MEMORANDUM

August 30, 2006

TO: Bob Wallis, Chief Administrative Law Judge

FROM: Vicki Elliott, Assistant Director, Transportation Safety’
Carlene Hughes, Business Practices Investigation

SUBJECT: Recommend Penalty Assessment No. TV-061396
Cascade Moving & Storage, Inc.

Attached is a Notice of Penalties accompanied by a Business Practices Audit Report regarding
Cascade Moving & Storage, Inc. (Cascade). In the Notice, staff is recommending that you issue
a penalty assessment against Cascade for 49 violations of Washington Administrative Codes
(WAC) 480-15, which governs the transportation of household goods in the state of Washington.

Beginning in July 2005, Business Practices Investigations Staff audited the economic
records of Cascade Moving & Storage. After conclusion of the audit, and a meeting with
the president of the company, staff identified a total of 49 violations that staff believes
warrant the issuance of penalties.

The violations identified are as follows:

e Thirty-four violations of WAC 480-15-650(3), for failure to require its customer sign its
written estimate form subject to a penalty of $3,400.

¢  One violation of WAC 480-15-660, for failure to issue a supplemental estimate subject to
a penalty of $100.

e Eight violations of WAC 480-15-690, for charging more than twenty-five percent above
the written non-binding estimate, subject to a penalty of $800.

¢ One violation of Item 90 of Tariff 15-B, for failure to require a customer to choose the
valuation coverage and note his or her choice on the bill of lading subject to a penalty of
$100.

¢ One violation of Item 95, Tariff 15-B, for failure to require customers initial their
estimate choice on the bill of lading, subject to a penalty of $100.

e One violation of Item 95, Tariff 15-B, for failure to require customers initial their
payment choice on the bill of lading, subject to a penalty of $100.

e One violation of Tariff 15-B, for failure show the mileage for a mileage rated move on
the bill of lading subject to a penalty of $100.

e One violation of Item 115, Tariff 15-B, for failure to charge its customer by weight and
distance for a mileage-rated move, subject to a penalty of $100. _

¢ One violation of Item 200, Tariff 15-B, mileage rates, for failure to charge mileage rates
for a move that exceeded thirty-five miles, subject to a penalty of $100.
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We recommend that the commission penalize Cascade Moving & Storage, Inc. for 49 violations
of WAC 480-15 for a total penalty of $4,900.

Attached is a draft penalty order with a blank signature block. Kippi Walker has an electronic

copy of the order so that you may coordinate the signature with her. Please let either of us know
if you have any questions or would like to discuss this penalty. '
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