
 Service Date: August 25, 2025 
 
 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 
 

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE 
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES 

 
 

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: D-250373 
PENALTY AMOUNT: $1,000  

 Investigation # 9106 
SERVICE VIA EMAIL 
 UBI: 313-013-420
George Baker Thomson, Jr. Phone: (321) 288-3303
Associate General Counsel 
Ziply Fiber Northwest, LLC 
426 East Casino Road 
Attn: Legal 
Everett, WA 98208 
George.thomson@ziply.com   
 

YOU MUST RESPOND WITHIN 15 DAYS OF THIS NOTICE  
 
The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that Ziply Fiber 
Northwest, LLC (Ziply Fiber or Company) violated Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 
19.122.030(3)(a) for failing to provide the excavator with reasonably accurate information by 
marking the location of its facilities.  
 
RCW 19.122.070(1) states, in part, that violations of any provision of the chapter are subject to a 
civil penalty of not more than $1,000 for an initial violation and not more than $5,000 for each 
subsequent violation within a three-year period.  
 
On May 21, 2025, the Safety Committee heard case 25-025 filed by Dig Law Advocates (DLA) on 
behalf of Shoreline Construction (Complainant) against Ziply Fiber and determined Ziply Fiber 
violated RCW 19.122.030(3)(a) for failing to provide the excavator with reasonably accurate 
information by marking the location of its facilities. The Safety Committee recommended that the 
Commission impose a $1,000 penalty.  
 
Commission staff (Staff) reviewed the documents, reports, and communications with the Safety 
Committee and agreed with the Safety Committee’s findings and recommendations. 
 
The Commission has reviewed the recommendation by the Safety Committee and Staff, and 
hereby notifies you that it is assessing a $1,000 penalty (Penalty Assessment) against you on the 
following grounds: 
 
1. Alleged Violation(s): 

The Complainant states that on April 14, 2025, Ziply Fiber failed to provide the excavator 
with reasonably accurate information by marking the location of its facilities at 23002 2nd 
Ave Southeast, Bothell, WA. 

mailto:George.thomson@ziply.com
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2. Analysis: 
The alleged violation concerns RCW 19.122.030(3)(a), which states, in part, that upon 
receipt of notice through a one-number locator service, the facility officer must provide the 
excavator with reasonably accurate information by marking the location of its facilities. 
The complaint submitted to the Safety Committee alleged that Ziply Fiber was not a 
responding member on any of the locate tickets requested by Shoreline Construction, that 
Ziply Fiber did not locate their facilities, and Ziply denied paying Shoreline Construction’s 
downtime claim. DLA submitted documents, photographs, locate tickets, and 
communication between Shoreline Construction and Ziply Fiber to the Safety Committee 
for consideration. In the summary submitted by DLA, it noted that because Ziply Fiber was 
not a responding member in the 811 system as required by RCW 19.122.027, the contract 
locator did not receive notification to locate the line. Shoreline Construction was working 
with a plan that indicated the underground lines in the area. The Ziply Fiber line that was 
damaged was not on the plan. The locate tickets provided by Ziply Fiber (#24461107, 
#24489631, and #24525033) do not show that Ziply Fiber was notified of the locate 
request.   
 
George Baker Thomson, Associate General Counsel, appeared on behalf of Ziply Fiber. 
Thomson provided a summary of the allegations to the Safety Committee. Ziply Fiber 
noted that it subscribes to the one-number locator service in all counties in Washington in 
which it operates. Ziply Fiber maps the polygons for the Utility Notification Center via 
shape files and the IMAP application. The summary went on to document that in this case, 
Shoreline Construction hit a single fiber service drop while serving a user residence. Ziply 
documented that the fiber drop had been unintentionally left marked as an aerial drop in 
Ziply Fiber records after an older, obsolete copper drop had been replaced during Ziply 
Fiber’s overbuild of that neighborhood. Ziply Fiber repaired the service drop to the 
customer and made no claim against Shoreline Construction for the damage to the drop or 
for the cost of repair. Ziply Fiber claimed that the fiber service drop would not have been 
locatable, even if notice had been received. Ziply Fiber believes that the Safety Committee 
is not the appropriate forum for resolution of the delay claim. 

 
The Commission considered the following factors in determining the appropriate penalty amount 
for the violation: 
 
1. How serious or harmful the violation is to the public. 

This incident could have been significantly more harmful to Shoreline Construction 
workers, utility technicians, nearby homeowners, and the public, and it could have resulted 
in severe injury and/or loss of property. 
 

