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BACKGROUND 

1 On March 15, 2017, the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission 

(Commission) assessed a $9,800 penalty (Penalty Assessment) against East County 

Senior Center (ECSC or Company) for 102 critical violations of Washington 

Administrative Code (WAC) 480-31-130, which adopts by reference 49 C.F.R. Part 391 

related to driver qualifications, and Part 396 related to vehicle inspection, repair, and 

maintenance.1     

2 On April 3, 2017, ECSC responded to the Penalty Assessment, admitting the violations 

and requesting mitigation of the penalty based on the written information provided. In its 

response, the Company explained that it is a stand-alone nonprofit agency that transports 

seniors and disabled adults in and around Monroe, WA. The Company provided a 

comprehensive response to each violation, including descriptions of any corrective 

measures the Company has taken to prevent repeat violations.  

3 On April 7, 2017, Commission staff (Staff) filed a response recommending the 

Commission deny the Company’s request for mitigation but suspend a portion of the 

penalty on condition of future compliance. The Penalty Assessment includes a $9,600 

penalty for 96 violations of 49 C.F.R. Part 391.45(a); a $100 penalty for five violations of 

49 C.F.R. Part 391.51(a); and a $100 penalty for one violation of 49 C.F.R. Part 

396.17(a). Because the Company provides a valuable community service and has since 

corrected each of the violations at issue, Staff recommends the Commission suspend an 

                                                 
1 WAC 480-31-130 adopts by reference sections of Title 49 C.F.R. Accordingly, Commission 

safety regulations with parallel federal provisions are hereinafter referenced by the applicable part 

of 49 C.F.R. 
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$8,000 portion of the penalty for one year, and then waive it, subject to the condition that 

ECSC may not incur any repeat violations of critical regulations upon re-inspection. 

DISCUSSION AND DECISION 

 

4 Washington law requires nonprofit transportation carriers to comply with federal safety 

requirements and undergo routine safety inspections. In some cases, Commission 

requirements are so fundamental to safe operations that the Commission will issue 

penalties for first-time violations.2 Violations defined by federal law as “critical,” which 

are indicative of a breakdown in a carrier’s management controls, meet this standard.3  

Critical violations are subject to penalties of $100 per violation.4 While the Commission 

is typically more lenient with nonprofit companies that commit paperwork violations − 

such as failing to meet the deadline for filing an annual report − transportation safety 

rules are enforced uniformly, regardless of a company’s nonprofit status. 

5 The Commission will, however, consider several factors when entertaining a request for 

mitigation, including whether the company introduces new information that may not have 

been considered in setting the assessed penalty amount, or explains other circumstances 

that convince the Commission that a lesser penalty will be equally or more effective in 

ensuring the company’s compliance.5 The Commission also considers whether the 

violations were promptly corrected, a company’s history of compliance, and the 

likelihood the violation will recur.6 We address each violation category in turn. 

6 49 C.F.R. Part 391.45(a). The Penalty Assessment includes a $9,600 penalty for 96 

violations of 49 C.F.R. Part 391.45(a) because ECSC allowed five drivers who were not 

medically examined and certified to drive on 96 occasions between August 2016 and 

January 2017. In its response, the Company explained that it was not aware of this 

requirement. As of February 10, 2017, all Company drivers are medically certified, and 

                                                 
2 Docket A-120061, Enforcement Policy for the Washington Utilities and Transportation 

Commission ¶12 (Jan. 7, 2013) (Enforcement Policy). 

3 49 C.F.R. § 385, Appendix B. 

4 See RCW 81.04.405. 

 
5 Enforcement Policy ¶19. 

6 Docket A-120061, Enforcement Policy for the Washington Utilities and Transportation 

Commission (January 7, 2013). 
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the Company has created an annual reminder in Outlook to ensure compliance. ECSC has 

also added this requirement to its new hire package. 

7 Staff notes in its response that these are repeat violations and recommends no mitigation 

of this portion of the penalty. Due to the Company’s nonprofit status, however, Staff 

recommends the Commission suspend an $8,000 portion of the penalty subject to the 

condition that the Company does not incur any repeat critical violations upon re-

inspection in one year. We agree. While we appreciate the Company’s efforts to achieve 

compliance, a “per violation” penalty is appropriate for repeat violations because medical 

certification is fundamental to safe operations. Drivers who are not medically certified 

may have an undocumented medical condition that puts the traveling public at risk. 

