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Enclosed is the check for $100.00 for the penalty assessed to us for this infraction. We have never been
opposed to paying this fine. Our disagreement is in the wording of your Notice of Penalty that you sent
us on July 11™ 2017. In this assessment on page 2 subpart 10 you wrote that Waste Control has no
formal compliance program. This is absolutely not true and makes us look like we do not care about
safety. In reality, the opposite is true. We have a very stringent Safety program. We have a retired
Washington State Trooper whom we have contracted to check our vehicles twice a week and run safety
programs every 6 months with our drivers. We meet monthly to discuss all safety concerns and
regulations that we need to meet. We believe we go above the norm for safety.

All we would like to see happen with this assessment is for the wording to be changed to reflect that we
do indeed have a formal compliance program.

On page 2 subpart 3 you wrote that the company did not self-report the violation. While this is true,
when added to the statement on subpart 10 it makes it sound as if we don’t care about safety again.
The brake lights worked during the pretrip and would have been caught during his post trip but was
caught before his route was over for that day. We would have caught this violation and repaired it that
same day.
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We would like you to consider rewording the official assessment to say that we do indeed have a formal
compliance program.

| would love to talk with someone further about this situation. Please give me a call at 1-431-0255 at
your convenience.

| have enclosed the letter that we sent to Steven V King on September 1, 2017 that explains our
disagreement with the commission.

Thank you for your time in this matter.

Rick Ensign
Transportation Manager
Waste Control



Service Date: July 11, 2017

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TG-170724
PENALTY AMOUNT: $100

Waste Control, Inc.
1150 3 Avenue
Longview, WA 98632

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that Waste-»
Control, Inc. (Waste Control) has committed violations of Washington Administrative Code
(WAC) 480-70-201 Vehicle and Driver Safety Requirements, which requires solid waste hauling
carriers to comply with Title 49 CFR, Part 393 — Parts and Accessories Necessary for Safe
Operation.

RCW 81.04.405 allows penalties of one hundred dollars for each violation of Title 49 CFR Part
393. In the case of an ongoing violation, every day's continuance is considered a separate and -
distinct violation.

In May 2017, Commission Motor Carrier Investigator Francine Gagne conducted a comphance
review of Waste Control and documented the following violation:

e One violation of Title 49 CFR Part 393.25(f) — Stop Lamp Violations. The stop lamps
on unit #24 were inoperative due to a blown fuse. : "

The Commission considered the following factors in determining the appropriate penalty for this
violation:

1. How serious or harmful the violation is to the public. The violation noted is serious
and potentially harmful to the public. Companies that operate vehicles with defective
equipment put the traveling public at risk. A vehicle without working brake lights
presents serious safety concerns.

2. Whether the violation is intentional. Considerations include:

e  Whether the company ignored Commission staff’s previous technical assistance;
and

e  Whether there is clear evidence through documentation or other means that shows
the company knew of and failed to correct the violation.

Waste Control received solid waste hauling authority in 2002, has received seven
compliance review investigations and has never been penalized for this violation. Staff
believes the company is familiar with the requirement to have operating brake lights on
all of its vehicles.
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3. Whether the company self-reported the violation. The company did not self—report
hese violations.

4. Whether the company was cooperative and responsive. Waste Control was
cooperative and responsive throughout the investigation

5. Whether the company promptly corrected the violations and remedied the impacts.
The company corrected the violation immediately.

6. The number of violations. The number of violations is insignificant.

7. The number of customers affected. The company traveled 194,641 miles in 2016. A
significant number of customers, as well as the traveling public, were potentially. affected
by this safety violation.

8. The likelihood of recurrence. The Commission does not know if it is likely to repeat the
violation, but the company was cooperative and receptive of staff’s assistance, and
corrected the violation immediately.

9. The company’s past performance regarding compliance, violations, and penalties.
This is the company’s first safety penalty and eighth compliance review since receiving
its vertificate in 2002.

10. The company’s existing compliance program. Waste Control has no formal
Ompliance program.

11. The size of the company. Waste Control operates seven commercial vehicles and has
eight drivers. The company reported $4,259 223 in gross revenue and 194,641 miles
traveled in 2016.

