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BEFORE THE WASHINGTON 

UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 
 

 

In the Matter of a Penalty Assessment 

Against  

 

A CRYSTAL COACH LIMOUSINE 

SERVICE, INC. 

 

in the amount of $10,200 

DOCKET TE-170082 

 

ORDER 01 

 

    ORDER IMPOSING AND SUSPENDING  

    PENALTIES 

  

 

BACKGROUND 

1 On February 15, 2017, the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission 

(Commission) assessed a $10,200 penalty (Penalty Assessment) against A Crystal Coach 

Limousine Service, Inc. (Crystal Coach or Company) for 88 acute and critical violations 

of Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-30-221, which adopts by reference 49 

C.F.R. Part 382 related to controlled substance and alcohol testing; Part 383 related to 

commercial driver’s license standards; Part 391 related to driver qualifications; and Part 

396 related to vehicle inspection, repair, and maintenance.1     

2 On March 2, 2017, Crystal Coach responded to the Penalty Assessment, admitting the 

violations and requesting a hearing. In its response, the Company stated that it has since 

opened an account for employee alcohol and drug testing; implemented a checklist to 

verify Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) status for all employees; implemented a 

checklist to verify expiration dates for medical certificates; and implemented a process 

for tracking driver vehicle inspection reports (DVIRs). The Company notes that it has 

sold both of its vehicles and submitted with its response a request to voluntarily cancel its 

Commission-issued charter and excursion carrier certificate. The Company did not 

address why it believed the penalty should be reduced. 

  

                                                 
1 WAC 480-30-221 adopts by reference sections of Title 49 C.F.R. Accordingly, Commission 

safety regulations are hereinafter referenced only by the applicable provisions of Title 49 C.F.R. 
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3 On March 7, 2017, the Commission issued a Notice Denying Request for Hearing and 

Notice of Opportunity to file a Written Response (Notice). The Notice allowed the 

Company to provide a written response to explain how the violations occurred and why it 

believes the penalty should be reduced. 

4 On March 10, 2017, Crystal Coach filed a written response to the Notice, requesting the 

Commission assess and defer a reduced penalty of $1,000. The Company argues that 

certain violations were redundant, and explains that the penalty would create a financial 

hardship.  

5 On March 24, 2017, Commission staff (Staff) filed a response recommending the 

Commission grant the Company’s request for mitigation, in part, and assess a reduced 

penalty of $6,000 because the Company took steps to prevent the violations from 

reoccurring. The Penalty Assessment includes a $1,500 penalty for one violation of 49 

C.F.R. Part 382.115(a); a $4,200 penalty for 42 violations of 49 C.F.R. Part 383.37(a); a 

$4,300 penalty for 43 violations of 49 C.F.R. Part 391.45(a); a $100 penalty for four 

violations of 49 C.F.R. Part 391.51(a); and a $100 penalty for seven violations of 49 

C.F.R. Part 396.11(a). 

DISCUSSION AND DECISION 

6 Washington law requires auto transportation carriers to comply with federal safety 

requirements and undergo routine safety inspections. In some cases, Commission 

requirements are so fundamental to safe operations that the Commission will issue 

penalties for first-time violations.2 Violations defined by federal law as “acute” or 

“critical” meet this standard.3  

7 Violations are considered “acute” when non-compliance is so severe that immediate 

corrective action is required regardless of the overall safety posture of the company. 

Violations classified as “critical” are indicative of a breakdown in a carrier’s management 

                                                 
2 Docket A-120061, Enforcement Policy for the Washington Utilities and Transportation 

Commission ¶12 (Jan. 7, 2013) (Enforcement Policy). 

3 49 C.F.R. § 385, Appendix B. 



DOCKET TE-170082 PAGE 3 

ORDER 01 

 

 

 

controls. Acute violations discovered during safety inspections are subject to penalties of 

$500 per violation,4 and critical violations are subject to penalties of $100 per violation.5  

8 The Commission considers several factors when entertaining a request for mitigation, 

including whether the company introduces new information that may not have been 

considered in setting the assessed penalty amount, or explains other circumstances that 

convince the Commission that a lesser penalty will be equally or more effective in 

ensuring the company’s compliance.6 The Commission also considers whether the 

violations were promptly corrected, a company’s history of compliance, and the 

likelihood the violation will recur.7 We address each violation category in turn. 

