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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TE-121262
PENALTY AMOUNT: $100
MONROE TRANSPORTATION LTD
DBA CHINOOK CHARTER SERVICE
PO BOX 13193
SNOHOMISH, WA 98082
The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that you have committed one or more violations of Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-30-221, Vehicle and driver safety requirements, which requires passenger charter carriers to comply with Title 49, Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), including Part 396, which governs inspection, repair and maintenance of vehicles.  
On June 14, 2012 at a destination check of vehicles at Wild Waves, Commission staff placed Monroe Transportation Ltd. d/b/a Chinook Charter Service’s (Monroe Transportation) Vehicle 114 out of service for defective tires and an oil leak. The oil leak was excessive and the tag axle tires were worn to the point of having only one measurable tread groove. The vehicle was repaired on-site after the out-of-service condition was identified.
When Motor Carrier staff John Foster conducted the follow-up compliance review on 
July 25, 2012, he identified the following violation:

· One violation of CFR Part 396.3(b)(3) – Failing to keep a record of inspection, repairs and maintenance indicating their date and nature. (Monroe Transportation’s maintenance schedule, which indicates each vehicle will be inspected and serviced every 10,000 to 20,000 miles, showed no record of preventative maintenance on Vehicle 114 after 50,330 miles.) 
This information, if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support the penalty assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violations did not occur, you may request a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. If there is a reason for the violations that you think should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of this penalty. See RCW 81.04.405.
You have the right to present your request for review or mitigation at a hearing, but you are not required to do so. If you do, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your request in an informal hearing, called a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding, before an administrative law judge. The administrative law judge will consider your plea and notify you of his or her decision.
You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

· Pay the amount due.

· Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations.

· Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the Attorney General for collection.  The Commission may then sue you to collect the penalty. 

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective August 6, 2012.







GREGORY J. KOPTA

Director, Administrative Law Division

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT TE-121262
PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the following statements.

[   ]  1.
Payment of penalty. I admit that the violation occurred and enclose $_____________ in payment of the penalty.

[   ]  2.
Request for a hearing. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur, based on the following information, and request a hearing, which is a process that allows an affected person to present argument to an administrative law judge for a decision by an administrative law judge:

[   ]  3.
Application for mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty should be reduced for the reason(s) set out below,     

[   ]  a)
I ask for a hearing for a decision by an administrative law judge based on 


the information presented above.
     OR
[   ]  b)
I waive a hearing and ask for an administrative decision on the information  I present directly above.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing, including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: __________________ [month/day/year], at ________________________ [city, state]

 _____________________________________

___________________________

Name of Respondent (company) – please print

Signature of Applicant

-----------------------------------

RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”  
