
Service Date: January 30, 2025 

BEFORE THE WASHINGTON 
UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

 
In the Matter of a Penalty Assessment 
Against  
 
DREW LANDSCAPING, INC. 
 
in the amount of $10,000 

 

 DOCKET D-240859 
 
ORDER 01 
 
DENYING MITIGATION  
 
 

 
BACKGROUND 

1 On December 12, 2024, the Washington State Dig Law Safety Committee (Committee) 
submitted a referral letter to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission 
(Commission) recommending the Commission issue Drew Excavating, Inc. (Drew 
Excavating) a Penalty Assessment of $10,000 for violations of RCW 19.122. On 
December 30, 2024, the Commission issued a penalty against Drew Excavating in the 
amount of $10,000 for four violations of RCW 19.122 as follows: 

• First Violation: $2,500 penalty for one violation of RCW 19.122.030(2) that 
occurred on August 16, 2024, for failing to provide notice to the one-number 
locate service not less than two business days before the scheduled excavation 
date. 

• Second Violation: $2,500 penalty for one violation of RCW 19.122.040(2)(a) that 
occurred on July 15, 2024, for not using reasonable care to avoid damaging 
underground facilities by failing to determine the precise location of underground 
facilities which have been marked. 

• Third Violation: $2,500 penalty for one violation of RCW 19.122.040(2)(a) that 
occurred on September 24, 2024, for not using reasonable care to avoid damaging 
underground facilities by failing to determine the precise location of underground 
facilities which have been marked. 

• Fourth Violation: $2,500 penalty for one violation of RCW 19.122.050(1) that 
occurred sometime around early June 2024, for failing to report damage to an 
underground facility operator or a one-number locator service as required. 
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2 On January 22, 2025, Drew Excavating filed an application for mitigation, admitting the 
violations and requesting mitigation because all the violations occurred during the same 
time frame, and because after the violations occurred, the Company terminated the 
employee who was making mistakes. Additionally, the Company explained that since 
that time it has been working with Northwest Natural (NWN) to improve its locate 
request process and has received office and field training regarding the Dig Law. The 
Company further explained that it is a small business and already owes NWN damage 
expenses, and that the penalty amount assessed will harm the Company, its employees, 
and their families.  

3 On January 28, 2025, Commission staff (Staff) filed a response recommending the 
Commission deny the Company’s request for mitigation. Staff explained that RCW 
19.122 is clear in its requirements regarding the Dig Law and authorizes the Commission 
to assess a penalty up to $5,000 for each violation. Staff also notes that Drew Excavating 
has been previously penalized by the Commission. On these grounds, Staff recommends 
that the request for mitigation should be denied. However, Staff does recommend 
offering the Company a deferral option to pay $2,000 and have the remaining $8,000 of 
the penalty amount suspended subject to the conditions that: 

1. Drew Excavating pay the $2,000 unsuspended portion of the penalty amount 
within 14 days of this Order; 

2. Drew Excavating management and field crew responsible for excavation 
complete National Utility Contractors Association (NUCA) Dig Safe Training 
within 90 days of the date of this Order;  

3. Drew Excavating submit documentation of completion of Dig Safe training; and  

4. Drew Excavating not commit any additional violations of RCW 19.122 within 12 
months of the date of this Order. 

DISCUSSION AND DECISION 

4 RCW 19.122 is clear in its requirements regarding the Dig Law and authorizes the 
Commission to assess a penalty up to $5,000 for each violation. Here, the Commission 
has assessed a reduced penalty of $2,500 for each violation. 

5 The Commission considers several factors when entertaining a request for mitigation, 
including whether the company introduces new information that may not have been 
considered in setting the assessed penalty amount, or explains other circumstances that 
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convince the Commission that a lesser penalty will be equally or more effective in 
ensuring the company’s compliance.1 

6 We agree with Staff that mitigation is not appropriate in the circumstances presented 
here. When companies fail to provide notice to the one-number locate service not less 
than two business days before the scheduled excavation date, do not use reasonable care 
to avoid damaging underground facilities by failing to determine the precise location of 
underground facilities which have been marked, and fail to report damage to an 
underground facility operator or a one-number locator service as required, it poses 
serious safety concerns and puts their employees, the public, and the facility operator’s 
employees at risk. Of additional concern is the fact that this is not the first time the 
Company has been penalized. Finally, The Commission already provided a reduced 
penalty amount of $2,500 for each of the four violations when it could have assessed a 
$5,000 penalty for each violation. For these reasons, we find that the Commission 
appropriately penalized Drew Excavating for its violations and conclude that the 
Company’s request for mitigation should be denied. However, we also agree with Staff’s 
recommendation regarding a deferral option to allow the Company to pay $2,000 and 
have the remaining $8,000 of the penalty amount suspended with conditions.  