The Commission’s Enforcement Policy provides that some Commission requirements are so
fundamental to safe operations that the Commission will issue mandatory penalties for each
occurrence of a first-time violation.! The Commission generally will assess penalties per type of
violation, rather than per occurrence, for other first-time violations of critical regulations that do
not'meet the criteria for mandatory penalties. The Commission will assess penalties for any
‘repeat violations of critical regulations found in future compliance 1nvest1gat10ns including for
each occurrence of a repeat violation.

The Commission has considered these factors and determined that it should penalize Waste
Control $100 for violation of WAC 480-70-201 Vehicle and Driver Safety Requirements, which
adopts Title 49 CFR Parts 383 calculated as follows:

' Docket A-120061 — Enforcement Policy of the Washington Utilities & Transportation Commission —
Section V.
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e One violation of Title 49 CFR Part 392.25(f) — Stop light violations. The Commission
assesses a penalty of $100 for this violation,

This information, if proven at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support the
penalty assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe any or all of the violations did not occur,
you may deny committing the violation(s) and contest the penalty assessment through evidence
presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing only if
material issues of law or fact concerning the violation(s) require consideration of evidence and
resolution in a hearing. Any contest of the penalty assessment must include a written statement
of the reasons supporting that contest. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of
the contest.

If there is a reason for any or all of the violations that you believe should excuse you from the
penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of this penalty through evidence presented at a
hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing only if material issues of
law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request for
mitigation must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to
provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See RCW 81.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the
Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation(s) or application
for mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The
administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of his or her decision. ,

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:
e Pay the amount due.
o Contest the occurrence of the violations. -
- o Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and
Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within
FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may take additional enforcement action,
including but not necessarily limited to suspending or revoking your certificate to provide
regulated service, assessing additional penalties, or referring this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective July 11, 2017.

/sl Gregory J. Kopta -
GREGORY J. KOPTA
Administrative Law Judge
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RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official
proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath
required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a
defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT TG-170724

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false?
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to'the
matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under
oath, the following statements.

[ 1L Payment of penalty. I admit that the violation occurred and enclose $
in payment of the penalty.

M 2. Contest the violation. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur for the reasons I
describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest here, your
request will be denied):

] a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to
an administrative law judge for a decision

OR [ ] b) Iaskfora Commission decision based solely on the information I provide
above.

[ ] 3. Application for mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty should
be reduced for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting
your application here, your request will be denied):

[ ] a) Task for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to
an administrative law judge for a decision

OR [ ] b) IaskforaCommission decision based solely on the information I provide |
above.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: 7 / 15, //'7 [month/day/year], a Méo ; LA [city, state]
Daste Godeol Ta Mk ECpm
Name of Respondent (company) — please print Signature of Applicant ~

cC. Odn/\( H- '/'/us&moen :
A-Hn,nly lfL‘t{,-)
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BEFORE THE WASHINGTON
UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

~3

In the Matter of a Penalty Assessment DOCKET TG-170724
Against
ORDER 01
WASTE CONTROL, INC. g
DENYING REQUEST FOR HEARING;
in the amount of $100 DENYING CONTEST OF VIOLATION;
" DENYING MITIGATION

BACKGROUND

On July 11, 2017, the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission
(Commission) assessed a $100 penalty (Penalty Assessment) against Waste Control, Inc.
(Waste Control or Company) for one violation of Washington Administrative Code
(WAC) 480-70-201, which adopts by reference 49 C.F.R. Part 393 related to parts and
accessories necessary for safe operation.

On July 27, 2017, Waste Control responded to the Penalty Assessment, contesting the
violation and requesting a hearing. In its response, the Company states, “There was no
violation. Our normal daily post trip inspection would have corrected the issue timely.”

On August 3, 2017, Commission staff (Staff) filed a response recommending the
Commission deny the Company’s request for mitigation because the violation at issue
puts the safety of the traveling public at risk. The Penalty Assessment includes a $100
penalty for one violation of 49 C.F R. Part 393.25(1).

DISCUSSION AND DECISION

Washington law requires solid waste collection carriers to comply with federal safety
requirements and undergo routine safety inspections. In some cases, Commission
requirements are so fundamental to safe operations that the Commission will issue
penalties for first-time violations.! Equipment violations that meet the Federal Motor

! Docket A-120061, Enforcement Policy for the Washington Utilities and Transportation
Commission 12 (Jan. 7, 2013) (Enforcement Policy).
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Carrier Safety Administration’s “out-of-service” criteria meet this standard, and are
subject to penalties of $100 per violation.

