violations.

Whether the company was cooperative and responsive. H.L.S. International was
cooperative and responsive throughout the entire scope of the investigation.

Whether the company promptly corrected the violations and remedied the impacts.
The company expressed its intention to come into compliance, however staff is unaware
of specific steps the company has taken to correct these violations. ;

The number of violations. The number of violations is insignificant for a company the
size of H.L.S. International.

The number of customers affected. The company traveled 9,000 miles and reported
$46,089 for the fiscal year ending July 31, 2017. A significant number of customers, as
well as members of the traveling public were likely affected by these safety violations.

The likelihood of recurrence. The Commission does not know if H.I.S. International is
likely to repeat these safety violations. However, the company was cooperative and
responsive to staff, and expressed an interest in correcting the safety violations
documented during the routine safety investigation.

The company’s past performance regarding compliance, violations, and penalties.
This is the company’s first safety investigation and its first safety penalty. The
Commission penalized the company in 2014, 2016, and 2017 for failing to submit timely
annual reports.

The company’s existing compliance program. H.L.S. International has no compliance
program.

. The size of the company. H.I.S. International is a small company with two drivers and

one commercial vehicle.

The Commission’s Enforcement Policy provides that some Commission requirements are so
fundamental to safe operations that the Commission will issue mandatory penalties for each
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occurrence of a first-time violation."! The Commission generally will assess penalties per type of
violation, rather than per occurrence, for first-time violations of those critical regulations that do
not meet the requirements for mandatory penalties. The Commission will assess penalties for any
equipment violation meeting the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration’s “out-of-service”
criteria and also for repeat violations of critical regulations found in future compliance
investigations, including each occurrence of a repeat violation.

The Commission has considered these factors and determined that it should penalize H.I.S.
International $200 for violations of WAC 480-30-221 Vehicle and Driver Safety Requirements,
which adopts Title 49 CFR Parts 391 and 396, calculated as follows:

e One violation of Title 49 CFR Part 391.51(a) — Failing to maintain a driver qualification
file on each driver employed. The Commission assesses a penalty at the statutory amount
of $100 for this critical-type violation.

e One violation of Title 49 CFR Part 396.17(a) — Using a commercial motor vehicle not
periodically inspected within minimum standards. The Commission assesses a penalty at
the statutory amount of $100 for this critical-type violation.,

This information, if proven at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support the
penalty assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe any or all of the violations did not occur,
you may deny committing the violation(s) and contest the penalty assessment through evidence
presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing only if
material issues of law or fact concerning the violation(s) require consideration of evidence and
resolution in a hearing. Any contest of the penalty assessment must include a written statement
of the reasons supporting that contest. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of
the contest.

If there is a reason for any or all of the violations that you believe should excuse you from the
penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of this penalty through evidence presented at a
hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing only if material issues of
law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request for
mitigation must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to
provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See RCW 81.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the
Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation(s) or application
for mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The
administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of his or her decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:
e Pay the amount due.

' Docket A-120061 — Enforcement Policy of the Washington Utilities & Transportation Commission —
Section V.
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e Contest the occurrence of the violations,
e Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and
Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within
FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may take additional enforcement action,
including but not necessarily limited to suspending or revoking your certificate to provide
regulated service, assessing additional penalties, or referring this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective November 9, 2017.

[ty Mears) e

GREGORY J. KOPTA
Administrative Law Judge
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT TE-171064

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. [ am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the
matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under
oath, the following statements.

[ 1 1. Payment of penalty. [ admit that the violation occurred and enclose $
in payment of the penalty.

[ ] 2. Contest the violation. [ believe that the alleged violation did not occur for the reasons I
describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest here, your
request will be denied):

[ ] a) [askforahearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to
an administrative law judge for a decision

OR [ ] b) Iaskfora Commission decision based solely on the information I provide
above, '

[ 1 3. Application for mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty should
be reduced for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting
your application here, your request will be denied):

[ ] a) [Task fora hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to
an administrative law judge for a decision

OR [ ] b) IaskforaCommission decision based solely on the information I provide
above,

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: [month/day/year], at [city, state]

Name of Respondent (company) — please print Signature of Applicant
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RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official
proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath
required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a
defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”



