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STATE OF WASHINGTON
UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. S.W., P.O. Box 47250 ● Olympia, Washington 98504-7250
(360) 664-1160 ● TTY (360) 586-8203

June 13, 2014



Steven V. King, Executive Director and Secretary
Utilities and Transportation Commission
1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. SW
P.O. Box 47250
Olympia, WA 98504-7250

RE:	Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission v. Lyle and Darcy Allen d/b/a Eastside & All City Movers
Commission Staff’s Recommendation to Impose Suspended Penalties
	Docket TV-140342

Dear Mr. King:

On May 6, 2014, the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission entered a Final Order classifying Lyle and Darcy Allen d/b/a Eastside & All City Movers (Mr. and Ms. Allen) as a household goods carrier and imposing and suspending penalties on condition of future compliance. Mr. and Ms. Allen were assessed a $5,000 penalty for violations of RCW 81.80.075(1), which prohibits household goods carriers from operating for compensation in Washington without first obtaining the required permit from the commission. Ms. Allen paid $167 of the penalty on May 6, 2014. A portion of the penalty, $4,500, was suspended for a period of two years on the condition that Mr. and Ms. Allen cease and desist operating as a household goods carrier, and comply with the payment plan for paying the remainder of the $500 penalty.

The Order specifies that Mr. and Ms. Allen cease and desist operating as a household goods carrier without a permit or the entire amount of the penalty, including the suspended portion of $4,500, would become due and payable. At this time, staff has evidence that Mr. and Ms. Allen continue to operate in violation of the Final Order.

[bookmark: _GoBack]On June 11, 2014, staff called “855-868-6687” and spoke to “Darcy.” Staff asked for an estimate for a move from a two-bedroom apartment in Everett to another two-bedroom apartment 10 minutes away. Darcy told staff they charge $100 for two men, a truck, and all the equipment needed for a move. She also told staff there was a two hour minimum on all moves.

Staff recommends that the entire penalty of $5,000, which includes the suspended portion of $4,500, be imposed in full for violating a commission Order by failing to comply with the Order and cease operating as a non-permitted household goods carrier.


Sincerely,



Sharon Wallace, Assistant Director 
Consumer Protection and Communications
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