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BEFORE THE WASHINGTON 

UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

 

 

In the Matter of a Penalty Assessment 

Against  

 

PMC MOVING, LLC, 

 

in the amount of $41,400 

DOCKET TV-220303 

 

ORDER 01 

 

GRANTING MITIGATION TO $20,850; 

IMPOSING AND SUSPENDING 

PENALTIES SUBJECT TO CONDITIONS 

 

BACKGROUND 

 

1 On May 9, 2022, the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) 

assessed a $41,400 penalty (Penalty Assessment) against PMC Moving, LLC, (PMC or 

Company) for 421 violations of Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-15-555; 

WAC 480-15-560, which adopts by reference Title 49 Code of Federal Regulations 

(C.F.R.) Parts 393 and 396; and WAC 480-15-570, which adopts by reference 49 C.F.R. 

Part 391.1 The Penalty Assessment includes: 

• a $2,100 penalty for 21 violations of WAC 480-15-555 for failing to 

conduct or retain paperwork containing criminal background check for 

every person the carrier intends to hire;  

• a $39,000 penalty for 390 violations of 49 C.F.R. Part 391.45(a) for using 

a driver not medically examined and certified; 

• a $100 penalty for five violations of 49 C.F.R. §391.51(a); 

• a $100 penalty for one violation of 49 C.F.R. § 393.48(a); and 

• a $100 penalty for four violations of 49 C.F.R. §396.3(b).  

 

2 On May 13, 2022, the Company submitted a response to the Penalty Assessment, 

admitting the violations and requesting mitigation of the penalty. The Company further 

requested that the Commission hold a hearing to determine the appropriate penalty 

amount. In its response, the Company admitted to each of the violations, but stated that it 

had taken action to correct the violations and prevent recurrence.  

 
1 WAC 480-30-221 adopts by reference sections of Title 49 C.F.R. Accordingly, Commission 

safety regulations with parallel federal rules are hereinafter referenced only by the applicable 

provision of 49 C.F.R. 



DOCKET TV-220303 PAGE 2 

ORDER 01 

 

 

3 On May 19, 2022, Staff filed a response recommending the Commission grant the request 

for mitigation, in part. Staff recommends the penalties be reduced to a total of $21,000. 

Staff further recommends that $10,000 of the reduced penalty be suspended for a period 

of two years, and then waived, subject to the following conditions: (1) the Company may 

not incur any repeat violations of critical regulations, and (2) the Company must pay the 

$11,000 portion of the penalty that is not suspended. Staff proposes to conduct a follow-

up investigation in two years to review the Company’s safety management practices. 

 

4 Staff also recommends that the Commission deny PMC’s request for hearing. Staff states 

that PMC does not contest that the violations occurred and does not provide any further 

evidence that is not already available in the record. 

 

DISCUSSION AND DECISION 

5 Washington law requires household goods companies to comply with federal safety 

requirements and undergo routine safety inspections. Violations discovered during safety 

inspections are subject to penalties of $100 per violation.2 In some cases, Commission 

requirements are so fundamental to safe operations that the Commission will issue 

penalties for first-time violations.3 Violations defined by federal law as “critical,” which 

are indicative of a breakdown in a carrier’s management controls, meet this standard.4  

6 As a preliminary matter, we deny the Company’s request for hearing. The Commission’s 

penalty assessment advised the Company that a request for hearing will only be granted if 

material issues of law or fact are in dispute. In its response, the Company admits the 

violations. The facts, therefore, are undisputed, the only issue is the degree of leniency 

the Commission will afford in light of the actions PMC took in response to the violations. 

Accordingly, the Company’s request for a hearing is denied. 

7 The Commission considers several factors when entertaining a request for mitigation, 

including whether the company introduces new information that may not have been 

considered in setting the assessed penalty amount, or explains other circumstances that 

 
2 See RCW 81.04.405. 

3 Docket A-120061, Enforcement Policy for the Washington Utilities and Transportation 

Commission ¶12, 15 (Jan. 7, 2013) (Enforcement Policy). 

