WAC 480-120-083  Cessation of Certain Telecommunications Services

(1)For purposes of this section, “covered service” means local exchange service, private branch exchange service (PBX), Centrex service, and private line service.
(2) Except for discontinuance under WAC 480-120-081, a company may not discontinue a covered service to a customer until the company complies with the requirements of this section.
(3) No telecommunications company may cease to provide a covered service in the State of Washington unless it first provides written notice to the commission and to each of its customers for a covered service of its intention at least 30 days before it ceases to provide service.

(a) The notice to the commission must, at a minimum include the name of 

the company, the date covered service will cease, and the number of customers and their location described by exchange or by city and county. 

(b) The notice to customers must at a minimum include the date covered 

service will cease and any information that might be useful to the customer in establishing service with another company.  This information includes, but is not limited to, circuit identification records and customer service records.

(4) Between seven and five business days before ceasing a covered service, a company must provide oral notice to each remaining customer of the date covered service will be terminated, and provide customers with a company telephone number to call for more information.  The company must make at least two attempts to reach each customer and the attempts must be at different times of the day.

(5) A company ceasing a covered service must inform the commission within 24  hours of the cessation of the covered service of the number and location of customers, by exchange or by city and county, that remained as customers for the covered service when  service ceased.


(6) A company required to give 30 days notice to the commission of its intent to cease providing a covered service, and which has filed for bankruptcy, must provide the commission four copies of its bankruptcy filing and four copies of all documents provided to or filed with the bankruptcy court.

(7) A company that has filed for bankruptcy and is required to give 30 days notice of its intent to cease providing a covered service is not relieved of any obligations under the public service laws of Washington.

(8)All telecommunications companies are required to assist the commission in any effort to find alternative covered services for customers of a company ceasing service.

a. Eligible telecommunications carriers (ETC) may be required to 

serve customers that would not otherwise qualify for service under the ETC’s tariff or price list for not more than 45 days after a customer loses a covered service.  
b. In the absence of an ETC, or in place of an ETC when 
circumstances warrant, a telecommunications company that is not an ETC may be required to provide a lost covered service for not more than 45 days to a customer that would not otherwise qualify for service under the company’s tariff or price list.
c. Telecommunications companies providing underlying equipment or

 services through interconnection or resale may be required to maintain the covered service over its facilities for not more than 45 days for a customer that loses a covered service and that would not otherwise qualify for service under the company’s tariff or price list.
