WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TV-143199
PENALTY AMOUNT: $1,900

GUS & JACK MOVING COMPANY, LLC
1216 182"P STREET SW
LYNNWOOD, WA 98037

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that you
have committed one or more violations of Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-15-
560 — Equipment safety requirements, which requires household goods carriers to comply
with parts of Title 49, Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), Part 396 - Inspection, repair and
maintenance, and WAC 480-15-570 — Driver safety requirements, which requires household
goods carriers to comply with CFR Part 391 — Qualification of drivers.

On August 4, 2014, Motor Carrier Safety Inspector Alan Dickson conducted a compliance
review inspection of Gus & Jack Moving Company, LLC (Gus & Jack Moving). Mr.
Dickson found 38 total violations — 35 of these included violations of the following critical
regulations: :

e 17 violations of CFR Part 391.45(a) — Using a driver not medically examined
and certified. Driver Ghassan Mansour drove 17 days in July without a valid
medical certificate.

e 16 violations of CFR Part 396.11(a) — Failing to require a driver to prepare a
vehicle inspection report. The company failed to have its drivers prepare vehicle
inspection reports on 16 separate days.

e Two violations of CFR Part 396.17(a) — Using a commercial motor vehicle not
periodically inspected. Neither of Gus & Jack’s Moving’s two vehicles has
received a periodic inspection in the past 12 months.

Although authorized to assess $3,500 in penalties for these violations, the Commission finds
that a lesser penalty would be more appropriate based on consideration of the following
factors:
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I.

How serious or harmful the violation is to the public. The violations noted are
serious and potentially harmful to the public. Drivers who are not medically certified
put the traveling public at risk. If there is an undocumented medical condition or the
driver logs too many hours, this could present serious safety concerns. In addition,
vehicles that are not periodically inspected could potentially harm the public in the
event of a malfunction or mechanical problem during transit.

Whether the violation is intentional. Considerations include:

o  Whether the Company ignored staff’s previous technical assistance; and
e Whether there is clear evidence through documentation or other means that
show the company knew of and failed to correct the violation.

On May 1, 2012, Motor Carrier Safety Inspector Bruce Grimm met with Gus
Mansour, managing partner of Gus & Jack Moving, at the company’s office in
Lynnwood. Mr. Grimm provided technical assistance on the regulated aspects of the
company’s business. In August 2013, Gus Mansour and Ryan Mansour attended the
Commission’s household goods industry training.

Commission staff does not believe that the company ignored previous technical
assistance. Staff believes the violations are based on lack of oversight by the company
owner and do not appear to be intentional.

Whether the company self-reported the violation. Gus & Jack Moving did not
self-report these violations.

Whether the company was cooperative and responsive. Gus & Jack Moving has
been cooperative with Commission staff. However, after the violations were noted,

the company was asked to provide staff with a compliance plan for addressing each
violation to ensure future compliance within 15 days. As of September 9, 2014, the

company has not provided such a plan.

Whether the company promptly corrected the violations and remedied the
impacts. Gus & Jack Moving assured staff that it would correct the violations noted
in the August 2014 compliance review; however, the company has not provided a
compliance plan within 15 days as directed by staff.

The number of violations. The number of critical violations noted in the compliance
review is significant because the company received a conditional safety rating. This
means the company has 45 days to correct its safety management contiols to ensure
its safety rating improves.

The number of customers affected. Customers were not affected by these
violations.
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8. The likelihood of recurrence. Commission staff will conduct a follow-up inspection
in early 2015. Staff expects the company will improve its safety management controls
and avoid recurrence of these critical violations.

9. The company’s past performance regarding compliance, violations, and
penalties. This Gus & Jack Moving’s first compliance review, so the company has
no previous history of violations or penalties.

10. The company’s existing compliance program. Because the company has not
submitted a compliance plan as directed, Commission staff is unaware of the
company’s existing compliance program.

11. The size of the company. Gus & Jack Moving reported approximately $15,359 in
gross intrastate operating revenue for 2013.

The critical violations noted in staff’s August 2014 compliance review were first-time
violations by Gus & Jack Moving. The Commission’s Enforcement Policy outlines that some
Commission requirements are so fundamental to safe operations that the Commission may
issue penalties for a first-time violation, even if staff has not previously provided technical
assistance on specific issues.!

The Commission has weighed these factors and determined that Gus & Jack Moving should
be penalized $1,900 as follows:

e $200 for two violations of WAC 480-15-560, which adopts CFR Part 396, as
follows:
o One violation of CFR Part 396.11(a) — Failing to require a driver to prepare
a vehicle inspection report. The company failed to have its drivers prepare
vehicle inspection reports on 16 separate days. This is a critical regulation but
these are first-time violations, so we assess a penalty of $100 for one violation
of this type. Future violations of this regulation will result in penalties assessed
for each violation.

o One violation of CFR Part 396.17(a) — Using a commercial motor vehicle
not periodically inspected. Neither of Gus & Jack’s Moving’s two vehicles
has received a periodic inspection in the past 12 months. This is a critical
regulation but these are first-time violations, so we assess a penalty of $100 for

! Docket A-120061 — Enforcement Policy of the Washington Utilities & Transportation Commission —
Section V.
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one violation of this type. Future violations of this regulation will result in
penalties assessed for each violation.

e $1,700 for 17 violations of WAC 480-15-570, which adopts CFR Part 391, as
follows:

o 17 violations of CFR Part 391.45(a) — Using a driver not medically examined
and certified. Driver Ghassan Mansour drove 17 days in July without a valid
medical certificate. These are first-time violations, but the Commission grants
no leeway with this type of violation. Drivers who are not medically certified
put the traveling public at risk.

This information, if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support
the penalty assessment. -

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violations did not occur, you may
request a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. The Commission will grant that request
only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a
hearing. A request for a hearing must include a written statement of the reasons supporting
that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. If there is
a reason for the violations that you think should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask
for mitigation (reduction) of this penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in
writing. A request for mitigation must include a written statement of the reasons supporting
that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See
RCW 81.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request,
the Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or
application for mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law
judge. The administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of his or
her decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following;

e Pay the amount due.
e Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations.
® Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities
and Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250,
within FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.
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If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection. The Commission may then sue you to collect the penalty.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective September 10, 2014,

U

GREGORY J. KOPTA
Administrative Law Judge
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT TV-143199

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the
Commission within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if
needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to
the matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make,
under oath, the following statements.

| ] 1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violation occurred and enclose
$ in payment of the penalty.

[ ] 2. Request for a hearing. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur for the
reasons I describe below, and I request a hearing based on those reasons for a
decision by an administrative law judge:

[ 1 3. Application for mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty
should be reduced for the reasons set out below:

[ ] a) [ask fora hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above
to an administrative law judge for a decision
OR [ ] b) Iask fora Commission decision based solely on the information I provide
above.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the
foregoing, including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: [month/day/year], at [city, state]

Name of Respondent (company) — please print Signature of Applicant
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RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any
official proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under
an oath required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is
not an element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not
material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a
class B felony.”




