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Recommendation 

 

Issue an order in Docket TV-143221, affirming Order 01 denying mitigation of PMC Moving, 

LLC’s (PMC Moving) penalty for safety violations found by staff during a July 2014 compliance 

review.  

 

Background 

 

On September 18, 2014, the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (commission) 

assessed a penalty of $5,900 (Penalty Assessment) against PMC Moving, LLC for 58 violations 

of Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-15-570, which adopts by reference 49 C.F.R. 

Part 391 related to driver qualifications and hours of service, and one violation of WAC 480-15-

560, which adopts 49 C.F.R. Part 396 related to vehicle inspection, repair, and maintenance.   

 

On October 6, 2014, PMC Moving responded to the Penalty Assessment admitting the violations 

and requesting mitigation of the penalty based on the written information provided. PMC 

Moving stated that prior to receiving the Penalty Assessment, it was unaware of commission 

safety requirements, but had since implemented a compliance program. The company also 

claimed that some violations were cited because the commission’s safety inspector Alan Dickson 

“misconstrued” company data.  

 

On October 17, 2014, staff filed a response recommending the commission deny the company’s 

request for mitigation. Staff explained that although all 168 violations cited in the Penalty 

Assessment are first-time offenses, 59 warranted penalties because they presented a risk of 

serious harm to the public. The commission assessed a reduced penalty of $100 for three 

violations of 49 C.F.R. Part 396.17(a) where the company used three vehicles that were not 

periodically inspected as required. The commission assessed a penalty of $100 per violation for 

the remaining 58 violations of 49 C.F.R. Part 391.45(b)(1) for using drivers who were not 

medically certified, which is a category of violation that is ineligible for reduced penalties even 

for a first-time offense. Because the company presented no new information in its mitigation 

request that would support reducing the penalty, staff opposed mitigation. 
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On November 4, 2014, the commission issued Order 01, denying the company’s mitigation 

request. On November 13, 2014, the commission received a letter from John Lutz of PMC 

Moving requesting commission review of Order 01. According to commission rules in WAC 

480-07-904(3), the commission’s review takes place at the Open Meeting. 

 

Discussion 

 

Mr. Lutz’s November 13, 2014, petition for commission review of Order 01 requests a hearing to 

address some of the points in PMC Moving’s mitigation request which Mr. Lutz believes were 

overlooked, including alleged inaccuracies in Mr. Dickson’s report. 

 

The Penalty Assessment included penalties of $100 each for 58 violations of 49 C.F.R. Part 

391.45(b)(1) because the company failed to ensure its three drivers were medically examined and 

certified. During the compliance review, staff found that in June 2014, three company drivers 

drove without the required medical certification for a total of 58 days: Nickolas Urbach drove 17 

days, Julian Lave drove 20 days, and Tyler Prall drove 21 days.    

 

Prior to the compliance review, Mr. Dickson requested the specific records that he would review 

during the inspection, including driver hours of service records for each PMC Moving employee. 

PMC Moving provided records which reflected hours for Mr. Prall on 21 days in June. PMC 

Moving disputes staff’s finding with respect to Mr. Prall, but has offered no explanation to 

support its claim that Mr. Dickson misread or misconstrued company time sheets. To date, PMC 

Moving has not submitted any evidence to refute staff’s finding that Mr. Prall drove uncertified 

on 21 days. 

 

The Penalty Assessment also included a penalty of $100 for three violations of 49 C.F.R. Part 

396 related to vehicle inspection, repair, and maintenance. Because the commission could have 

assessed a $100 penalty for each of the three violations, staff believes the penalty has already 

been sufficiently reduced and does not support any further reduction of the penalty. 

 

Commission staff reviewed Mr. Lutz’s November 13, 2014, petition for review and does not find 

any new information which would support mitigation.  

 

Conclusion 

 

Issue an Order in Docket TV-143221, affirming Order 01 denying mitigation of PMC Moving, 

Inc.’s penalty assessment. 


