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BEFORE THE WASHINGTON 

UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 
 

 

In the Matter of a Penalty Assessment 

Against  

 

WISE CHOICE MOVERS, LLC 

 

in the amount of $22,900 

DOCKET TV-180287 

 

ORDER 01 

 

GRANTING MITIGATION TO $11,950; 

SUSPENDING PENALTY, IN PART 

 

BACKGROUND 

1 On April 24, 2018, the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission 

(Commission) assessed a $22,900 penalty (Penalty Assessment) against Wise Choice 

Movers, LLC (Wise Choice Movers or Company) for 235 critical violations of 

Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-15-555, and WAC 480-15-560 through 

570, which adopt by reference sections of Title 49 Code of Federal Regulations (C.F.R.).1 

The Penalty Assessment includes: 

 A $21,900 penalty for 219 violations of 49 C.F.R. Part 391.45(a) related to 

using a driver not medically examined and certified;  

 a $100 penalty for one violation of 49 C.F.R. Part 391.11 related to 

defective vehicle lighting devices;  

 a $100 penalty for one violation of 49 C.F.R. Part 393.201(a) related to a 

defective vehicle frame;  

 a $100 penalty for four violations of 49 C.F.R. Part 396.3(b) related to 

vehicle maintenance and inspection records;  

 a $100 penalty for one violation of 49 C.F.R. 396.5(b) related to a leaking 

wheel seal on a vehicle;  

 a $100 penalty for four violations of 49 C.F.R. Part 396.17(a) related to 

failure to comply with a mandatory state inspection program; and 

                                                 
1 WAC 480-15-560 and -570 adopt by reference sections of Title 49 C.F.R. Accordingly, 

Commission safety regulations with parallel federal rules are hereinafter referenced only by the 

applicable provision of 49 C.F.R. 
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 a $500 penalty for five violations of WAC 480-15-555 related to criminal 

background checks for prospective employees. 

2 On May 7, 2018, the Company responded to the Penalty Assessment, admitting the 

violations and requesting mitigation of the penalty based on the written information 

provided. The Company explained that it remedied all of the violations as soon as it 

became aware of them as a result of the compliance review, and that it has implemented 

procedures to ensure the violations do not reoccur. The Company further explained that 

the penalties would be a hardship for the Company. 

3 On May 15, 2018, Commission staff (Staff) filed a response recommending the 

Commission grant the Company’s request for mitigation, in part. Staff recommends the 

Commission reduce the $21,900 penalty for using a driver not medically examined and 

certified by half to $10,950, resulting in a total penalty assessment of $11,950. Staff 

further recommends that $6,700 of the reduced penalty be suspended for a period of two 

years, and then waived, subject to the conditions that: 1) the Company does not incur any 

repeat violations of critical regulations; 2) Staff conducts a follow-up safety investigation 

in two years to review the Company’s safety management practices, and 3) the Company 

pays the $5,250 portion of the penalty that is not suspended. 

DISCUSSION AND DECISION 

4 Washington law requires household goods carriers to comply with federal safety 

requirements and undergo routine safety inspections. Violations discovered during safety 

inspections are subject to penalties of $100 per violation.2 In some cases, Commission 

requirements are so fundamental to safe operations that the Commission will issue 

penalties for first-time violations.3 Violations defined by federal law as “critical” meet 

this standard.4  

5 The Commission considers several factors when entertaining a request for mitigation, 

including whether the company introduces new information that may not have been 

considered in setting the assessed penalty amount, or explains other circumstances that 

                                                 

2 See RCW 81.04.405. 

3 Docket A-120061, Enforcement Policy for the Washington Utilities and Transportation 

Commission ¶12, 15 (Jan. 7, 2013) (Enforcement Policy). 

4 49 C.F.R. § 385, Appendix B. 
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convince the Commission that a lesser penalty will be equally or more effective in 

ensuring the company’s compliance.5 We address each violation category in turn. 

6 49 C.F.R. Part 391.45(a). The Penalty Assessment includes a $21,900 penalty for 219 

violations of 49 C.F.R. Part 391.45(a) because the Company allowed five employees to 

drive on 219 separate occasions without having been medically examined and certified. 

The vast majority of the Penalty Assessment resulted from this violation category. In the 

Company’s request for mitigation, the Company admitted the violation and explained that 

all of its drivers now have current medical certificates in their driver qualification files, 

and that it created a new-hire checklist that includes obtaining a valid medical certificate 

to ensure this violation does not reoccur. 