4 49 C.F.R. § 385, Appendix B. 
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convince the Commission that a lesser penalty will be equally or more effective in 

ensuring the company’s compliance.5 We address each violation category below. 

8 WAC 480-15-555. The Penalty Assessment includes a $2,100 penalty for 21 violations 

of WAC 480-15-555 because the Company failed to conduct background checks for five 

employees prior to hiring them. In its response, the Company admits the violations and 

states that it provides evidence that the violations have been corrected. The Company 

further states that it has signed up with a screening service to prevent reoccurrence of this 

violation. 

9 Staff recommends that the Commission reduce the total penalty amount, but does not 

address this portion specifically. Because the Company has taken action to correct the 

violations and ensure future compliance, we reduce the penalty for this violation category 

by half and assess a total penalty of $1,050 for 21 violations of WAC 480-15-555. 

10 49 C.F.R. Part 391.45(a). The Penalty Assessment includes a $39,000 penalty for 390 

violations of 49 C.F.R. Part 391.45(a) for using a driver not medically examined and 

certified. In its response, the Company stated that it promptly obtained medical 

certificates for its drivers and has implemented procedures to prevent recurrence. 

11 Staff recommends that the Commission reduce the total penalty amount, but does not 

address this portion specifically. Because the Company has taken action to ensure future 

compliance, we reduce the penalty for this violation category by half and assess a total 

penalty of $19,500 for 390 violations of 49 C.F.R. Part 391.45(a). 

12 49 C.F.R. § 391.51(a). The Penalty Assessment includes a $100 penalty for five 

violations of 49 C.F.R. §391.51(a) for failing to maintain driver qualification files for 

three of its drivers. In its response, the Company stated that it has corrected the violation 

and started files for all drivers. 

13 Staff recommends that the Commission reduce the total penalty amount, but does not 

address this portion specifically. Although the Company promptly corrected the violation, 

the Commission assessed the minimum “per category” penalty for this violation. We thus 

conclude that no further penalty reduction is warranted. 

14 49 C.F.R. §393.48(a). The Penalty Assessment includes a $100 penalty for one violation 

of 49 C.F.R. §393.48(a) for operating a commercial motor vehicle with inoperative or 

 
5 Enforcement Policy ¶19. 
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defective brakes. In its response, the Company does not address the violation, but stresses 

that it has prioritized vehicle maintenance and checks going forward. 

15 Staff recommends that the Commission reduce the total penalty amount, but does not 

address this portion specifically. Ensuring the safety of its vehicles is the Company’s 

responsibility and operating a vehicle with defective or inoperative brakes put the 

Company’s customer’s, it’s customer’s belongings, and the traveling public at risk. We 

thus decline to mitigate this portion of the penalty. 

16 49 C.F.R. § 396.3(b). The Penalty Assessment includes a $100 penalty for four 

violations of 49 C.F.R. §396.3(b) for failing to keep minimum records of inspection and 

vehicle maintenance. In its response, the Company states that it is correcting its vehicle 

maintenance logs to comport with Commission standards and has emphasized to its 

drivers the importance of vehicle checks. 

17 Staff recommends that the Commission reduce the total penalty amount, but does not 

address this portion specifically. Although the Company promptly corrected the violation 

and took steps to prevent recurrence, the Commission assessed the minimum “per 

category” penalty for this violation. We thus conclude that no further penalty reduction is 

warranted. 

18 Penalty Suspension. The Commission considers several factors when determining 

whether to suspend a portion of a penalty, including whether it is a first-time penalty for 

the same or similar violations, and whether the company has taken specific actions to 

remedy the violations and avoid the same or similar violations in the future, such as 

purchasing new technology, making system changes, or training company personnel.6 

