Service Date: August 8, 2017

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TV-170834
PENALTY AMOUNT: $100

Cherish Moving LLC
13804 NE 33rd Circle
Vancouver, WA 98682

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that you have
committed violations of Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-15-560 Equipment Safety
Requirements, which adopts Title 49 Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) Part 396 — Inspection,
Repair, and Maintenance.

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.405 allows penalties of one hundred dollars for each
violation. In the case of an ongoing violation, every day's continuance is considered a separate
and distinct violation.

On June 7, 2017, Commission Motor Carrier Investigators Wayne Gilbert and Jason Sharp
conducted a compliance review of Cherish Moving LLC (Cherish Moving or company) and
documented the following violations of critical regulations:

e Three violations of CFR Part 396.17(a) — Using a commercial motor vehicle not
periodically inspected. None of the company’s three commercial motor vehicles had
received a periodic inspection.

The Commission considered the following factors in determining the appropriate penalties for
these violations:

1. How serious or harmful the violation is to the public. The violations noted are serious
and potentially harmful to the public. Companies that use commercial motor vehicles not
periodically inspected put the traveling public at risk, as a potentially defective vehicle
presents serious safety concerns.

2. Whether the violation is intentional. Considerations include:
e  Whether the company ignored Commission staff’s (Staff) previous technical
assistance; and
e Whether there is clear evidence through documentation or other means that shows
the company knew of and failed to correct the violation.

In the company’s February 2016 application for household goods moving authority,
Emily Landis, owner and manager of Cherish Moving, acknowledged her company’s
responsibility to understand and comply with applicable motor carrier safety rules.
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In addition, on August 11, 2016, employees representing Cherish Moving attended
household goods training provided by Staff. The attendees, Emily Landis and Miki
Landis, acknowledged that training was received pertaining to motor carrier safety
regulations. The company knew, or should have known about these requirements.

3. Whether the company self-reported the violation. The company did not self-report
these violations.

4. Whether the company was cooperative and responsive. The company was very
cooperative throughout the entire scope of the investigation and expressed a desire to
comply with motor carrier safety regulations.

5. Whether the company promptly corrected the violations and remedied the impacts.
Cherish Moving has corrected the critical violations discovered in the compliance review.
The company’s three commercial motor vehicles received a periodic inspection prior to
the compliance review closing interview conducted on July 20, 2017.

6. The number of violations. For a company this size, the number of critical violations
noted is insignificant.

7. The number of customers affected. The company traveled 106,075 miles in 2015 and
did not update its vehicle miles traveled for 2016. Cherish Moving reported $280,162 in
gross revenue for 2016. A significant number of the traveling public were likely affected
by these safety violations.

8. The likelihood of recurrence. The Commission does not know if the company is likely
to repeat these violations, however the company has corrected the critical violations
outlined in the compliance review to prevent future occurrences.

9. The company’s past performance regarding compliance, violations, and penalties,
This is the company’s first compliance review. The company has no history of previous
violations or penalties.

10. The company’s existing compliance program. Cherish Moving has no formal
compliance program. '

1'1. The size of the company. Cherish Moving is a small company with two drivers and three
commercial motor vehicles, In 2016, the company reported $280,162 in gross revenue.
Cherish Moving traveled 106,075 miles in 2015 and did not update its vehicle miles
traveled for 2016. '

These are first-time violations, but the Commission’s Enforcement Policy provides that some
Commission requirements are so fundamental to safe operations that the Commission will issue
mandatory penalties for each occurrence of a first-time violation.! The Commission generally

' Docket A-120061 — Enforcement Policy of the Washington Utilities & Transportation Commission —
Section V.



PENALTY ASSESSMENT TV-170834 : PAGE 3

will assess penalties per type of violation, rather than per occurrence, for other first-time
violations of critical regulations that do not meet the criteria for mandatory penalties. The
Commission will assess penalties for any repeat violations of critical regulations found in future
compliance investigations, including for each occurrence of a repeat violation.

The Commission has considered these factors and determined that it should penalize Cherish
Moving $100 for violations of WAC 480-15-560 Equipment Safety Requirements, which adopts
Title 49 CFR Part 396, calculated as follows:

o Three violations of CFR Part 396.17(a) — Using a commercial motor vehicle not
periodically inspected. These are first-time violations, and thus the Commission assesses
penalties at the statutory amount of $100 per violation type, for a total of $100.

This information, if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support the
penalty assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe any or all of the violations did not occur,
you may deny committing the violation(s) and contest the penalty assessment through evidence
presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing only if
material issues of law or fact concerning the violation(s) require consideration of evidence and
resolution in a hearing. Any contest of the penalty assessment must include a written statement
of the reasons supporting that contest. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of
the contest.

If there is a reason for any or all of the violations that you believe should excuse you from the
penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of this penalty through evidence presented at a
hearing or in writing, The Commission will grant a request for hearing only if material issues of
law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request for
mitigation must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to
provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See RCW 81.04.405.

[f you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the
Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation(s) or application
for mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The
administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of his or her decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:
e Pay the amount due.
e Contest the occurrence of the violations.
* Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty,

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and
Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within
FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.
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If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may take additional enforcement action,
including but not necessalily limited to suspending or revoking your certificate to provide
regulated service, assessing additional penalties, or 1efemng thls matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective August 8, 2017.
/s/ Gregory J. Kopta

GREGORY J. KOPTA
Administrative Law Judge
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT TV-170834

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission

within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I'have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false

statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the

matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under

oath, the following statements. )

[ ] 1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violation occurred and enclose $
in payment of the penalty.

[ ] 2. Contest the violation. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur for the reasons I
describe below:

[ ] a) Task fora hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to
an administrative law judge for a decision
OR [ ] b) [ask fora Commission decision based solely on the information I provide
above.
[ 1 3. Application for mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty should
be reduced for the reasons set out below:

[ 1 a) Task for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to
an administrative law judge for a decision
OR [ ] b) laskfora Commission decision based solely on the information I provide
above.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.
Dated: [month/day/year], at [city, state]

Name of Respondent (company) — please print Signature of Applicant
RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official
proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath
required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a
defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”



