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BEFORE THE WASHINGTON 

UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

 

In the Matter of a Penalty Assessment 

Against  

 

Public Utility District No. 1 of Snohomish 

County 

 

in the amount of $1,000 

 

 DOCKET DG-210294 

 

ORDER 01 

 

DENYING MITIGATION; 

IMPOSING AND SUSPENDING 

PENALTY  

 

 

 

BACKGROUND 

1 On June 16, 2021, the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission 

(Commission) issued a Penalty Assessment (Penalty Assessment) against Public Utility 

District No. 1 of Snohomish County (Snohomish PUD or Company) in the amount of 

$1,000, alleging one violation of Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 19.122.055 for 

failing to provide the required notice to a one-number locator service before excavating 

and subsequently causing damage to an underground natural gas facility. 

2 On July 6, 2021, Snohomish PUD filed an application for mitigation, admitting the 

violation and requesting a decision based on the written information provided. In its 

request, the Company claims that the Penalty Assessment contains factual errors 

regarding the depth and size of the damaged facility and the purpose of the excavation. 

However, the Company also confirms that it submitted a locate request on October 6, 

2020, and commenced excavation on October 7, having provided less than the two full 

business days’ notice to facility operators required under RCW 19.122.030(2). 

3 On July 15, 2021, Staff filed a response recommending the Commission deny the 

Company’s request for mitigation but suggesting that the Commission suspended $500 of 

the penalty for 12 months on the conditions that: (a) Snohomish PUD supervisors who 

are involved in and oversee excavation complete National Utility Contractors Association 

(NUCA) Dig Safe Training within 90 days of this Order; and (b) Snohomish PUD 

commits no additional dig law violations within those 12 months. Staff further stated that 

regardless of the contested factual discrepancies, there was not a valid ticket for the site at 

the time of the damage incident. The locate request was called in the day before the 

damage incident.  
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DISCUSSION AND DECISION 

4 RCW 19.122.055(1)(a) provides, in part, that any excavator who fails to notify a one-

number locator service and causes damage to a hazardous liquid or gas facility is subject 

to a civil penalty of up to $10,000 for each violation. Here, the Commission has assessed 

a reduced penalty of $1,000 for one violation. 

5 The Commission considers several factors when entertaining a request for mitigation, 

including whether the company introduces new information that may not have been 

considered in setting the assessed penalty amount, or explains other circumstances that 

convince the Commission that a lesser penalty will be equally or more effective in 

ensuring the company’s compliance.1 

6 Here, Staff recommends the Commission deny mitigation but suspend the half of the 

$1,000 penalty, subject to conditions. We agree with Staff’s recommendation. Snohomish 

PUD failed to introduce any new information that would warrant mitigation of the 

penalty. Companies that dig without first obtaining a timely underground utility locate 

put their employees, the public, and the facility operator’s employees at risk. The damage 

incident at issue could have resulted in a fire or an explosion. However, the Commission 

believes that Company employees’ commitment to dig safety would benefit from NUCA 

Dig Safe Training and a suspended portion of the penalty will provide incentive to attend 

training as well as additional incentive to comply with the requirements of RCW 19.122. 

Accordingly, the Commission assesses a $1,000 penalty against Snohomish PUD and 

suspends $500 of the penalty for a period of 12 months from the date of this Order, at 

which point it will be waived, subject to the conditions that (a) Snohomish PUD 

supervisors who are involved in and oversee excavation complete NUCA Dig Safe 

Training within 90 days of this Order; (b) Snohomish PUD provides documentation of 

attendance to the Commission within five days of completing training; and (c) 

Snohomish PUD incurs no additional dig law violations within 12 months.  

ORDER 

THE COMMISSION ORDERS:  

 

7 (1) Public Utility District No. 1 of Snohomish County’s request for mitigation is 

DENIED.   

 
1 Docket A-120061, Enforcement Policy for the Washington Utilities and Transportation 

Commission (January 7, 2013) at ¶19. 
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8 (2) The Commission assesses a $1,000 penalty and suspends $500 of the penalty for 

12 months, subject to the conditions listed in paragraph 6. 

9 (3) Public Utility District No. 1 of Snohomish County must pay the $500 portion of 

the penalty that is not suspended within 10 days of the effective date of this Order. 

10 The Secretary has been delegated authority to enter this order on behalf of the 

Commissioners under WAC 480-07-904(1)(h). 

DATED at Lacy, Washington, and effective August 23, 2021. 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

 

 

 

MARK L. JOHNSON 

      Executive Director and Secretary 

 

 

NOTICE TO PARTIES:  This is an order delegated to the Executive Secretary for 

decision.  As authorized in WAC 480-07-904(3), you must file any request for 

Commission review of this order no later than 14 days after the date the decision is 

posted on the Commission’s website.   