As a preliminary matter, we deny the Company’s request for a hearing. The
Commission’s penalty assessment advised the Company that a request for hearing will
only be granted if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and
resolution in hearing. Here, no issues of law or fact are in dispute. The Company
acknowledges that the violation occurred, but disagrees that it should be penalized for its
conduct. The facts, therefore, are undisputed, and the law is clear. Accordingly, the
Company’s request for a hearing is denied.

The Commission also denies the Company’s contest of the violations. Waste Control
acknowledges that the violation occurred. The Company thus violated the law.

We will, however, construe the Company’s submission as a request for mitigation. The
Commission considers several factors when entertaining a request for mitigation,
including whether the company introduces new information that may not have been
considered in setting the assessed penalty amount, or explains other circumstances that
convince the Commission that a lesser penalty will be equally or more effective in
ensuring the company’s compliance.?

The Penalty Assessment assessed a $100 penalty for one violation of 49 C.F.R. Part
393.25(f) because the brake lights on one of the Company’s vehicles were inoperative.
Once discovered, the Company’s employee replaced the blown fuse. Staff recommends
o mitigation of the penalty because the Company did not provide any new or compelling
information for the Commission to consider. We agree. Waste Control failed to introduce
any additional circumstances not previously considered that would warrant mitigation of
the penalty. Moreover, as noted in the Penalty Assessment, inoperative brake lights
present serious safety concerns that create a risk of harm to the public. Accordingly, we
deny the Company’s request for mitigation of the penalty.

FINDINGS AND CONCLUSIONS

() The Commission is an agency of the State of Washington, vested by statute with
authority to regulate rates, rules, regulations, and practices of public service

2 Enforcement Policy 19.
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companies, including solid waste collection carriers, and has jurisdiction over the
parties and subject matter of this proceeding.

(2)  “Waste Control is a solid waste collection carrier subject to Commission
regulation.

(3)  Waste Control violated WAC 480-70-201, which adopts by reference 49 C.F.R.
393.25(f), when it allowed its vehicle to operate without working brake lights.

(4)  The Commission should penalize Waste Control $100 for one violation of WAC
480-70-201, which adopts by reference 49 C.F.R. 393.25(f).

&) Waste Control must pay the $100 penalty within ten days of the effective date of
this Order.

ORDER

THE COMMISSION ORDERS:

(1) Waste Control, Inc.’s request for mitigation of the $100 penalty is DENIED.

2) Waste Control, Inc. must pay the $100 penalty within 10 days of the effective date

of this Order.

The Secretary has been delegated authority to enter this order on behalf of the
Commissioners under WAC 480-07-904(1)(h).

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and éffective September 5, 2017.

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

g7 A v . i
e V&

STEVEN V. KING
Executive Director and Secretary

—

- _T_F.)



DOCKET TG-170724 _ PAGE 4
ORDER 01

NOTICE TO PARTIES: This is an order delegated to the Executive Secretary for
decision. As authorized in WAC 480-07-904(3), you must file any request for
Commission review of this order no later than 14 days after the date the decision is
posted on the Commission’s website. ‘



September 1, 2017

Steven V. King, Executive Director and Secretary
Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission
1300 S. Evergreen Park Drive Southwest

PO Box 47250

Olympia, WA 98504-7250

Re: Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission V. Waste Control, inc.
1150 3™ Avenue, Longview, WA 98632

Waste Control’s response to Contest of Violation

Docket TG-170724

Dear WMir. King:

Please be advised that Waste Control disagrees with the assessment of Kathy Hunter in her letter of
August 3, 2017. The purpese of contesting this citation is that it leaves your file with false facts and
conclusions. We want the original citation removed from our records or amended to correct the facts:
1. We have a compliance and inspection policy. The citation says we do not.
2. We have a retired Washington State Trooper acting as a trainer and Safety inspection officer.
3. The blown fuse occurred after the drivers pretrip inspection and would have been discovered at
the end of his shift during his post trip inspection.

Thank you for your consideration in this matter. If you have any questions you can reach me at 360-425-
4302 ext 11, or by email at riensign@wcrecvclins.com.

Sincerely

/%/Zé\

Rick Ensign -
Transportation Manager
WCl.
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