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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE

FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TC-121565
PENALTY AMOUNT: $2,000

BML INVESTMENTS LLC

DBA WENATCHEE VALLEY SHUTTLE

1724 10TH PLACE NE

EAST WENATCHEE, WA  98802
The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that you have committed one or more violations of Commission Order 01 in Docket TC-121120 – Order Suspending Certificate C-64605. The Commission also believes that you have committed one or more violations of Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-30-221, Vehicle and driver safety requirements, which requires passenger transportation companies to comply with Title 49, Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), including Part 391, which governs qualification of drivers.  Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 8l.04.405 allows penalties of one hundred dollars for every such violation.  
As a result, the Commission hereby notifies you that it has assessed penalties against you in the amount of $2,000, as follows:

On July 2, 2012, in Docket TC-121120, the Commission ordered BML Investment LLC’s (BML Investments) auto transportation certificate (C-64605) suspended for a period of 30 days effective June 25, 2012, for the company’s failure to file proof of the required liability and property damage insurance.  The Commission received proof of the required insurance on July 17, 2012, and lifted the suspension.

Between September 13 and 21, 2012, Commission Motor Carrier inspector Rick Smith conducted a compliance review of BML Investments. Mr. Smith determined that BML Investments operated on 13 occasions during the Commission-ordered suspension period. The following BML Investments employees transported passengers on these dates:

· Mike Price:
June 28, July 1, July 3, July 8, July 14, July 15

· Michael Webley:  June 27, July 2, July 12

· Stacia Zintz:  June 30, July 4, July 7, July 14

Mr. Smith also identified the following violations of WAC 480-30-221, Vehicle and driver safety requirements:

· Seven violations of WAC 480-30-221, which adopts by reference Title 49, CFR Part 391.45(a)), using a driver not medically examined and certified. (Seven of the company’s employees drove without medical certificates.)

This information, if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support the penalty assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violations did not occur, you may request a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. If there is a reason for the violations that you think should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of this penalty. See RCW 81.04.405.

You have the right to present your request for review or mitigation at a hearing, but you are not required to do so. If you do, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your request in an informal hearing, called a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding, before an administrative law judge. The administrative law judge will consider your plea and notify you of his or her decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

· Pay the amount due.

· Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations.

· Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the Attorney General for collection.  The Commission may then sue you to collect the penalty. 

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective October 4, 2012.








GREGORY J. KOPTA

Director, Administrative Law Division
WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT TC-121565
PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the following statements.

[   ]  1.
Payment of penalty. I admit that the violation occurred and enclose $_____________ in payment of the penalty.

[   ]  2.
Request for a hearing. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur, based on the following information, and request a hearing, which is a process that allows an affected person to present argument to an administrative law judge for a decision by an administrative law judge:

[   ]  3.
Application for mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty should be reduced for the reason(s) set out below,     

[   ]  a)
I ask for a hearing for a decision by an administrative law judge based on 


the information presented above.

     OR
[   ]  b)
I waive a hearing and ask for an administrative decision on the information  I present directly above.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing, including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: __________________ [month/day/year], at ________________________ [city, state]

 _____________________________________

___________________________

Name of Respondent (company) – please print

Signature of Applicant

-----------------------------------

RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.” 
