WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: DG-160174
PENALTY AMOUNT: $2,000

Woodland Industries General Contracting Inc.
10715 66" Ave E.
Puyallup, WA 98373

The Washington Ultilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that you have
violated Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 19.122.030(1)(a) by failing to request a dig ticket
prior to performing an excavation. RCW 19.122.055(1)(a) states, in part, that any excavator who
fails to notify a one-number locator service and causes damage to a hazardous liquid or gas facility
is subject to a civil penalty of not more than ten thousand dollars for each violation.

Commission staff (Staff) conducted an investigation in which it reviewed damage reports
submitted by Puget Sound Energy (PSE) and identified two natural gas damage events involving
Woodland Industries General Contracting Inc. (Woodland), where buried utilities were not located
prior to excavation. Accordingly, the Commission hereby notifies you that it is assessing a penalty
against you in the amount of $2,000 on the following grounds:

(First Violation)

On May 9, 2014, an employee from Woodland was clearing stumps to find
sanitation when PSE’s 5/8” polyethylene service line was hit and severed at 8207
Orchard St. SW, Lakewood, Washington. Prior to beginning excavation, Woodland
failed to request a dig ticket from a one-number locator service to have the
underground utilities located.

On July 1, 2014, PSE submitted a Damage Incident Reporting Tool (DIRT) report
identifying Woodland as the party responsible for damaging the utility’s natural gas
service line at 8207 Orchard St. SW, Lakewood, Washington on May 9, 2014,
without first obtaining a ticket number to have utilities located prior to excavation.

On July 22, 2014, the Commission mailed an Alleged Violation of Washington Dig
Law letter to Woodland, informing the company of its obligation to have
underground utilities located prior to excavation, as outlined in RCW 19.122.030.
The letter emphasized the importance of becoming familiar with the law and the
possibility of penalties for each violation of the law.
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(Second Violation)

On September 21, 2015, a Woodland excavator operator hit an idle riser knocking
off the meter set assembly and shearing the threads at 2800 E “R” St., Tacoma,
Washington. Prior to beginning excavation, Woodland failed to request a dig ticket
from a one-number locator service to have the underground utilities located.

On November 9, 2015, PSE submitted a DIRT report identifying Woodland as the
party responsible for damaging PSE’s natural gas service equipment at 2800 E “R”
St., Tacoma, Washington on September 21, 2015, without first obtaining a ticket
number to have utilities located prior to excavation.

On November 23, 2015, the Commission mailed an Alleged Violation of
Washington Dig Law letter to Woodland, informing the company of its obligation
to have underground utilities located prior to excavation, as outlined in RCW
19.122.030. The letter emphasized the importance of becoming familiar with the
law, and the possibility of penalties for each violation of the law.

Based on the results of Staff’s investigation, the Commission finds that Woodland
Industries General Contracting Inc. violated RCW 19.122.030(1)(a) two times, by failing to
request a dig ticket prior to performing an excavation. Because these are the company’s
first violations, the Commission assesses a $1,000 penalty for each violation. These facts, if
not contested or if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, are sufficient to
support the penalty assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe one or both violations did not occur, you may
deny committing the violation and contest the penalty assessment through evidence presented at a
hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing only if material issues of
law or fact concerning a violation require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing.
Any contest of the penalty assessment must include a written statement of the reasons supporting
that contest. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the contest.

If you admit one or both violations but believe there is a reason for the admitted violation that
should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of this penalty through
evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing
only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing.
Any request for mitigation must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request.
Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the
Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for

mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The
administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of his or her decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

e Pay the amount due;
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e Contest the occurrence of the violation; or
e Request mitigation to reduce the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and
Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within
FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection. The Commission may then sue you to collect the penalty.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective April 18, 2015.

P

GREGORY'J. KOPTA
Director, Administrative Law Division
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PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the
matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under
oath, the following statements.

[ 1 1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violation occurred and enclose $2,000 in payment
of the penalty.

[ 12. Contest the violation. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur for the reasons I
describe below:

[ ] a) Iask fora hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to
an administrative law judge for a decision.
OR [ ] b) [IaskforaCommission decision based solely on the information I provide
above.

[ 1 3. Request mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty should be
reduced for the reasons set out below:

[ 1 a) Iask fora hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to
an administrative law judge for a decision.
OR [ ] b) Iask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide
above.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: [Month/Day/Year], at [City, State]

Name of Respondent (company) — please print Signature of Applicant



RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official
proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath
required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a
defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”



