WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
             NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE FOR VIOLATIONS

                                   OF LAWS RULES AND REGULATIONS

                                                                   PENALTY ASSESSMENT NO: TE-060395
                                                                                    PENALTY AMOUNT: $1,500.00
PASSENGER CHARTER CARRIER:
Kelley’s Transportation, Inc.
11022 East Marginal Way South
Tukwila, Washington  98168

The Commission believes that you have committed one or more violations of RCW 8l.04.530, which adopts by reference Title 49, Code of Federal Regulations, 382.115(a), requiring transportation companies to implement a controlled substances and alcohol testing program each year. As a result, the Commission hereby notifies you that it has assessed penalties against you in the amount of $1,500.00, as follows:
On March 7, 2006, Investigator Leon Macomber conducted a safety inspection on your company. His inspection found that your company employs three Commercial Driver Licensed Class B drivers and one Commercial Driver Licensed Class A driver. He further found that your company is operating without a controlled substances and alcohol testing program.
RCW 8l.04.530 allows penalties up to $l,500 dollars for conducting a commercial motor vehicle operation without having a controlled substances and alcohol testing program in place.
Penalties are due and payable upon receipt of this penalty notice. If for any reason you believe the violations described did not occur, you may request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations. If you have an explanation as to why the violations occurred, or have other facts you believe the Commission should have considered, RCW 8l.04.405 provides that you make application for mitigation of this penalty. To do so, complete the enclosed mitigation form and return it to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within FIFTEEN (15) days of your receipt of this penalty notice. You may, although you are not required to, present your request for mitigation at a hearing. The Commission will consider your plea and notify you of its determination.
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If you would like a hearing to contest either the occurrence of the violations or the amount of the penalty, please state why you believe a hearing is called for in your circumstances.

Failure to request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations or the amount of the penalty, return the mitigation plea, or pay the amount due within 15 days will cause the Commission to refer this matter to the Office of the Attorney General for collection. Suit may then be brought against you and after trial, judgment may be entered against you.

DATED at Olympia, Washington and effective this     day of March, 2006.

MARK H. SIDRAN, Chairman

PATRICK J. OSHIE, Commissioner 

PHILIP B. JONES, Commissioner
WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
APPLICATION FOR MITIGATION OF PENALTIES

NOTE: This form must be completed, signed, and received by the Commission within 15 days of your receipt of this form.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020, which states that making false statements under oath is a class B felony (printed below). I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, application for mitigation of the penalties (as described in the attached Notice of Penalties), for the following reasons:

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing is true and correct.

Dated: __________________[month/day/year], at _______________[city, state]

       _______________________________     Signature of Applicant

RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree in any official proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”
