

[Service Date May 4, 2007]


WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE FOR VIOLATIONS

OF LAWS RULES AND REGULATIONS

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: UT-070607



PENALTY AMOUNT: $7,600
TELECOMMUNICATIONS COMPANY:

WTI, LLC
22722 29th Drive Southeast, #120
Bothell, Washington  98021
The commission believes that you have committed violations of Washington Utilities and Transportation rules; specifically Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-120-166, which requires telecommunications companies to report the results of its investigation of service-affecting informal complaints to commission staff within two business days from the date commission staff passes the complaint to the company; of nonservice-affecting informal complaints to commission staff within five business days from the date the commission staff passes the complaint to the company; and for requests from commission staff for additional information on pending complaints within three business days.

A review of commission records indicates that staff provided WTI, LLC technical assistance of WAC 480-120-166 on numerous occasions between December 2006 and April 2007. Despite that technical assistance, you failed to respond in accordance with the rules in five complaints, for a total of 76 violations. Note that each day the company fails to respond is a separate and distinct violation.
In accordance with Revised Code of Washington 80.04.405, the commission hereby notifies you that it has assessed penalties against you in the amount of $7,600. 
The basis for the penalty assessment is as follows:

· In complaint 99044, 40 violations of WAC 480-120-166(7).
· In complaint 99663, seven violations of WAC 480-120-166(6).

· In complaint 99365, two violations of WAC 480-120-166(7) and seven violations of WAC 480-120-166(8).
· In complaint 99815, 17 violations of WAC 480-120-166(7).
· In complaint 100095, three violations of WAC 480-120-166(8).
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This information, if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support the penalty assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violations did not occur, you may request a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. If there is a reason for the violations that you think should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of this penalty. See RCW 81.04.405.

You have the right to present your request for review or mitigation at a hearing, but you are not required to do so. If you do, the commission will review the evidence supporting your request in an informal hearing, called a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding, before an administrative law judge. The administrative law judge will consider your plea and notify you of his or her decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

· Pay the amount due.

· Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations.

· Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.

If you do not act within 15 days, the commission may refer this matter to the Office of the Attorney General for collection. The commission may then sue you to collect the penalty. 

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective May 4, 2007.







__________________________







ANN E. RENDAHL

Administrative Law Judge

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

PENALTY ASSESSMENT, Docket TV-070607
PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the following statements.

[   ]  1.
Payment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred and enclose $7,600 in payment of the penalty.

[   ]  2.
Request for a hearing. I believe that the alleged violations did not occur, based on the following information, and request a hearing for a decision by an administrative law judge:

[   ]  3.
Application for mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should be reduced for the reason(s) set out below.    

[   ]
a)  I ask for a hearing for a decision by an administrative law judge

     OR
[   ]
b)  I waive a hearing and ask for an administrative decision on the information I present here.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing, including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: __________________ [month/day/year], at ________________________ [city, state]

 _____________________________________

___________________________

Name of Respondent (company) – please print

Signature of Applicant

-----------------------------------

RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”






