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[bookmark: _GoBack]WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES


PENALTY ASSESSMENT: UW-150045
PENALTY AMOUNT: $2,200


Newaukum Water System, Inc.
P.O. Box 1287
Auburn, WA 98022

[bookmark: OLE_LINK1][bookmark: OLE_LINK2]The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that you have violated Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 80.28.080 by continuing to charge your customers a rate that is higher than the rate published in your tariff. 

RCW 80.04.405 authorizes the Commission to assess penalties of $100 for violations of statutes and Commission rules. Each violation is a separate and distinct offense, and a company violates RCW 80.28.080 for each customer the company charges a rate for regulated service that is not authorized in the applicable tariff. Accordingly, the Commission assesses penalties of $100 for each customer a company charges an unlawful rate for water service. 

The Commission has assessed penalties against you in the amount of $2,200 on the following basis:

On December 19, 2014, the Commission issued a $1,000 penalty assessment against Newaukum Water System, Inc. (Newaukum or Company) in Docket UW-144112 for violating RCW 80.28.080 by charging customers a rate for water service that was higher than the rate published in the Company’s tariff. Newaukum charged customers a monthly rate of $75 for November 2014 water service, but the Company’s tariff allows a monthly rate of $55. Newaukum was subject to a penalty of $2,200, calculated as $100 for each of the 22 violations of RCW 80.28.080. Because Newaukum is a small company that has only recently come under the Commission’s jurisdiction and this was a first offense, the Commission exercised its discretion to mitigate the penalty to $1,000. 

	On January 5, 2015, Newaukum filed a request for mitigation of the $1,000 penalty. The Commission has scheduled a brief adjudicative hearing for February 11, 2015, at 9:30 a.m. to consider the Company’s request.

	On January 5, 2015, the same day that Newaukum filed its mitigation request, Newaukum charged its customers $75 for December 2014 water service, rather than the monthly rate of $55 in the Company’s tariff. Newaukum’s action again results in 22 violations of RCW 80.28.080. The Commission finds these repeat violations to be intentional and will not reduce the full amount of the applicable statutory penalties.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violations did not occur, you may request a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. The Commission will grant that request only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. A request for a hearing must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. 

If you admit the violation but believe there is a reason for the violation that should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of this penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or through a written statement. The Commission will grant a request for hearing only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing.  A request for mitigation, either in a hearing or through a written statement, must include a written explanation of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such an explanation will result in denial of the request. 

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of his or her decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

· Pay the amount due;
· Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violation; or
· Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the Attorney General for collection.  The Commission may then sue you to collect the penalty. 

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective January 12, 2015.




							GREGORY J. KOPTA
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Director, Administrative Law Division
WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT UW-150045

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the following statements.

[   ]  1.	Payment of penalty. I admit that the violation occurred and enclose $1,000 in payment of the penalty.

[   ]  2.	Request for a hearing. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur for the reasons I describe below, and I request a hearing based on those reasons for a decision by an administrative law judge:





[   ]  3.	Application for mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty should be reduced for the reasons set out below:     





[   ]  a)	I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an administrative law judge for a decision
     OR	[   ]  b)	I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide above.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing, including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: __________________ [month/day/year], at ________________________ [city, state]

 _____________________________________		___________________________
Name of Respondent (company) – please print		Signature of Applicant
-----------------------------------

RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”  
