WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: DG-144100 PENALTY AMOUNT: \$4,000.00

Greg Huylar d/b/a Tri Valley Construction 1008 N 1st St Yakima, WA 98901

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that you have violated Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 19.122.030(1)(a) by failing to request a dig ticket prior to performing excavations. RCW 19.122.055(1)(a) states, in part, that any excavator who fails to notify a one-number locator service and causes damage to a hazardous liquid or gas facility is subject to a civil penalty of not more than ten thousand dollars for each violation.

Commission staff (Staff) conducted an investigation in which Staff reviewed damage reports submitted by Cascade Natural Gas Corporation (CNG). The investigation identified three natural gas damage events involving Greg Huylar, d/b/a Tri Valley Construction (Tri Valley Construction), in which buried utilities were not located prior to excavation. Accordingly, the Commission hereby notifies you that it is assessing a penalty against you in the amount of \$4,000.00 on the following grounds:

(First Violation)

On September 18, 2013, Tri Valley Construction performed an excavation for electric work at 660 Frontier, Prosser, Washington. Prior to beginning excavation, Tri Valley Construction failed to request a utility locate from a one-number locator service to have the underground utilities located.

On December 11, 2013, CNG submitted a Damage Incident Reporting Tool (DIRT) report identifying Tri Valley Construction as the party responsible for damaging CNG's natural gas service line at 660 Frontier, Prosser, Washington, on September 18, 2013, without first obtaining a ticket number to have utilities located prior to excavation.

On January 27, 2014, the Commission mailed an Alleged Violation of Washington Dig Law letter to Tri Valley Construction, informing the company of its obligation to have underground utilities located prior to excavation, as outlined in RCW 19.122.030. The letter emphasized the importance of becoming familiar with the law, and the possibility of penalties for each violation of the law.

(Second Violation)

On February 3, 2014, Tri Valley Construction performed an excavation for electric work at 1100 S. Wasco Avenue, Wapato, Washington. Prior to beginning excavation, Tri Valley Construction failed to request a dig ticket from a one-number locator service to have the underground utilities located.

On February 4, 2014, CNG submitted a DIRT report identifying Tri Valley Construction as the party responsible for damaging CNG's natural gas service line at 1100 S. Wasco Avenue, Wapato, Washington, on February 3, 2014, without first obtaining a ticket number to have underground utilities located prior to excavation.

On April 21, 2014, the Commission mailed an Alleged Violation of Washington Dig Law letter to Tri Valley Construction, informing the company of its obligation to have underground utilities located prior to excavation, as outlined in RCW 19.122.030. The letter emphasized the importance of becoming familiar with the law, and the possibility of penalties for each violation of the law.

(Third Violation)

On July 2, 2014, Tri Valley Construction performed an excavation on a building demolition project at 1103 S. Wasco Avenue, Wapato, Washington. Prior to beginning excavation, Tri Valley Construction failed to request a utility locate from a one-number locator service to have the underground utilities located.

On July 7, 2014, CNG submitted a DIRT report identifying Tri Valley Construction as the party responsible for damaging CNG's natural gas service at 1103 S. Wasco Avenue, Wapato, Washington, on July 2, 2014, without first obtaining a ticket number to have utilities located prior to excavation.

On October 3, 2014, the Commission mailed an Alleged Violation of Washington Dig Law letter to Tri Valley Construction, informing the company of its obligation to have underground utilities located prior to excavation, as outlined in RCW 19.122.030. The letter emphasized the importance of becoming familiar with the law, and the possibility of penalties for each violation of the law.

Based on the results of Staff's investigation, the Commission finds that Greg Huylar, d/b/a Tri Valley Construction violated RCW 19.122.030(1)(a) three times by failing to request a dig tickets prior to performing an excavation. The Commission assesses a \$1,000 penalty for each of the first two violations and a \$2,000 penalty for the third violation for a total penalty of \$4,000. The facts set forth above, if not contested or if

proved at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, are sufficient to support the penalty assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violations did not occur, you may request a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. The Commission will grant that request only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. A request for a hearing must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request.

If you admit the violation but believe there is a reason for the violation that should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of this penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or through a written statement. The Commission will grant a request for hearing only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. A request for mitigation, either in a hearing or through a written statement, must include a written explanation of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such an explanation will result in denial of the request.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of his or her decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

- Pay the amount due;
- Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violation; or
- Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, **within FIFTEEN (15) days** after you receive this notice.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the Attorney General for collection. The Commission may then sue you to collect the penalty.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective April 13, 2015.

GREGORY J. KOPTA Director, Administrative Law Division

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION PENALTY ASSESSMENT DG-144100

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the following statements.

- [] 1. **Payment of penalty.** I admit that the violation occurred and enclose \$4,000.00 in payment of the penalty.
- [] 2. **Request for a hearing.** I believe that the alleged violation did not occur for the reasons I describe below, and I request a hearing based on those reasons for a decision by an administrative law judge:
- [] 3. Application for mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty should be reduced for the reasons set out below:
 - [] a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an administrative law judge for a decision
 - OR [] b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide above

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing, including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: _____ [Month/Day/Year], at _____ [City, State]

 Name of Respondent (company) – please print
 Signature of Applicant

RCW 9A.72.020:

"Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the actor's mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony."