210 N. Park Ave.
Winter Park, FL
32789

P.O. Drawer 200
Winter Park, FL
32790-0200

Tel: 407-740-8575
Fax: 407-740-0613

tmi@tminc.com

September 12, 2006
Via Overnight Delivery
SR
Ms. Carole J Washburn ot 95
Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission e
1300 S. Evergreen Park Drive, S.W. L
P.O. Box 47250 L oE
Olympia, WA 98504-7250 D
RE: Globalcom, Inc. d/b/a GCI Globalcom Inc “

Penalty Assessment, Docket No. UT 060977

Dear Ms. Washburn:

Enclosed please find the WA Penalty Assessment, Docket No. UT 060977, filed on
behalf of Globalcom, Inc. d/b/a GCI Globalcom Inc.

Please acknowledge receipt of this filing by date-stamping the extra copy of this
cover letter and returning it to me in the self-addressed, stamped envelope provided
for that purpose.

Questions regarding this filing should be directed to my attention at 407-740-8575.
Thank you for your assistance in this matter.

Sincerely,

Kimberly N. Geuder
Compliance Reporting Specialist

cc: M. Gavin McCarty - Globalcom, Inc. d/b/a GCI Globalcom Inc
file:  Globalcom, Inc. d/b/a GCI Globalcom Inc - Reporting - Washington



SERVICE DATE
JUL 0 5 2006

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT NO: UT-060977
PENALTY AMOUNT: $100

TO: EACH OF THE 155 TELECOMMUNICATIONS
COMPANIES LISTED IN ATTACHED APPENDIX A ,

/

The commission believes that you have committed one v101at1on of Washington Administrative
Code 480-120-382 which requires competitive telecommunications companies to file annual
reports with the commission by May 1 each year. You are classified as such a company.
Commission records show that you did not make the filing by the required date of May 1, 2006.
(See Appendix A for individual companies’ report status as of June 12, 2006.) Revised Code of
Washington (RCW) 80.04.405 allows penalties of $100 for every such violation.

As a resﬁlt, the commission hereby notifies you that it has assessed penalties against you in the
amount $100, as follows:

On March 3, 2006, the commission mailed 2005 Annual Report forms and 2006
Regulatory Fee packets to you and other competitive telecommunications
companies registered in Washington State. A letter from Executive Secretary
Carole Washbum instructed each company to file its annual report and pay its
regulatory fees by May 1, 2006. The letter stated that failure to file your annual
report by May 1 would result in a penalty and possible revocation of your
registration to operate in Washington. Companies needing more time to file the
annual report were permitted to request an extension before May 1, and to explain
why the extension was needed. You are receiving this penalty for one of two
reasons. Either you did not request an extension of time and did not file your
annual report before the deadline; OR you requested an extension of time and did
not file your annual report prior to the commission-approved extension deadline.

This information, if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support the
penalty assessment. :

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may request
a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. If there is a reason for the violation that you think .
should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of this penalty See

RCW 80.04.405. g cq
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You have the right to present your request for review or mitigation at a hearing, but you are not
required to do so. If you do, the commission will review the evidence supporting your request in
an informal hearing, called a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding, before an administrative law judge.
The administrative law judge will consider your plea and notify you of his or her decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

e Pay the amount due.
e Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations.
¢ Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and
Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within
FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.

If you do not act within 15 days, the commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection. The commission may then sue you to collect the penalty.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective June 30, 2006.

D N

DENNIS ‘%//IOSS
Administéative Law Judge




WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT, Docket No. UT-060977

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the
matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under
oath, the following statements.

[ ] 1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violation occurred and enclose $100 in payment
of the penalty.

2. Request for a hearing. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur, based on the
q
following information, and request a hearing for a decision by an administrative law
judge:

1)(] 3. Application for mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty should
be reduced for the reason(s) set out below.
[ ] a) Iask forahearing for a decision by an administrative law judge
OR [>Q b) I waive a hearing and ask for an administrative decision on the information I
present here.

Globalcom respectively requests that the Commission waive or reduce the
$100.00 penalty based on this untimely filing being an isolated event, caused
in part by Globalcom’s corporate headquarters relocation and the assignment
of additional duties to Globalcom’s clerk responsible for filing annual reports.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: ﬁ/ 7{ 0b [month/day/year], at Chi te9e, v [city, state]
Globaleom, lnc. mw

Name of Respondent (company) — please print Signature of Applicant

RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official
proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath
‘required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a
defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”