2. Whether the violation is intentional. 
The violations do not appear to be intentional, but rather due to negligence by Ziply Fiber. 
Over the past 36 months (May 28, 2022 – May 28, 2025), Ziply Fiber has not been 
penalized by the Commission for violations of RCW 19.122.030. Ziply Fiber is aware of 
the requirements to comply with the dig law. 
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3. The likelihood of recurrence. 
The likelihood of recurrence depends on Ziply Fiber’s actions going forward, and its ability 
to ensure that its contract locator and its contract locator’s processes are sufficient to 
comply with the requirements of the dig law. 
 

4.  The Company’s previous violations and penalties-NONE.  
 

The Commission has considered these factors and agrees with the Safety Committee’s findings of 
probable violation and penalty recommendation, as follows:  

• $1,000 penalty for one violation of RCW 19.122.30(3)(a) with an offer to suspend an 
$800 portion of the penalty for one year, and then waive it, subject to the conditions 
that: 

1) The Company must not commit any further violations of RCW 19.122 within 
12 months of the date of this Penalty Assessment.  

These facts, if proven at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, are sufficient to support the 
Penalty Assessment. 

 
Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may deny 
committing the violation and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in 
writing. Or, if there is a reason for the violation that you believe should excuse you from the 
penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence presented at a 
hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for a hearing only if material issues of 
law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest 
the violation or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written statement of the reasons 
supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See 
RCW 81.04.405. 

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the 
Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for 
mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The 
administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of their decision. 
 
You must act within 15 days after receiving this Penalty Assessment to do one of the 
following: 

• Pay the $1,000 penalty amount due; or 
• Pay $200 and notify the Commission that you accept the offer to suspend an $800 portion 

of the penalty amount subject to the following conditions: 
o not incur any additional violations of RCW 19.122 within 12 months of the date of 

this Penalty Assessment; or  
• Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violation; or 
• Request mitigation to reduce the amount of the penalty. 

 
Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and submit it electronically through the 
Commission’s web portal at https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form within FIFTEEN (15) days after you 

https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form
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receive this Penalty Assessment. If you are unable to use the web portal, you may submit it via 
email to records@utc.wa.gov. If you are unable to submit the form electronically, you may send a 
paper copy to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, P.O. Box 47250, 
Olympia, Washington 98504-7250. 

If you wish to make your payment online, please use this link: Make a Payment Now (wa.gov).1  

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the 
Attorney General for collection.  
 
DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective August 25, 2025. 
 

/s/Connor Thompson    
       CONNOR THOMPSON 

Director, Administrative Law Division

 
1 https://www.utc.wa.gov/documents-and-proceedings/online-payments/make-payment-now.  

https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.utc.wa.gov%2Fdocuments-and-proceedings%2Fonline-payments%2Fmake-payment-now&data=05%7C01%7Cpaige.doyle%40utc.wa.gov%7C9cb022d51a5643d6a62b08db0960304f%7C11d0e217264e400a8ba057dcc127d72d%7C0%7C0%7C638114080949081842%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C3000%7C%7C%7C&sdata=LCe1LJN4m2K2jG%2FPg4tyJshn%2B1zgimsevw8pedLstG8%3D&reserved=0
https://www.utc.wa.gov/documents-and-proceedings/online-payments/make-payment-now
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 
PENALTY ASSESSMENT D-250373 Investigation # 9106 

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document and send it to the Commission 
within 15 days after you receive the Penalty Assessment. Use additional paper if needed. 

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false 
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, competent to testify to the 
matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under 
oath, the following statements: 

[  ]  1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violation occurred and: 
[  ] Enclose $1,000 in payment of the penalty. 

     OR [  ] Attest that I have paid the penalty in full through the Commission’s payment 
portal. 

[   ]  2. Accept conditions. I admit that the violation occurred and enclose $200 toward the 
payment of the penalty. I also accept the Commission’s offer to suspend, and 
ultimately waive, the remaining $800 penalty amount subject to the following 
conditions:   

o The Company must not commit any further violations of RCW 19.122 within 
twelve (12) months of the date of this Notice. 
  

[   ]  3. Contest the violation. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur for the reasons 
I describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest here, your 
request will be denied): 

[   ]  a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to 
an administrative law judge for a decision. 

     OR [   ]  b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide 
above. 

 
[   ]  4. Request mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty should be 

reduced for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting your 
application here, your request will be denied): 

[   ]  a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to 
an administrative law judge for a decision. 

     OR [   ]  b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide 
above. 

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the state of Washington that the foregoing, 
including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct. 
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Dated: __________________ [Month/Day/Year], at ______________________ [City, State] 
 
 
 _____________________________________  ___________________________ 
Name of Respondent (Company) – please print  Signature of Applicant 
 
 
 
RCW 9A.72.020 “Perjury in the first degree.” 
 
(1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he or she makes 

a materially false statement which he or she knows to be false under an oath required or 
authorized by law. 

(2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the 
actor's mistaken belief that his or her statement was not material is not a defense to a 
prosecution under this section. 

(3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony. 
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