Service Date: March 22, 2019

BEFORE THE WASHINGTON
UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

In the Matter of a Penalty Assessment DOCKET TN-190036

Against (Consolidated)

WHITE PASS COMMUNITY ORDER 01

SERVICE COALITION D/B/A LEWIS

MOUNTAIN HIGHWAY TRANSIT GRANTING MITIGATION, IN PART;
IMPOSING AND SUSPENDING
PENALTY

in the amount of $7,200

BACKGROUND

On February 13, 2019, the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission
(Commission) assessed a $7,200 penalty (Penalty Assessment) against White Pass
Community Service Coalition d/b/a Lewis Mountain Highway Transit (White Pass or
Company) for 72 violations of Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-31-130,
which adopts by reference 49 Code of Federal Regulations (C.F.R.) Part 391 related to
driver qualifications.! Specifically, the Penalty Assessment cited 72 violations of 49
C.F.R. §391.45(a), which requires drivers to be medically examined and certified.

On February 25, 2019, White Pass filed a response to the Penalty Assessment, admitting
the violations and requesting mitigation of the penalty based on the written information
provided. The Company explained that the violations have been corrected, included an
administrative plan to prevent repeat violations, and requested the Commission reduce
the penalty.

On March 19, 2019, Commission staff (Staff) filed a response recommending the
Commission assess a reduced penalty of $3,600 because the Company promptly
corrected the violations. Staff further recommends the Commission suspend a $1,800
portion of the penalty for a period of two years, and then waive it, subject to the
following conditions: 1) Staff will conduct a follow-up investigation within two years, or
as soon thereafter as practicable; 2) the Company must not incur any repeat violations of
critical regulations; and 3) the Company must pay the $1,800 portion of the penalty that
is not suspended.

' WAC 480-70-201 adopts by reference sections of Title 49 C.F.R. Accordingly, Commission
safety regulations with parallel federal rules are hereinafter referenced only by the applicable
provision of 49 C.F.R.
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DISCUSSION AND DECISION

Washington law requires private, nonprofit transportation companies to comply with
federal safety requirements and undergo routine safety inspections. In some cases,
Commission requirements are so fundamental to safe operations that the Commission
will issue penalties for first-time violations.? Violations defined by federal law as '
“critical” meet this standard.’

The Commission considers several factors when entertaining a request for mitigation,
including whether the company introduces new information that may not have been
considered in setting the assessed penalty amount, or explains other circumstances that
convince the Commission that a lesser penalty will be equally or more effective in
ensuring the company’s compliance.* : '

The Penalty Assessment assessed a $7,200 penalty for 72 violations of 49 C.F.R.
§ 391.45(a) because White Pass allowed two drivers who were not medically examined
and certified to drive on 72 occasions during the six months preceding the safety review.

- Staff recommends the Commission assess a reduced penalty of $3,600 because these are
first-time violations that have since been corrected and the Company has taken steps to
ensure that all of its drivers are medically examined and certified. We agree with Staff’s
recommendation. The Company admitted the violations, explained how the violations
were corrected, and provided assurances of future compliance. In light of these factors,
we assess a $3,600 penalty for 72 violations of 49 C.F.R. § 391.45(a).

We also agree with Staff that suspending a portion of the penalty is appropriate in light of
the circumstances. White Pass is a non-profit organization that provides transportation
services in a rural area to elderly, low-income, and disabled people. Our goal here, as in
any enforcement proceeding, is to increase compliance, not create an insurmountable
financial burden for a non-profit company that provides a vital community service.
Accordingly, we suspend a $1,800 portion of the penalty for a period of two years, and
then waive it, subject to the following conditions: 1) Staff will conduct a follow-up
investigation within two years, or as soon thereafter as practicable; 2) the Company must
not incur any repeat violations of critical regulations; and 3) the Company must pay the

* Docket A-120061, Enforcement Policy for the Washington Utilities and Transportation
Commission {12 (Jan. 7, 2013) (Enforcement Policy).

49 CF.R. § 385, Appendix B.
* Enforcement Policy §19.
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$1,800 portion of the penalty that is not suspended within 10 days of the date of this
Order. To reduce the financial impact of the penalty, the Company may work with Staff

to establish mutually agreeable payment arrangements.

FINDINGS AND CONCLUSIONS

(D) The Commission is an agency of the State of Washington, vested by statute with
authority to regulate rates, rules, regulations, and practices of public service
companies, including private, nonprofit transportation providers, and has
Jjurisdiction over the parties and subject matter of this proceeding.

