WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT NO: TE-061753
PENALTY AMOUNT: $1,400
CHARTER PASSENGER CARRIER:

Genie Service Company, Inc. d/b/a Genie Tours
1846 Terminal Drive, Suite 101
Richland, Washington  99352
The commission believes that you have committed one or more violations of Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-30-999, which adopts by reference Title 49, Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) Parts 391, 395 and 396. Revised Code of Washington 8l.04.405 allows penalties of one hundred dollars for every such violation.  

As a result, the commission hereby notifies you that it has assessed penalties against you in the amount $1,400, as follows:
On September 25 and 26, 2006, Investigator John Foster conducted a terminal safety inspection of records and performed a Level 5 inspection on five buses owned and operated by Genie Service Company, Inc. Investigator Foster identified the following violations:
· Two violations of CFR 49, part 391.51(b)(2), failing to maintain inquiries into driver’s driving record in driver’s qualification file (critical violation).

· Seven violations of CFR 49, Part 395.8(a), failing to require a driver to make a record of duty status (critical violations).

· Two violations of CFR 49, Part 395.5(a)(1), requiring or permitting a passenger-carrying commercial motor vehicle driver to drive more than 10 hours.

· One violation of CFR 49, Part 395.5(b)(2), requiring or permitting a passenger-carrying commercial motor vehicle driver to drive after being on duty more than 70 hours in eight consecutive days.
· One violation of CFR 49, Part 396.3(a)(1), failing to inspect and maintain vehicle to ensure safe and proper operating condition.

· One violation of WAC 480-30-041, failing to notify the commission of a change in address and telephone number within 30 days.

This information, if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support the penalty assessment.
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Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violations did not occur, you may request a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. If there is a reason for the violations that you think should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of this penalty. See RCW 81.04.405.
You have the right to present your request for review or mitigation at a hearing, but you are not required to do so. If you do, the commission will review the evidence supporting your request in an informal hearing, called a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding, before an administrative law judge. The administrative law judge will consider your plea and notify you of his or her decision.
You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

· Pay the amount due.

· Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations.

· Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.

If you do not act within 15 days, the commission may refer this matter to the Office of the Attorney General for collection. The commission may then sue you to collect the penalty. 

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective December 1, 2006.







__________________________







C. ROBERT WALLIS
Administrative Law Judge

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

PENALTY ASSESSMENT, Docket TE-061753
PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.
I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the following statements.

[   ]  1.
Payment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred and enclose $1,400 in payment of the penalty.

[   ]  2.
Request for a hearing. I believe that the alleged violations did not occur, based on the following information, and request a hearing for a decision by an administrative law judge:

[   ]  3.
Application for mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should be reduced for the reason(s) set out below.
[   ]
a)  I ask for a hearing for a decision by an administrative law judge.
     OR
[   ]
b)  I waive a hearing and ask for an administrative decision on the information          I present here.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing, including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: __________________ [month/day/year], at _________________________ [city, state]

 _____________________________________

___________________________
Name of Respondent (company) – please print

Signature of Applicant

-----------------------------------

RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”