Nevertheless, we are sensitive to the Company’s financial situation and recognize the 

value of the service it provides to its community. Accordingly, we suspend an $8,000 

portion of the penalty subject to the condition Staff recommends. 

8 49 C.F.R. Part 391.51(a). The Penalty Assessment also includes a $100 penalty for five 

violations of 49 C.F.R. Part 391.51(a) because the Company failed to maintain driver 

qualification files for each of its five drivers. In its response, the Company explained that 

the violation has since been corrected, and provided copies of driver qualification files for 

each employee.  

9 Staff recommends no mitigation of this portion of the penalty. We agree. The 

Commission could have assessed a $500 penalty, but, because these are first-time 

violations, assessed a “per category” rather than “per violation” penalty. Accordingly, we 

find that no further penalty reduction is warranted. 

10 49 C.F.R. Part 396.17(a). Finally, the Penalty Assessment includes a $100 penalty for 

one violation of 49 C.F.R. Part 396.17(a) because the Company failed to maintain records 

of periodic vehicle inspections for its vehicle. In its response, ECSC explained that it has 

corrected the violation and provided supporting documentation.  

11 Staff recommends no mitigation for this portion of the penalty. Staff notes that the 

Company corrected this violation on March 20, 2017, after the Penalty Assessment was 

served. We agree with Staff’s recommendation and find that the Company failed to 

promptly correct the violation or introduce any new information that would warrant a 

penalty reduction. Accordingly, we assess a $100 penalty for one violation of 49 C.F.R. 

Part 396.17(a). 
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12 To reduce the financial impact of the penalty, the Company may work with Staff to 

establish mutually agreeable payment arrangements. 

FINDINGS AND CONCLUSIONS 

13 (1) The Commission is an agency of the State of Washington, vested by statute with 

authority to regulate rates, rules, regulations, and practices of public service 

companies, including nonprofit transportation carriers, and has jurisdiction over 

the parties and subject matter of this proceeding. 

14 (2) ECSC is a nonprofit transportation carrier subject to Commission regulation. 

15 (3) ECSC violated 49 C.F.R. Part 391.45(a) when it allowed five drivers who were 

not medically examined and certified to drive on 96 occasions between August 

2016 and January 2017. 

16 (4) ECSC should be penalized $9,600 for 96 violations of 49 C.F.R. Part 391.45(a). 

17 (5) ECSC violated 49 C.F.R. Part 391.51(a), when it failed to maintain driver 

qualification files for each driver it employs. 

18 (6) ECSC should be penalized $100 for five violations of 49 C.F.R. Part 391.51(a). 

19 (7) ECSC violated 49 C.F.R. Part 396.17(a) when it failed to maintain records of 

periodic vehicle inspections for its vehicle. 

20 (8) ECSC should be penalized $100 for one violation of 49 C.F.R. Part 396.17(a). 

21 (9) The Commission should suspend an $8,000 portion the penalty for a period of one 

year, and then waive it, subject to the following conditions: 1) ECSC may not 

incur any repeat violations of critical regulations upon re-inspection in one year, 

and 2) ECSC must either pay the $1,800 portion of the penalty that is not 

suspended or file jointly with Staff a mutually agreeable arrangement no later than 

April 27, 2017.   
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ORDER 

THE COMMISSION ORDERS:  

22 (1) East County Senior Center’s request for mitigation of the $9,800 penalty is 

DENIED.  

23 (2) The Commission suspends an $8,000 portion of the penalty for a period of one 

year, and then waives it, subject to the conditions set out in paragraph 21, above.   

24 (3) East County Senior Center must either pay the $1,800 portion of the penalty that 

is not suspended or file jointly with Staff a proposed payment arrangement no 

later than April 27, 2017. 

25 The Secretary has been delegated authority to enter this order on behalf of the 

Commissioners under WAC 480-07-904(1)(h). 

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective April 13, 2017. 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

STEVEN V. KING 

Executive Director and Secretary 

 

NOTICE TO PARTIES:  This is an order delegated to the Executive Secretary for 

decision.  As authorized in WAC 480-07-904(3), you must file any request for 

Commission review of this order no later than 14 days after the date the decision is 

posted on the Commission’s website.  

 