9 49 C.F.R. Part 382.115(a). The Penalty Assessment includes a $1,500 penalty for one 

violation of 49 C.F.R. Part 382.115(a) because the Company did not have an alcohol and 

drug testing program in place at the time of inspection. In its response, the Company 

explained that it has since opened an account with Alliance 2020 in Renton. Staff 

recommends the Commission deny the Company’s request for mitigation as it relates to 

this violation because the Company failed to provide any documentation or evidence that 

it has implemented a testing program.  

10 We agree with Staff’s recommendation. As noted in the Penalty Assessment, impaired 

drivers present serious safety concerns, and companies that disregard requirements for 

alcohol and drug testing put the traveling public risk. In addition, the Company presented 

no new information that would warrant a penalty reduction. Given these circumstances 

and the seriousness of this violation, we decline to mitigate this portion of the penalty.  

11 49 C.F.R. Part 383.37(a). The Penalty Assessment also includes a $4,200 penalty for 42 

violations of 49 C.F.R. Part 383.37(a) because Crystal Coach allowed an employee who 

did not have a passenger endorsement on his CDL to operate a commercial vehicle with 

passengers on 42 occasions between July and December 2016. In its response, the 

Company explained that it assumed its driver was properly licensed, and that it has since 

implemented a checklist for all new and current employees to verify their CDL status. 

                                                 
4 See RCW 81.04.530. 

5 See RCW 81.04.405. 

 
6 Enforcement Policy ¶19. 

7 Docket A-120061, Enforcement Policy for the Washington Utilities and Transportation 

Commission (January 7, 2013). 
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The Company further explained that the employee in question is in the process of 

obtaining a CDL passenger endorsement.  

12 Because the Company took steps to correct the violations, Staff recommends the penalty 

be reduced by half, to $2,100. We agree with Staff’s recommendation and assess a 

reduced penalty of $50 per violation, or $2,100. Mitigation of this portion of the penalty 

is appropriate because these are first-time violations, Crystal Couch has since corrected 

the violations, and the Company has developed a compliance plan to prevent the 

violations from recurring.  

13 49 C.F.R. Part 391.45(a). The Penalty Assessment includes a $4,300 penalty for 43 

violations of 49 C.F.R. Part 391.45(a) because Crystal Coach allowed two drivers who 

were not medically examined and certified to drive on 43 occasions. In its response, the 

Company explained that it has created a list of expiration dates for employee medical 

certificates to prevent violations going forward. 

14 Because the Company took steps to correct the violations, Staff recommends assessing a 

reduced penalty of $2,100. Although Staff’s response incorrectly notes that the Company 

was penalized $4,200, it ultimately recommends reducing the penalty by half. We agree 

with Staff that mitigation of this portion of the penalty is appropriate because these are 

first-time violations, Crystal Coach has since corrected the violations, and the Company 

has developed a compliance plan to prevent the violations from recurring. Accordingly, 

we assess a reduced penalty of $50 per violation, or $2,150.  

15 49 C.F.R. Part 391.51(a). The Penalty Assessment also includes a $100 penalty for one 

violation of 49 C.F.R. Part 391.51(a) because Crystal Coach failed to maintain driver 

qualification files for each of its four drivers. In its response, the Company explained that 

it recently implemented a tracking system to ensure that driver files are complete.  

16 Staff recommends no mitigation of this portion of the penalty. The Commission could 

have assessed a $400 penalty, but, because these are first-time violations, assessed a “per 

category” rather than “per violation” penalty. Accordingly, we agree that no further 

reduction is warranted, and decline to mitigate this portion of the penalty. 

17 49 C.F.R. Part 396.11(a). The Penalty Assessment also includes a $100 penalty for 

seven violations of 49 C.F.R. Part 396.11(a) because the Company failed to require its 

drivers to prepare DVIRs on seven occasions. In its response, the Company explained 

that it now requires DVIRs to be submitted daily, and its dispatch staff tracks the reports. 
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18 Staff recommends no mitigation of this portion of the penalty. The Commission could 

have assessed a $700 penalty, but, because these are first-time violations, assessed a “per 

category” rather than “per violation” penalty. Accordingly, we find that no further 

reduction is warranted, and decline to mitigate this portion of the penalty. 