ORDER 

THE COMMISSION ORDERS:  
 

7 (1) Drew Excavating, Inc.’s request for mitigation is DENIED.   

8 (2) Drew Excavating, Inc. must either pay the $10,000 penalty or accept the deferral 
option described in paragraph 3, above, within 14 days of the effective date of this 
Order. Also see the form on the last page of this order titled Response to Order 
01. 

9 The Secretary has been delegated authority to enter this order on behalf of the 
Commissioners under WAC 480-07-904(1)(h). 

 
 
 
 
 

 
1 Docket A-120061, Enforcement Policy for the Washington Utilities and Transportation 
Commission (January 7, 2013) at ¶19. 
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DATED at Lacy, Washington, and effective January 30, 2025. 
 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 
 

 
 

 
JEFF KILLIP 

      Executive Director and Secretary 
 
NOTICE TO PARTIES:  This is an order delegated to the Executive Secretary for 
decision.  As authorized in WAC 480-07-904(3), you must file any request for 
Commission review of this order no later than 14 days after the date the decision is 
posted on the Commission’s website.   



 

 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 
RESPONSE TO ORDER 01 

D-240859 Investigation # 8976 

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document and send it to the 
Commission within 14 days after you receive Order 01. 

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false 
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, competent to testify to the 
matters set forth below, and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under 
oath, the following statements: 

[   ]  1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violation occurred:   
[  ] Enclose $10,000 in payment of the penalty. 

     OR [  ] Attest that I have paid the penalty in full through the Commission’s payment 
portal. 

[   ]  2. Accept conditions. I admit that the violation occurred and enclose $2,000 toward the 
payment of the penalty. I also accept the Commission’s offer to suspend, and 
ultimately waive, the remaining $8,000 penalty amount subject to the following 
conditions:   

o Company management and field crew responsible for excavation must 
complete Dig Safe training provided through NUCA within 90 days of service 
of Order 01; and 

o The Company must submit documentation of training completion to the 
Commission; and  

o The Company must not commit any further violations of RCW 19.122 within 
twelve (12) months of the date of Order 01. 
  

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and submit it electronically through the 
Commission’s web portal at https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form within FOURTEEN (14) days after 
you receive Order 01. If you are unable to use the web portal, you may submit it via email to 
records@utc.wa.gov. If you are unable to submit the form electronically, you may send a paper 
copy to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, PO Box 47250, Olympia, 
Washington 98504-7250. 

If you wish to make your payment online, please use this link: Make a Payment Now (wa.gov).1  
If you do not act within 14 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the 
Attorney General for collection.  

 
I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the state of Washington that the foregoing, 
including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct. 
 
Dated: __________________ [Month/Day/Year], at ______________________ [City, State] 
 
 
 _____________________________________  ___________________________ 
Name of Respondent (Company) – please print  Signature of Applicant 
 

 
1 https://www.utc.wa.gov/documents-and-proceedings/online-payments/make-payment-now.  

https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form
https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.utc.wa.gov%2Fdocuments-and-proceedings%2Fonline-payments%2Fmake-payment-now&data=05%7C01%7Cpaige.doyle%40utc.wa.gov%7C9cb022d51a5643d6a62b08db0960304f%7C11d0e217264e400a8ba057dcc127d72d%7C0%7C0%7C638114080949081842%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C3000%7C%7C%7C&sdata=LCe1LJN4m2K2jG%2FPg4tyJshn%2B1zgimsevw8pedLstG8%3D&reserved=0
https://www.utc.wa.gov/documents-and-proceedings/online-payments/make-payment-now


 
 

 
RCW 9A.72.020 “Perjury in the first degree.” 
 
(1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he or she makes 

a materially false statement which he or she knows to be false under an oath required or 
authorized by law. 

(2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the 
actor's mistaken belief that his or her statement was not material is not a defense to a 
prosecution under this section. 

(3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony. 
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