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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

| D NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
RECEIVE FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

0CT 11 2019

HALME CONSTRUCTION, INC. PENALTY ASSESSMENT: D-190755
PENALTY AMOUNT: $6,000 -
Investigation #.8014 -

UBIL:" 601 553 217
Halme Construction Inc. Phone: (509) 725-4200
8727 W Sunset Hwy #100
Spokane, WA 98224

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that Halme
Construction Inc. (Halme Construction or Company) has violated Revised Code of Washington
(RCW) 19.122.030(6)(c) and RCW 19.122.040(2)(a) by failing to request an updated dig ticket
prior to excavating , and for failing to use reasonable care to avoid damaging underground utilities
by not determining their precise location prior to excavating. RCW 19.122.070(1) states, in part,
that violations of any provision of the chapter are subject to a civil penalty of not more than $1,000
for an initial violation and not more than $5,000 for each subsequent violation within a three-year
period.

The Commission reviewed findings and recommendations made by the Washington State Dig Law
Safety Committee (Safety Committee) and hereby notifies you that it is assessing a $6,000 penalty
against you on the following grounds:

On September 4, 2019, the Safety Committee heard the complaints for case 19-045
against Halme Construction regarding alleged violations of the Washington state
dig law, RCW 19.122 that occurred on May 22, 2019. The complainant in this case
was Avista Corporation (Avista). The Safety Committee determined that the
Company committed the following violations:

e Two violations of RCW 19.122 for (1) failing to submit an additional
underground utility locate request after the previous request expired, and (2)
failing to use reasonable care to avoid damaging underground facilities by
determining their precise location before excavating on May 22, 2019.

The Safety Committee recommends the following:

e A $1,000 penalty for one violation of RCW 19.122.030(6)(c);

e A $5,000 penalty for one violation of RCW 19.122.040(2)(a); and

o The opportunity to suspend $5,000 of the total penalty amount if the owner
and field staff of Halme Construction complete National Utility Contractor
Association (NUCA) Dig Safe Training within 6 months of the date of this
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Notice, and the Company incurs no additional dig law violations within 12
months of the date of this Notice.

Commission regulatory staff (Staff) reviewed the Safety Committee’s determination
and agrees with its conclusions. Staff found that Halme Construction violated RCW
19.122.030(2) on two occasions. Staff based this decision on the following
information provided by the Safety Committee and Staff’s investigation:

First Violation

On May 22, 2019, Avista responded to a report of damage to an underground
natural gas facility at 900 E 3rd Ave., Spokane, Washington. The representative
performed a dig ticket search and determined that Halme Construction did not have
a valid dig ticket for the excavation performed. Documents submitted to the Safety
Committee support the allegations, and Staff’s subsequent investigation concluded
that Halme Construction did not submit an additional request to locate underground
utilities prior to excavating after its previous request expired 19 days earlier.

Second Violation

Avista’s damage prevention representative observed that the marks from the
previous utility locate were still visible and accurate, but that a Halme Construction
employee excavated near the marks with a track hoe without first using less
invasive methods to determine the precise location of the natural gas line that was
subsequently damaged. Photos and documentation submitted to the Safety
Committee indicate that Halme Construction did not use reasonable care to avoid
damaging the underground facility, and did not first determine its precise location
before excavating near it.

Staff recommends the Commission accept the Safety Committee’s recommendation
and assess a $6,000 penalty against the Company for two violations of RCW 19.122
for failing to provide the required additional notice to facility operators of
excavation continuing beyond 45 days of a utility locate request, and not using
reasonable care to avoid damaging underground utilities by not determining their
precise location before excavating, as follows:

e $1,000 penalty for the first violation of RCW 19.122.030(6)(c) that occurred on
May 22, 2019; and

e $5,000 penalty for the second violation of RCW 19.122.030(2) that occurred on
May 22, 2019.

Staff’s research indicates that the Company has a positive history of submitting utility
locate requests, and that the violations appear to be the result of the Company’s negligence
and failure to track and update dig tickets as necessary rather than a lack of knowledge of
the requirements of Washington’s dig law. After considering all of the circumstances, Staff
concurs with the Safety Committee’s recommendation that the Commission should offer to
suspend $5,000 of the total penalty for 12 months subject to the following conditions: (1)
Halme Construction field management and workers responsible for excavation attend Dig
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Safe training provided through NUCA within 12 months of the date of this Notice; and (2)
the Company incurs no further violations of RCW 19.122 within 12 months of the date of
this Notice.

The Commission agrees with Staff’s recommendation and assesses a penalty of $6,000
with an offer to suspend $5,000 of the total penalty amount subject to the conditions listed
above. The Commission will waive the suspended penalty amount of $5,000 if the
Company complies with both conditions. If the Company fails to comply with either of
these conditions, the $5,000 suspended penalty amount will become immediately due and
payable, in addition to any new penalties that the Commission may assess for additional
violations.

These facts, if not contested or if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, are
sufficient to support the penalty assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe that any or all of the violations did not occur,
you may deny committing the violation(s) and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a
hearing or in writing. Alternatively, if there is a reason for any or all of the violations that you
believe should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty
through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for
hearing only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a
hearing. Any request to contest the violations or for mitigation of the penalty must include a
written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will
result in denial of the request. See RCW 81.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the
Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violations or application for
mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The
administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of his or her decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

e Pay the $6,000 amount due;

e Pay $1,000 of the total penalty amount and notify the Commission that you accept the offer
to suspend, and ultimately waive, the remaining $5,000 of the penalty amount subject to
the following conditions:

o Halme Construction representatives attend Dig Safe training provided through
NUCA within twelve (12) months of this Notice; and
o Submit documentation of that attendance to the Commission within five (5)
days of attending the training; and
o Halme Construction incurs no additional violations of RCW 19.122 within twelve
(12) months of the date of this Notice; or
e Request a hearing to contest the violation(s); or
e Request mitigation to reduce the amount of the penalty.
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Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and
Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within
FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection. The Commission may then sue you to collect the penalty.

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective October 9, 2019.

/s/ Rayne Pearson
RAYNE PEARSON
Director, Administrative Law Division







WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT D-190755, Investigation # 8014

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission within 15
days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false statements
under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the matters set forth
below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the following
statements.

[ 11

X1 2

[ 13.

OR

OR

Payment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred and enclose $6,000 in payment of
the penalty.

Accept conditions. I admit that the violations occurred and enclose $1,000 toward the
payment of the penalty. I also accept the Commission’s offer to suspend, and ultimately
waive, the remaining $5,000 penalty amount subject to the following conditions:
o Halme Construction representatives attend Dig Safe training provided through
NUCA within twelve (12) months of the date of this Notice; and
o Submit documentation of that attendance to the Commission within five (5)
days of attending the training; and
o Halme Construction incurs no additional violations of RCW 19.122 within twelve
(12) months of the date of this Notice.

Contest the violation. I believe that the alleged violation(s) did not occur for the reasons I
describe below:

[ ] a) Iask forahearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an
administrative law judge for a decision.
[ 1 b) Iaskfora Commission decision based solely on the information I provide above.

Request mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should be reduced
for the reasons set out below:

[ ] a) Iask forahearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an
administrative law judge for a decision.
[ 1 b) TaskforaCommission decision based solely on the information I provide above.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: ﬂc%o‘)g/‘ )«’,, Aot g [Month/Day/Year], at 5 /00 kane / WA [City, State]

/’(a/rﬂe CO/\S“)L/&C‘HM, /ﬁ/C %‘W'/

Name of Respondent (Company) — please print Signature of Applicant






RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official
proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath required or
authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime,
and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution
under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”






