
   

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE 

FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES 

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: DG-170350 

PENALTY AMOUNT: $1,000 

Donald Martin 

J & B Enterprises 

PO Box 492 

Benton City, WA 99320  

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes you have 

violated Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 19.122.030(2) by failing to provide the required 

notice to a one-number locator service not less than two business days before excavating. RCW 

19.122.055(1)(a) states, in part, that any excavator who fails to notify a one-number locator service 

and causes damage to a underground gas utility is subject to a civil penalty of not more than ten 

thousand dollars for each violation. 

The Commission reviewed damage reports submitted by Cascade Natural Gas (CNG), and 

information provided by J & B Enterprises, and hereby notifies you that it is assessing a penalty 

against you in the amount of $1,000 on the following grounds:  

On July 19, 2016, J & B Enterprises was installing a sewer service line and 

excavating a trench for other utilities at 3075 S. Grant St. in Kennewick, WA. 

While excavating, J & B Enterprises damaged a Cascade Natural Gas (CNG) 2” 

main. The Damage Information Reporting Tool (DIRT) report submitted by CNG 

on July 27, 2016, indicated that a one-number locator service was not notified prior 

to excavation.  
 

Also on July 19, 2016, J & B Enterprises was installing a sewer service line at 3111 

S. Grant St. in Kennewick, WA. This was the adjacent lot to the previous damage 

incident on the same day at 3075 S. Grant St. While excavating, J & B Enterprises 

damaged CNG’s 2” main. The DIRT report submitted by CNG on July 27, 2016, 

indicated that a one-number locator service was not notified prior to excavation. 

Commission regulatory staff (Staff) determined that there was no record of a locate 

request being submitted for either damage incident. 

 

For a first time offense, Staff typically provides a technical assistance letter to 

excavator’s who allegedly cause damage to underground utilities without first 

requesting utility locates. This letter provides information about Washington State’s 

Dig Law and when utility locates are required. In this instance, due to the damage 

incidents occurring on the same day, Staff was unable to provide the company with 

this information. Therefore, Staff is offering to treat the first violation as a warning 

and only recommend a penalty for the second subsequent violation. 
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Accordingly, Staff recommends a penalty of $1,000 for one violation of RCW 

19.122.030(2) for failing to provide the required notice to a one-number locator 

service not less than two business days before excavating.  

Staff’s research indicates that J & B Enterprises has a significant history of requesting utility 

locates and that the violations were the result of company negligence, not lack of knowledge of the 

requirements of Washington State’s Dig Law. Even under these circumstances, Staff believes that 

enforcing the entire $1,000 penalty against J & B Enterprises will be financially burdensome and 

recommends that the Commission suspend the entire penalty on the condition that the company 

commit no further violations of RCW 19.122 for a period of 12-months and that all company 

personnel attend National Utility Contractor Association (NUCA) Dig Safe training.   

The Commission agrees with Staff’s recommendation and assesses a penalty of $1,000 with an 

offer to suspend the entire penalty on the conditions that (1) J & B Enterprise owners and all crews 

complete NUCA Dig Safe Training within 12-months of this Notice, and (2) J & B Enterprise has 

no further violations of RCW 19.122 within 12-months of this Notice. The Commission will waive 

the suspended penalty amount of $1,000 if J & B Enterprises complies with both conditions. If J & 

B Enterprises fails to comply with either of these conditions, the $1,000 deferred penalty will 

become immediately due and payable, in addition to any new penalties that the Commission might 

assess for additional violations.  

These facts, if not contested or if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, are 

sufficient to support the penalty assessment. 

 

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe any or all of the violations did not occur, you 

may deny committing the violation(s) and contest the penalty assessment through evidence 

presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing only if 

material issues of law or fact concerning the violation(s) require consideration of evidence and 

resolution in a hearing. Any contest of the penalty assessment must include a written statement of 

the reasons supporting that contest. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the 

contest.  

If you admit any or all of the violations but believe there is a reason for the violation(s) that should 

excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of this penalty through 

evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing 

only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. 

Any request for mitigation must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. 

Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. 

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the 

Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation(s) or application for 

mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The 

administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of his or her decision. 
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You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following: 

 Pay the $1,000 amount due; or 

 Notify the Commission that you accept the offer to suspend, and ultimately waive, the 

$1,000 penalty based on the conditions that all J & B Enterprises employees, including 

ownership and management, attend NUCA Dig Safe training within 12-months of this 

penalty assessment; submit documentation of that attendance to the Commission within 

five (5) days of attending the training; and commit no further violations of RCW 19.122 

within the next 12-months; or 

 Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of any or all of the violation(s); or 

 Request mitigation to reduce the amount of the penalty. 

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and 

Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within 

FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice. 

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the 

Attorney General for collection. The Commission may then sue you to collect the penalty.  

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective May 11, 2017. 

GREGORY J. KOPTA 

Director, Administrative Law Division



  

 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

PENALTY ASSESSMENT DG – 170350 

 

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission 

within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed. 
 

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false 

statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the 

matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under 

oath, the following statements. 

 

[   ]  1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred and enclose $1,000 in 

payment of the penalty 
 

[   ]  2. Accept conditions.  I admit that the violations occurred and I accept the 

Commission’s offer to suspend, and ultimately waive, $1,000 of the penalty on the 

conditions that all J & B Enterprises employees, including ownership and 

management, attend the NUCA Dig Safe training within 12-months of this penalty 

assessment; submit documentation of that attendance to the Commission within five 

(5) days of attending the training; and commit no further violations of RCW 19.122 

within the next 12-months. 
 

[   ]  3. Contest the violations. I believe that the alleged violations did not occur for the 

reasons I describe below: 

 

 

[   ]  a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to 

an administrative law judge for a decision. 

     OR [   ]  b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide 

above. 

 

[   ]  4. Request mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should be 

reduced for the reasons set out below:  

 

 

[   ]  a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to 

an administrative law judge for a decision. 

     OR [   ]  b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide 

above. 

 

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing, 

including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct. 

 

Dated: __________________ [Month/Day/Year], at ______________________ [City, State] 

 

 _____________________________________  ___________________________ 

Name of Respondent (company) – please print  Signature of Applicant 

RCW 9A.72.020: 

 



  

 

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official 

proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath 

required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an 

element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a 

defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”   

 

 


