WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TE-110751
’ PENALTY AMOUNT: $100

Dan D. Wilder
Dan D. Wilder D/B/A Triangle RGI Charter Service
12557 Christianson Rd

Anacortes, WA 98221

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that you
have committed a violation of Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-30-071, which
requires charter and excursion carriers to file annual reports with the Commission by
December 31 each year. You are classified as such a company. Commission records show
that you did not make the filing by the required date of December 31, 2010. Revised Code of
Washington (RCW) 81.04.405 allows penalties of $100 for every such violation. Each and
every such violation shall be a separate and distinct offense and, in the case of a continuing

- violation, every day’s continuance shall be deemed to be a separate and distinct violation.

As a result, the Commission hereby notifies you that it has assessed penalues against you in
the amount $100, as follows:

On November 3, 2010, the Commission mailed 2010 Annual Report forms and
2011 Regulatory Fee packets to charter and excursion carriers registered in
Washington State. A letter from Executive Secretary David W. Danner
instructed companies to file annual reports and pay regulatory fees by
December 30, 2010. Further, the letter stated failure to file the annual report by
December 30 would result in a penalty and possible cancellation of the
company’s permit to operate in Washington. Those companies wishing to -
request an extension to file the annual report were asked to do so prior to
December 30, providing a reason for the requested extension. You did not
request an extension.

On January 14, 2011, the Commission sent letters to those companies that had
not yet filed their reports. The letter, signed by Mr. Danner, gave an extension
to companies to file their reports by January 31, 2011.
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In the letter, Mr. Danner stated the Commission would not seek a fine or move
to cancel the authority of any company with a report received by the
Commission postmarked no later than January 31, 2011.

As of April 28, 2011, Dan D. Wilder D/B/A Triangle RGI Charter Service failed to
file the 2010 Annual Report.

This information, if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or.explained, is sufficient to support
the penalty assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may

request a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. If there is a reason for the violation that
you think should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of this
penalty. See RCW 81.04.405.

" You have the right to present your request for review or mitigation at a hearing, but you are
not required to do so. If you do, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your
request in an informal hearing, called a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding, before an
administrative law judge. The administrative law judge will con31der your plea and notify
you of his or her decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

o Pay the amount due.
e Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations.
¢ Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities
and Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250,
within FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notlce

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection. The Commission may then sue you to collect the penalty.

‘DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective May 13, 2011.

UGS

r=
GREGORY J. KOPTA
Administrative Law Judge
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PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the
Commission within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if
needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to
the matters set forth below and I have personai knowledge of those matters. I hereby make,
under oath, the following statements.

[ 1 1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violation occurred and enclose $100 in
payment of the penalty.

[ 12. Request for a hearing. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur, based on
the following information, and request a hearing for a decision by an administrative
law judge:

[ ] 3. Application for mitigation. I admit the violation, but I beheve that the penalty
should be reduced for the reason(s) set out below.

[ ] a) Iask fora hearing for a decision by an adminisirative law judge
OR [ ] b) Iwaive ahearing and ask for an administrative decision on the information
I present directly above.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the
foregoing, including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: [month/day/year], at [city, state]
Name of Respondent (company) — please print Signature of Applicant
RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any
official proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under

~ an oath required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is
not an element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not

" material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree isa
class B felony.” :




