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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TC-100147
PENALTY AMOUNT: $600
BREMERTON-KITSAP AIRPORTER, INC.
5748 BETHEL ROAD SE
POST OFFICE BOX 1255
PORT ORCHARD, WA  98366
The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that you have committed one or more violations of Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-30-216, Operation of motor vehicles. Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 8l.04.405 allows penalties of up to one hundred dollars for every such violation.  
As a result, the Commission hereby notifies you that it has assessed penalties against you in the amount of $600, as follows:
On January 21, 2010, Motor Carrier Safety staff John Foster and Tom McVaugh visited Bremerton-Kitsap Airporter, Inc. (Bremerton-Kitsap) to investigate a safety complaint. A passenger traveling with Bremerton-Kitsap on December 29, 2009, complained of the bus being loaded beyond capacity with passengers standing in the aisles. 

Bremerton-Kitsap’s general manager, Adrian Oliva, confirmed that there were 30 passengers on the bus during the trip on December 29, 2009. The seating capacity on the bus is 25 people (24 passengers plus the driver). Upon inspection, Mr. Foster and Mr. McVaugh found that the bus had no devices designed to provide stability and safety for standing passengers. 

WAC 480-30-216(5) states, 

“Standing passengers. No passengers will be permitted to stand unless the vehicle is equipped with devices designed and permanently installed to provide stability and safety for standing passengers. Even if the vehicle is properly equipped, no passenger will be permitted to stand for a distance exceeding thirty-five miles.” 

This information, if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support the penalty assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violations did not occur, you may request a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. If there is a reason for the violations that you think should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of this penalty. See RCW 81.04.405.
You have the right to present your request for review or mitigation at a hearing, but you are not required to do so. If you do, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your request in 
an informal hearing, called a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding, before an administrative law judge. The administrative law judge will consider your plea and notify you of his or her decision.
You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

· Pay the amount due.

· Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations.

· Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the Attorney General for collection.  The Commission may then sue you to collect the penalty. 

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective February 3, 2010.







ANN E. RENDAHL
Administrative Law Judge

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

PENALTY ASSESSMENT TC-100147
PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.
I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the following statements.

[   ]  1.
Payment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred and enclose $600 in payment of the penalty.

[   ]  2.
Request for a hearing. I believe that the alleged violations did not occur, based on the following information, and request a hearing for a decision by an administrative law judge:

[   ]  3.
Application for mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty should be reduced for the reason(s) set out below.    

[   ]
a) I ask for a hearing for a decision by an administrative law judge

OR
[   ]
b) I waive a hearing and ask for an administrative decision on the information 



     I present here:

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing, including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: __________________ [month/day/year], at ________________________ [city, state]

 _____________________________________

___________________________
Name of Respondent (company) – please print

Signature of Applicant

-----------------------------------

RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”