7 Staff recommends that the Commission reduce the penalty by half from $21,900 to 

$10,950 because the Company promptly corrected these first time violations and 

established new procedures to prevent future occurrences of this fundamental safety 

requirement. We agree with Staff’s recommendation and assess a reduced penalty of 

$10,950. Mitigation of the penalty is appropriate because this is a first-time violation and 

the Company promptly corrected the violation. 

8 WAC 480-15-555. The Penalty Assessment also includes a $500 penalty for five 

violations of WAC 480-15-555 because the Company failed to acquire criminal 

background checks for five employees.  The Company’s request for mitigation does not 

address these violations specifically, but the Company explained it its 15-day response 

letter to Staff that the new-hire checklist will also include a criminal background check. 

The Company further explained that it created an account with the Washington State 

Patrol to run full background checks, and that it has performed checks on all of its current 

employees, and is now in compliance. 

9 Staff recommends no mitigation of this penalty, and we agree. Employees with unknown 

criminal histories raise serious concerns about the safety of customers and their 

belongings. In this case, the Company’s background check identified a driver with a 

disqualifying criminal record. We conclude a $500 penalty for five occurrences of this 

violation is appropriate.  

10 49 C.F.R. Part 391.11, 393.201(a), 396.3(b), 396.5(b), 396.17(a). The remaining 

penalties all relate to vehicle inspection and maintenance, and related recordkeeping. The 

                                                 

5 Enforcement Policy ¶19. 
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Penalty Assessment includes a $100 penalty for one violation of 49 C.F.R. Part 393.11 

because Staff discovered one commercial motor vehicle with a defective back up light 

and no brake lights. It includes a $100 penalty for one violation of 49 C.F.R. 393.201(a) 

because Staff discovered a commercial motor vehicle with the wood spacer on the frame 

rotten, with parts missing, and the section dislodged. It includes a $100 penalty for four 

violations of 49 C.F.R. 396.3(b) because the Company failed to maintain minimum 

records of inspection and vehicle maintenance for its four commercial vehicles. It 

includes a $100 penalty for one violation of 49 CF.R. Part 396.5(b) because Staff 

discovered one commercial motor vehicle with a leaking wheel hub seal. Finally, the 

penalty assessment includes a $100 penalty for four violations of 49 C.F.R. 396.17(a) for 

failing to have its vehicles inspected at a state certified facility. 

11 In the Company’s request for mitigation, the Company stated that it had its vehicles 

serviced by a mechanic shortly after the violations were discovered. In the Company’s 

15-day letter to Staff, the Company states it understands that its commercial motor 

vehicles must have an annual inspection performed at a state-certified facility and that it 

has implemented a tracking system to ensure its vehicles receive inspections as required. 

The Company further explained that it created vehicle maintenance files and trained its 

staff on how to inspect each motor vehicle prior to operation. 

12 Staff recommends no mitigation of these penalties, and we agree. In this case, the 

Company failed to have its vehicles inspected and failed to maintain vehicle maintenance 

files. In addition, Staff discovered three categories of defects on the Company’s vehicles. 

It is the Company’s responsibility to ensure that its commercial motor vehicles are free of 

defects that may potentially put the traveling public at risk. We are concerned about the 

Company’s lack of attention to vehicle inspection and maintenance. While these were 

first-time violations, the Commission assessed the minimum penalty for each of the 

violations. Therefore, we conclude the assessed penalty of $500 for these vehicle 

inspection and maintenance related violations is appropriate. 

13 Penalty Suspension. The Commission considers several factors in determining whether 

to suspend a portion of a penalty, including whether it is a first-time penalty for the same 

or similar violations, and whether the company has taken specific actions to remedy the 

violations and avoid the same or similar violations in the future, such as purchasing new 

technology, making system changes, or training company personnel.6  

                                                 

6 Id. at ¶20. 
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14 In this case, penalties were assessed for first time violations and the Company has taken 

action to prevent the violations from reoccurring. Suspending a portion of the penalty 

subject to the conditions proposed by Staff will both increase compliance and provide a 

strong incentive to avoid violations in the future. Accordingly, we suspend a $6,700 

portion of the penalty for two years, and then waive it, subject to the following 

conditions: (1) The Company may not incur any repeat violations of critical regulations; 

(2) the Company must pay the $5,250 portion of the penalty that is not suspended; and 3) 

Staff will conduct a follow-up safety investigation in two years to review the Company’s 

safety management practices. If the Company fails to comply with any of the conditions, 

the suspended penalty will become immediately due and payable without further 

Commission order. 

