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BEFORE THE WASHINGTON STATE
UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

	In the Matter of

Fees to be Paid by Solid Waste Collection Companies under the Provisions of RCW 81.77.080 
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ORDER 01

ORDER INCREASING REGULATORY FEES TO .4275 PERCENT FOR SOLID WASTE COLLECTION COMPANIES



BACKGROUND

1 RCW 81.77.080 requires that every solid waste collection company operating in this state under the jurisdiction of the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) shall file a statement on oath showing its gross operating revenue from intrastate operations for the preceding calendar year, or portion of the year, and pay to the Commission a fee equal to one percent of the amount of gross operating revenue.

2 During the 2010 legislative session, the Legislature authorized the Commission to increase regulatory fees paid by solid waste companies:  “Pursuant to RCW 43.135.055, the commission is authorized to increase solid waste regulatory fees to the extent necessary to raise $100,000 in fiscal year 2011 for enforcement activities under RCW 81.77.080.”  Laws of 2010, chapter 37, Section 147.

3 RCW 81.77.080 allows the Commission to set, by rule, minimum fees and provisions for waiver of a minimum fee.  WAC 480-70-076 sets the minimum regulatory fee at twenty-dollars ($20.00); such fee is waived for any solid waste collection company with less than two thousand dollars ($2,000) of total gross intrastate operating revenue.   

FINDINGS AND CONCLUSIONS

4 [bookmark: _GoBack]The 2011 regulatory fee for solid waste collection companies is now before the Commission for consideration.  The Commission, being advised, has considered all monies on hand, the 2010 additional legislative appropriation and authorization, and the fees currently to be paid and has determined the fee should be set at .4275 percent.  The minimum regulatory fee is twenty-dollars ($20.00).  A fee of less than twenty-dollars ($20.00) is waived for any solid waste collection company with less than two thousand dollars ($2,000) of total gross intrastate operating revenue.  WAC 480-70-076.
O R D E R

THE COMMISSION ORDERS:

5 The fee to be paid to the Commission under the provisions of RCW 81.77.080 is set at .4275 percent based on 2010 calendar year gross operating revenue from intrastate (Washington) operations of solid waste companies.  The minimum regulatory fee is twenty-dollars ($20.00).  The fee for any solid waste collection company with less than two thousand dollars ($2,000) of total gross intrastate operating revenue is waived.

6 The Commissioners, having determined the fee for 2011, directed the Secretary to enter this Order.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective February 25, 2011.

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION



DAVID W. DANNER, Executive Director and Secretary