(2)  White Pass is a private, nonprofit transportation provider subject to Commission

regulation.

(3)  White Pass violated 49 C.F.R. § 391.45(a) by allowing drivers who were not
medically examined and certified to drive company vehicles on 72 occasions.

(4)  White Pass should be penalized $3,600 for 72 violations of 49 C.F.R. § 391.45(a).

(5)  The Commission should suspend a $1,800 portion of the penalty for a period of
two years, and then waive it, subject to the conditions set out in paragraph 8,
above.

ORDER

THE COMMISSION ORDERS:

(1) White Pass Community Service Coalition d/b/a Lewis Mountain Highway
Transit’s request for mitigation is GRANTED, in part, and the penalty is reduced
to $3,600.

(2)  The Commission suspends a $1,800 portion of the penalty for a period of two
years, and then waives it, subject to the conditions set out in paragraph 8, above.

(3)  White Pass Community Service Coalition d/b/a Lewis Mountain Highway Transit

must either pay the $1,800 portion of the penalty that is not suspended or file
Jointly with Staff a mutually agreeable payment arrangement within 10 days of
the effective date of this Order.
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The Secretary has been delegated authority to enter this order on behalf of the
Commissioners under WAC 480-07-904(1)(h).

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective March 22,2019.

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

1: : =,
MARK L. JOHNSON é*-"

Executive Director and Secretary

NOTICE TO PARTIES: This is an order delegated to the Executive Secretary for

decision. As authorized in WAC 480-07-904(3), you must file any request for

Commission review of this order no later than 14 days after the date the decision is
posted on the Commission’s website.




STATE OF WASHINGTON

UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. S.W., P.O. Box 47250 o Olympia, Washington 98504-7250
(360) 664-1160 e TTY (360) 586-8203

March 19, 2019

Mark L. Johnson, Executive Director and Secretary
Utilities and Transportation Commission

1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. SW

P. O. Box 47250

Olympia, WA 98504-7250

Re:  Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission v. WHITE PASS COMMUNITY
SERVICE COALITION d/b/a LEWIS MOUNTAIN HIGHWAY TRANSIT

Commission Staff’s Response to Application for Mitigation of Penalties
Docket TN-190036

Dear Mr. Johnson:

On Feb. 13, 2019, the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (commission) issued
a penalty assessment against WHITE PASS COMMUNITY SERVICE COALITION d/b/a
LEWIS MOUNTAIN HIGHWAY TRANSIT (White Pass or Company) in the amount of $7,200
for violations of WAC 480-31-130 Operation of Motor Vehicles, which adopts Title 49 CFR Part
391 — Qualifications of Drivers, calculated as follows:

72 violations of Title 49 CFR Part 391.45(a) — Using a driver not medically examined
and certified. The Commission assessed a penalty of $100 for each occurrence of these
critical violations, for a total of $7,200.

On Feb. 25, 2019, Mr. Douglas Hayden, executive director for White Pass, filed an application
for mitigation of penalties. Mr. Hayden admitted the violations but asked that the commission
reduce penalties because the violations have been corrected. Mr. Hayden included an
administrative plan to prevent a reoccurrence of the violation.

Staff Response: White Pass corrected the violations identified in staff’s safety investigation
conducted on Dec. 21, 2018. The company also created an administrative plan to prevent future
violations. Staff recommends the commission reduce the penalty from $7.200 to $3.600.

White Pass is a non-profit carrier operating in rural Lewis County. The company currently has

eight motor vehicles and employs five drivers. In 2017, the company reported $296,553 in gross
revenue.

Respect. Professionalism. Integrity. Accountability.
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Staff recommends the penalty of $7,200 be reduced to $3,600. Staff is also sensitive to the
company’s financial situation and understands the impact a significant penalty has on a small
business. For these reasons, staff further recommends that $1,800 of the reduced penalty be
suspended for a period of two years before being waived, on the conditions that: 1) staff
conducts a follow-up safety nvestigation in two years or as soon thereafter as practicable to
review the company’s safety management practices, 2) the company not incur any repeat
violations of critical regulations, and 3) White Pass pays the $1,800 portion of the penalty that is
not suspended.

If you have any questions, please contact Kathryn McPherson, Compliance Investigator,
Consumer Protection, at (360) 664-1108 or e-mail at Kathryn.McPherson@utc.wa.gov.

Sincerely, —g
An Qf@égé Sweedir
Bridgit Feeser

Assistant Director, Consumer Protection