FINDINGS AND CONCLUSIONS 

15 (1) The Commission is an agency of the State of Washington, vested by statute with 

authority to regulate rates, rules, regulations, and practices of public service 

companies, including household goods carriers, and has jurisdiction over the 

parties and subject matter of this proceeding. 

16 (2) Wise Choice Movers is a household goods carrier subject to Commission 

regulation. 

17 (3) Wise Choice Movers violated 49 C.F.R. Part 391.45(a) when the Company 

allowed five employees to drive on 219 separate occasions without having been 

medically examined and certified. 

18 (4) The Commission should penalize Wise Choice Movers $10,950 for 219 violations 

of 49 C.F.R. Part 391.45(a).  

19 (5) Wise Choice Movers violated WAC 480-15-555 when it failed to conduct and 

keep evidence of criminal background checks for five employees. 

20 (6) The Commission should penalize Wise Choice Movers $500 for five violations of 

WAC 480-15-555.  

21 (7) Wise Choice Movers violated 49 C.F.R. Part 393.11 when Staff discovered one 

commercial motor vehicle with a defective back up light and no brake lights. 

22 (8) The Commission should penalize Wise Choice Movers $100 for one violation of 

49 C.F.R. Part 393.11. 
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23 (9) Wise Choice Movers violated 49 C.F.R. 393.201(a) when Staff discovered a 

commercial motor vehicle with the wood spacer on the frame rotten, with parts 

missing, and the section dislodged. 

24 (10) The Commission should penalize Wise Choice Movers $100 for one violation of 

49 C.F.R. 393.201(a). 

25 (11) Wise Choice Movers violated 49 C.F.R. 396.3(b) when the Company failed to 

maintain minimum records of inspection and vehicle maintenance for its four 

commercial vehicles. 

26 (12) The Commission should penalize Wise Choice Movers $100 for four violations of 

49 C.F.R. 396.3(b). 

27 (13) Wise Choice Movers violated 49 CF.R. Part 396.5(b) when Staff discovered one 

commercial motor vehicle with a leaking wheel hub seal. 

28 (14) The Commission should penalize Wise Choice Movers $100 for one violation of 

49 C.F.R. Part 396.5(b). 

29 (15) Wise Choice Movers violated 49 C.F.R. 396.17(a) when it failed to have its four 

vehicles inspected at a state-certified facility. 

30 (16) The Commission should penalize Wise Choice Movers $100 for four violations of 

49 C.F.R. 396.17(a). 

31 (17) The Commission should assess a total penalty of $11,950 for 235 critical 

violations of WAC 480-15 and 49 C.F.R.  

32 (18) The Commission should suspend a $6,700 portion of the penalty for period of two 

years, and then waive it subject to the conditions set out in paragraph 14, above. 

ORDER 

THE COMMISSION ORDERS:  

33 (1) Wise Choice Movers, LLC’s request for mitigation of the $22,900 penalty is 

GRANTED, in part, and the penalty is reduced to $11,950.  

34 (2) The Commission suspends a $6,700 portion of the penalty for period of two years, 

and then waives it, subject to the following conditions:  (1) Wise Choice Movers, 
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LLC must either pay the $5,250 portion of the penalty that is not suspended or file 

jointly with Staff a proposed payment arrangement within 10 days of the effective 

date of this Order; and (2) Wise Choice Movers, LLC may not incur any repeat 

violations of critical regulations. 

35 (3) Commission Staff will conduct a follow-up review of Wise Choice Movers, 

LLC’s operations two years after the effective date of this Order. 

36 (4) If Wise Choice Movers, LLC fails to satisfy any of the conditions in paragraph 34 

of this Order, or fails to comply with the terms of the payment arrangement, if 

applicable, the entire unpaid balance of the $11,950 penalty will become 

immediately due and payable without further Commission order. 

37 The Secretary has been delegated authority to enter this order on behalf of the 

Commissioners under WAC 480-07-904(1)(h). 

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective July 6, 2018. 

 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

 

 

 

MARK L. JOHNSON 

      Executive Director and Secretary 

 

NOTICE TO PARTIES:  This is an order delegated to the Executive Secretary for 

decision.  As authorized in WAC 480-07-904(3), you must file any request for 

Commission review of this order no later than 14 days after the date the decision is 

posted on the Commission’s website.  

 


