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BEFORE THE WASHINGTON 

UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

 

In the Matter of a Penalty Assessment 

Against  

 

PMC MOVING, LLC 

 

in the amount of $5,900 
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ORDER ON REVIEW 

 

 

 

BACKGROUND 

 

1 On September 18, 2014, the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission 

(Commission) assessed a penalty of $5,900 (Penalty Assessment) against PMC 

Moving, LLC (PMC or Company) for 58 violations of Washington Administrative 

Code (WAC) 480-15-570, which adopts by reference 49 C.F.R. Part 391 related to 

driver qualifications and hours of service, and one violation of WAC 480-15-560, 

which adopts 49 C.F.R. Part 396 related to vehicle inspection, repair, and 

maintenance.     

 

2 On October 6, 2014, PMC responded to the Penalty Assessment admitting the 

violations and requesting mitigation of the penalty based on the written information 

provided, which Commission Staff (Staff) opposed.  On November 4, 2014, the 

Commission issued Delegated Order 01 denying the Company’s request for 

mitigation. 

 

3 On November 13, 2014, the Company filed a letter requesting review of Order 011 to 

address some of the points in its mitigation request that the Company believes were 

overlooked, including alleged inaccuracies in Staff’s report.  

 

4 The Penalty Assessment included a penalty of $100 for three violations of 49 C.F.R. 

Part 396 related to vehicle inspection, repair, and maintenance.  The Penalty 

Assessment also included $100 penalties for each of 58 violations of 49 C.F.R. Part 

391.45(b)(1) because the company failed to ensure its three drivers were medically 

examined and certified.  During the compliance review, Staff found that in June 2014, 

three company drivers drove without the required medical certification for a total of 

58 days: Nickolas Urbach drove 17 days, Julian Lave drove 20 days, and Tyler Prall 

                                                 
1 Order 01 was delegated to the Executive Secretary for decision.  Petitions for review of 

delegated orders are heard at the Commission’s regularly scheduled open meeting. See WAC 

480-07-904(3). 
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drove 21 days.  The Company claims that Staff’s violation count is incorrect with 

respect to Mr. Prall because the Commission’s safety inspector “misconstrued” 

Company records; the Company argues that Mr. Prall drove on 10 days, not 21.  

 

5 At the Commission’s December 11, 2014, open meeting, Alex Lutz, owner of PMC 

Moving, presented Company time sheets showing that Mr. Prall drove on just seven 

days in June rather than 21.  Staff verified the accuracy of the time sheets, but noted 

that the records should have been made available during the July 2014 compliance 

review, or, at the very least, provided with the Company’s initial mitigation request.  

Based on those factors, Staff does not support mitigation.  

 

DISCUSSION AND DECISION 

 

6 PMC Moving presented documentation at the Commission’s December 11, 2014, 

open meeting demonstrating that Mr. Prall drove on only seven occasions in June 

rather than 21 as Staff originally concluded based on records provided during the 

Company’s compliance review.  Although Staff continues to oppose mitigation, we 

are inclined to give the Company the benefit of the doubt based on Mr. Lutz’s 

assurances of future compliance.  We therefore reverse the findings in Order 01 with 

respect to Mr. Prall and find seven violations of WAC 480-15-570 and 49 C.F.R. Part 

391.45(b)(1).  This reduces the total violation count from 59 to 45, and 

correspondingly reduces the penalty from $5,900 to $4,500.  Because a penalty of this 

size is significant for a small company, PMC Moving may pay the penalty in seven 

installments, as follows: 

 

  December 30, 2014   $642.85 

      January 30, 2014  $642.85 

    February 27, 2015  $642.85 

        March 30, 2015  $642.85 

          April 30, 2015  $642.85 

                   May 29, 2015  $642.85 

                                June 30, 2015  $642.90 

 

FINDINGS AND CONCLUSIONS 

 

7 (1) The Utilities and Transportation Commission is an agency of the State of 

Washington which may assess financial penalties against regulated household 

goods carriers that are in violation of commission order, rule, regulation, or 

decision of the Commission pursuant RCW 81.04.405. 
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8 (2) This matter was brought before the Commission at its regularly scheduled 

meeting on December 11, 2014. 

 

9 (3) Based on the documentation presented by the Company at the Commission’s 

December 11, 2014, open meeting, the violation count with respect to Mr. 

Prall should be reduced from 21 to seven, and the penalty should be reduced 

accordingly, to $4,500.  The Company should be permitted to pay the penalty 

in seven installments, outlined above, by June 30, 2015. 

 

ORDER 

 

THE COMMISSION ORDERS:  

 

10 (1) The request of PMC Moving, LLC for mitigation of the $5,900 penalty is 

GRANTED, in part, and the penalty is reduced to $4,500.   

 

11 (2) The $4,500 penalty is due and payable to the Commission according to the   

  following installment schedule: 

 

   December 30, 2014   $642.85 

      January 30, 2014  $642.85 

    February 27, 2015  $642.85 

        March 30, 2015  $642.85 

          April 30, 2015  $642.85 

                   May 29, 2015  $642.85 

                                June 30, 2015  $642.90 

 

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective December 15, 2014. 

 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

 

 

DAVID W. DANNER, Chairman 

 

 

       PHILIP B. JONES, Commissioner 

 

 

       JEFFREY D. GOLTZ, Commissioner  
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NOTICE TO PARTIES:  This is a final order of the Commission.  In addition to 

judicial review, administrative relief may be available through a petition for 

reconsideration, filed within 10 days of the service of this order pursuant to 

RCW 34.05.470 and WAC 480-07-850, or a petition for rehearing pursuant to 

RCW 80.04.200 or RCW 81.04.200 and WAC 480-07-870. 

 