19 Suspended Penalty. In any enforcement action, the Commission’s ultimate goal is 

compliance. We find here that suspending a large portion of the penalty to deter future 

unauthorized operations best serves this goal. In light of the fact that Crystal Coach 

voluntarily cancelled its charter and excursion carrier authority effective March 6, 2017, 

we will exercise our discretion to suspend a $5,050 portion of the penalty for period of 

two years, and then waive it thereafter, provided the Company refrains from operating as 

a charter party or excursion service carrier without authorization from the Commission. 

The Company may work with Staff to establish a mutually agreeable plan for payment of 

the $1,000 portion of the penalty that is not suspended. 

FINDINGS AND CONCLUSIONS 

20 (1) The Commission is an agency of the State of Washington, vested by statute with 

authority to regulate rates, rules, regulations, and practices of public service 

companies, including charter party and excursion service carriers, and has 

jurisdiction over the parties and subject matter of this proceeding. 

21 (2) Crystal Coach is a charter party and excursion service carrier subject to 

Commission regulation. 

22 (3) Crystal Coach violated 49 C.F.R. Part 382.115(a) by failing to implement an 

alcohol and controlled substances testing program on the date it began its 

operations. 

23 (4) Crystal Coach should be penalized $1,500 for one violation of 49 C.F.R. Part 

382.115(a). 

24 (5) Crystal Coach violated 49 C.F.R. Part 383.37(a) by allowing its driver to operate 

a commercial motor vehicle without a CDL passenger vehicle endorsement on 42 

occasions. 

25 (6) Crystal Coach should be penalized $2,100 for 42 violations of 49 C.F.R. Part 

383.37(a). 
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26 (7) Crystal Coach violated 49 C.F.R. Part 391.45(a) when it allowed two drivers who 

were not medically examined and certified to drive on a total of 43 occasions. 

27 (8) Crystal Coach should be penalized $2,150 for 43 violations of 49 C.F.R. Part 

391.45(a). 

28 (9) Crystal Coach violated 49 C.F.R. Part 391.51(a) by failing to maintain medical 

examination certificates in each of its four driver’s files. 

29 (10) Crystal Coach should be penalized $100 for four violations of 49 C.F.R. Part 

391.51(a). 

30 (11) Crystal Coach violated 49 C.F.R. Part 396.11(a) by failing to require its drivers to 

prepare DVIRs on seven occasions. 

31 (12) Crystal Coach should be penalized $100 for seven violations of 49 C.F.R. Part 

396.11(a). 

32 (13) Crystal Coach should be penalized a total of $6,050. A $5,050 portion of the 

penalty should be suspended for a period of two years, and then waived, subject to 

the condition that Crystal Coach refrains from operating as a charter party or 

excursion service carrier without authorization from the Commission. The 

Company may work with Staff to establish a mutually agreeable plan for payment 

of the $1,000 portion of the penalty that is not suspended. 

ORDER 

THE COMMISSION ORDERS:  

33 (1) A Crystal Coach Limousine Service, Inc.’s request for mitigation of the $10,200 

penalty is GRANTED, in part, and the penalty is reduced to $6,050.  

34 (2) A $5,050 portion of the penalty is suspended for a period of two years, and then 

waived, subject to condition that A Crystal Coach Limousine Service, Inc. 

refrains from operating as a charter party or excursion service carrier without 

authorization from the Commission.  
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35 (3) A Crystal Coach Limousine Service, Inc. must either pay the $1,000 portion of 

the penalty that is not suspended or file jointly with Staff a proposed payment 

plan no later than April 12, 2017.  

36 The Secretary has been delegated authority to enter this order on behalf of the 

Commissioners under WAC 480-07-904(1)(h). 

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective March 29, 2017. 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

STEVEN V. KING 

Executive Director and Secretary 

 

NOTICE TO PARTIES:  This is an order delegated to the Executive Secretary for 

decision.  As authorized in WAC 480-07-904(3), you must file any request for 

Commission review of this order no later than 14 days after the date the decision is 

posted on the Commission’s website.  

 


