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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TE-120312
PENALTY AMOUNT: $100
PATRICIA BELL
J & P BELL INDUSTRIES, LLC D/B/A

SILVER EAGLE CHARTERS
PO BOX 6498

SPOKANE, WA 99217

According to the Commission’s records, you have committed violations of two Commission rules: (1) Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-30-071, which requires Charter and Excursion companies to file annual safety reports with the Commission by December 30 each year; and (2) WAC 480-30-076, which requires such companies to pay regulatory fees annually on that date. You are classified as a Charter and Excursion company. Commission records show that you did not file an annual safety report or pay annual regulatory fees by December 30, 2011. 
Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.405 authorizes the Commission to assses penalties of $100 for violations of Commission rules. Each and every such violation shall be a separate and distinct offense and, in the case of a continuing violation, every day’s continuance shall be and be deemed to be a separate and distinct violation.  The Commission interprets noncompliance with WAC 480-30-071 and WAC 480-30-076 as continuing violations, giving rise to potential penalties of $100 for each day a company fails to make each requisite filing after the date on which it was due.
The Commission hereby notifies you that it has assessed penalties against you in the amount $100 on the following basis:
On November 16, 2011, the Commission mailed 2011 Annual Safety Report forms and 2012 Regulatory Fee packets to Charter and Excursion companies registered in Washington State. A letter from the commission’s Assistant Director for Transportation Safety, David Pratt, instructed these companies to file annual reports and pay regulatory fees by December 30, 2011. The letter stated failure to file the annual report by December 30 would result in a penalty and possible cancellation of the company’s permit to operate in Washington. Those companies wishing to request an extension to file the annual report were asked to do so prior to December 30, providing a reason for the requested extension. You did not request an extension.

As of March 7, 2012, J & P Bell Industries, LLC D/B/A Silver Eagle Charters failed to 
file the 2011 Annual Safety Report and pay the 2012 Regulatory Fee.  That date is 45 
business days from December 30, 2011, resulting in a potential total penalty assessment of $4,500 for each required filing or $9,000.  The Commission, however, exercises its discretion to impose a penalty of $100.
Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may request a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. If there is a reason for the violation that you think should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of this penalty. See RCW 81.04.405.
You have the right to present your request for review or mitigation at a hearing, but you are not required to do so. If you do, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your request in an informal hearing, called a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding, before an administrative law judge. The administrative law judge will consider your plea and notify you of his or her decision.
You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

· Pay the amount due.

· Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations.

· Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the Attorney General for collection. The Commission will then sue you to collect the penalty. 

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective March 8, 2012.







__________________________







GREGORY J. KOPTA
Administrative Law Judge

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

PENALTY ASSESSMENT TE-120312
PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.
I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the following statements.

[   ]  1.
Payment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred and enclose $100 in payment of the penalty.

[   ]  2.
Request for a hearing. I believe that one or more of the alleged violations did not occur, based on the following information, and request a hearing, which is a process that allows an affected person to present argument to an administrative law judge for a decision by an administrative law judge:
[   ]  3.
Application for mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should be reduced for the reason(s) set out below.    

[   ]  a)
I ask for a hearing for a decision by an administrative law judge

     OR
[   ]  b)
I waive a hearing and ask for an administrative decision on the information   I present here:
I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing, including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: __________________ [month/day/year], at ________________________ [city, state]

 _____________________________________

___________________________
Name of Respondent (company) – please print

Signature of Applicant

-----------------------------------

RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.” 