Another factor we consider is whether the company agrees to a specific compliance plan 

that will guarantee future compliance in exchange for suspended penalties.7 

19 In this case, the Company has taken action to prevent each of the violations from 

reoccurring. Suspending a portion of the penalty with the conditions proposed by Staff 

will both increase compliance and provide a strong incentive to avoid violations in the 

future. Accordingly, we suspend a $10,000 portion of the reduced penalty for two years, 

and then waive it, subject to the following conditions: (1) The Company may not incur 

any repeat violations of critical regulations, and (2) the Company must pay the $10,850 

portion of the penalty that is not suspended. Staff will conduct a follow-up safety 

 
6 Id. at ¶20. 

7 Id. 
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investigation in two years to review the Company’s safety management practices. If the 

Company fails to comply with either of the conditions, the suspended penalty will 

become immediately due and payable without further Commission order. To reduce the 

financial impact of the penalty, the Company may work with Staff to establish mutually 

agreeable payment arrangements. 

FINDINGS AND CONCLUSIONS 

20 (1) The Commission is an agency of the State of Washington, vested by statute with 

authority to regulate rates, rules, regulations, and practices of public service 

companies, including household goods carriers, and has jurisdiction over the 

parties and subject matter of this proceeding. 

21 (2) PMC is a household goods carrier subject to Commission regulation. 

22 (3) PMC violated WAC 480-15-555 when it failed to conduct or retain paperwork 

containing criminal background checks for a household goods carrier in the state 

of Washington as required on five occasions. 

23 (4) The Commission should penalize PMC $1,050 for 21 violations of WAC 480-15-

555. 

24 (5) PMC violated 49 C.F.R. § 391.45(a) when it used a driver not medically 

examined and certified on 390 occasions.  

25 (6) The Commission should penalize PMC $19,500 for 390 violations of 49 C.F.R. § 

391.45(a).  

26 (7) PMC violated 49 C.F.R. § 391.51(a) when it failed to maintain driver 

qualification file for five of its drivers. 

27 (8) The Commission should penalize PMC $100 for five violations of 49 C.F.R. 

§391.51(a) 

28 (9) PMC violated 49 C.F.R. § 393.48(a) when it operated a commercial motor vehicle 

with inoperative brakes. 

29 (10) The Commission should penalize PMC $100 for one violation of 49 C.F.R. 

§393.48(a). 
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30 (11) PMC violated 49 C.F.R. § 396.3(b) by failing to keep minimum records of 

inspection and vehicle maintenance on four of its vehicles. 

31 (12) The Commission should penalize PMC $100 for four violations of 49 C.F.R. 

§ 396.3(b) 

32 (13) The Commission should suspend a $10,000 portion of the penalty for a period of 

two years, and then waive it, subject to the conditions set out in paragraph 19, 

above. 

ORDER 

THE COMMISSION ORDERS:  

33 (1) PMC Moving, LLC’s request for mitigation of the $39,000 penalty is GRANTED, 

in part, and the penalty is reduced to $20,850.  

34 (2) The Commission suspends a $10,000 portion of the penalty for a period of two  

years, and then waives it, subject to the following conditions: (1) PMC Moving, 

LLC, must either pay the $10,850 portion of the penalty that is not suspended or 

file jointly with Staff a proposed payment arrangement within 10 days of the 

effective date of this Order; and (2) PMC Moving, LLC, may not incur any repeat 

violations of critical regulations upon reinspection. 

35 (3) Commission Staff will conduct a follow-up review of PMC Moving, LLC’s 

operations approximately two years after the effective date of this Order. 

36 (4) If PMC Moving, LLC, fails to satisfy any of the conditions in paragraph 34 of this 

order or fails to comply with the terms of the payment arrangement, if applicable, 

the entire unpaid portion of the $20,850 penalty will become immediately due and 

payable without further Commission order. 
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37 The Secretary has been delegated authority to enter this order on behalf of the 

Commissioners under WAC 480-07-904(1)(h). 

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective June 9, 2022. 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

 

AMANDA MAXWELL 

Executive Director and Secretary 

 

NOTICE TO PARTIES:  This is an order delegated to the Executive Secretary for 

decision. As authorized in WAC 480-07-904(3), you must file any request for 

Commission review of this order no later than 14 days after the date the decision is 

posted on the Commission’s website.  

 


