[Service Date August 10, 2010]
BEFORE THE WASHINGTON STATE
UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

In the Matter of the Penalty Assessment ) DOCKET TV-101006
Against )
)
) ORDERO1
HELPING HANDS MOVING )
COMPANY, )
) ORDER DENYING APPLICATION
) FOR MITIGATION; REQUIRING
In the Amount of $100. ) PAYMENT OF PENALTY
)
)

Penalty: On June 30, 2010, the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission
(Commission) issued a penalty assessment against Helping Hands Moving Company
(Helping Hands) in the amount of $100 for one violation of Washington
Administrative Code (WAC) 480-15-480, which requires household goods carriers to
file annual reports with the Commission by May 1 each year. In the penalty
assessment order, the Commission alleged that Helping Hands failed to timely file its
2009 Annual Report, after the Commission had extended the May 1 deadline to May
31.

Application for Mitigation: On July 19, 2010, Helping Hands filed a request with
the Commission asking for mitigation of the penalty. On July 21, 2010, Helping
Hands filed a supplement to its application for mitigation stating that, as a new
company, it was not aware of the Commission’s reporting requirement. Helping
Hands asserts that it will not fail to file its annual report in the future.

Answer: The Commission’s regulatory staff (Staff) filed a response to Helping
Hands’ request for mitigation on August 9, 2010. Staff opposes Helping Hands’
request. Staff argues that, as a newly permitted carrier, Helping Hands was required
to attend new entrant household goods training on March 19, 2009.! Staff states that
the training includes instruction on regulatory fees.? In fact, Staff asserts that Helping

! Declaration of Sheri Hoyt, { 9.
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Hands representative, Justin Gant, initialed the Verification of Training Received
form indicating that he had received training on the Commission’s practices including
a section titled Annual Reports & Regulatory Fees.?

Staff contends that Helping Hands did not timely file its annual report, did not request
an extension of the deadline, and still has not submitted payment of its 2010
regulatory fees.”

Commission Decision: WAC 480-15-480 provides that household goods carriers are
to file their annual reports with the Commission by May leach year. While Helping
Hands denies knowledge of the May 1* annual report deadline in its application for
mitigation, Staff has demonstrated that the company received training on the
Commission’s regulatory fees including the annual report filing requirement.

Helping Hands likewise did not seek an extension of the deadline and did not remit
payment when it untimely filed its 2009 Annual Report.

Helping Hands provides no basis, either legally or factually, that would support its
application. Therefore, we find that Helping Hands’ application should be denied.

The Commissioners have delegated authority to the Executive Secretary to enter this
Order pursuant to RCW 80.01.030 and WAC 480-07-904(1)(h).

Helping Hands Moving Company’s Application for Mitigation is DENIED.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective August 10, 2010.

WASHINGTON STATE UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

DAVID W. DANNER
Executive Director and Secretary

3 1d.

“1d., 1 11. Staff indicates that the company owes $30.02 in regulatory fees based on the 2010
Regulatory Fee Calculation Sheet Helping Hands filed on July 19, 2010, with its 2009 Annual
Report. Id., T 10.
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NOTICE TO PARTIES:

This is an order delegated to the Executive Secretary for decision. In addition to
serving you a copy of the decision, the Commission will post on its Internet Web site
for at least 14 days a listing of all matters delegated to the Executive Secretary for
decision. You may seek Commission review of this decision. You must file a request
for Commission review of this order no later than fourteen (14) days after the date the
decision is posted on the Commission’s Web site. The Commission will schedule
your request for review for consideration at a regularly scheduled open meeting. The
Commission will notify you of the time and place of the open meeting at which the
Commission will review the order.

The Commission will grant a late-filed request for review only on a showing of good
cause, including a satisfactory explanation of why the person did not timely file the
request. A form for late-filed requests is available on the Commission's Web site.

This notice and review process is pursuant to the provisions of RCW 80.01.030 and
WAC 480-07-904(2) and (3).



