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SERVICE DATE

JUL 20 2005
WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

Yl

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE FOR VIOLATIONS
OF LAWS RULES AND REGULATIONS

PENALTY ASSESSMENT NO: TV-051085
PENALTY AMOUNT: $ 500.00
HOUSEHOLD GOODS CARRIER: '
Robert H. Clark
East 10115 Knox Avenue
Spokane, Washington 99206

The Commission believes that you have committed one or more violations of a rule of
the commission, Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-15-560, which requires
motor vehicles operated under the provisions of the chapter to be free, at all times, of
defects likely to result in an accident or breakdown. As a result, the Commission
hereby notifies you that it has assessed penalties against you in the amount of $500.00.
The basis for this penalty assessment is as follows:

On May 25, 2005, Motor Carrier Safety Investigator Leon Macomber performed a
compliance review and found Robert H. Clark in violation of WAC 480-15-560.
Investigator Macomber inspected eight out of 18 vehicles currently operated by Robert
H. Clark under permit HG-7807. All eight vehicles inspected were found to have
defects. Five of those eight vehicles were placed out-of-service for faulty equipment. A
penalty of $100.00 is being assessed per each vehicle placed out-of-service.

In accordance with RCW 81.04.380, any public service company which violates or fails
to comply with any provision of this title, or which fails, omits or neglects to obey,
observe or comply with any order, rule, or any direction, demand or requirement of the
commission, shall be subject to a penalty of not to exceed the sum of one thousand
dollars for each and every offense. Every violation of any such order, direction or
requirement of this title shall be a separate and distinct offense, and in case of a
continuing violation every day’s continuance thereof shall be and be deemed to be a
separate and distinct offense.
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Penalties are due and payable upon receipt of this penalty notice. If for any reason you
believe the violations described did not occur, you may request a hearing to contest the
occurrence of the violations. If you have an explanation as to why the violations
occurred, or have other facts you believe the Commission should have considered,
RCW 80.04.405 provides that you may make application for mitigation of this penalty.
To do s0, complete the enclosed mitigation form and return it to the Washington
Utilities and Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington
98504-7250, within FIFTEEN (15) days of your receipt of this penalty notice. You may,
although you are not required to, present your request for mitigation at a hearing. The
Commission will consider your plea and notify you of its determination. -

If you request a hearing to contest either the occurrence of the violations or the amount
of the penalty, please state why you believe a hearing is called for in your
circumstances. Failure to request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations or
the amount of the penalty, return the mitigation plea, or pay the amount due within 15
days will cause the Commission to refer this matter to the Office of the Attorney
General for collection. Suit may then be brought against you and after trial, judgment
may be entered against you.

DATED at Olympia, Washington and effective this ‘I Qﬁ/ay of July 2005.

MARK H. SIDRAN, Chairman

PATRICK J. OSHIE, Commissioner




WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
APPLICATION FOR MITIGATION OF PENALTIES

NOTE: This form must be completed, signed, and received by the Commission within
15 days of your receipt of this form. :

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020, which states that making false statements
under oath is a class B felony (printed below). I am over the age of 18, am competent to
testify to the matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I
“hereby make, under oath, application for mitigation of the penalties (as described in the
attached Notice of Penalties), for the following reasons:

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washmgton that the
foregoing is true and correct.

Dated: _ [month/day/year], at [city, state]

Signature of Applicant

RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree in any
official proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false
under an oath required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the
statement is not an element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his
statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section. (3)
Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”







