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ORDER 01 

 

DENYING REQUEST FOR HEARING; 

DENYING CONTEST OF VIOLATION; 

DENYING MITIGATION  

 

 

BACKGROUND 

 

1 On March 11, 2020, the Washington Dig Law Safety Committee (Safety Committee) 

filed with the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) its 

recommendation for penalties against Vasiliy’s Construction Plus, LLC, (Vasiliy’s 

Construction or Company) for violations of RCW 19.122. The Safety Committee found 

that Vasiliy’s Construction violated RCW 19.122.030(2) by failing to provide notice to a 

one-number locating service prior to commencing excavation on three occasions. 

2 The Safety Committee recommended penalties of $1,000 for the first violation, $5,000 

for the second violation, and $5,000 for the third violation, for a total penalty of $11,000. 

The Safety Committee further recommended that the Commission offer to suspend 

$5,000 of the $11,000 penalty amount if the owners of Vasiliy’s completed National 

Utility Contractor Association (NUCA) Dig Safe Training and the Company incurred no 

additional dig law violations in the next 12 months. 

3 On July 28, 2020, the Commission issued a penalty assessment (Penalty Assessment) 

against Vasiliy’s Construction in the amount of $6,000, alleging two violations of RCW 

19.122.030(2) for failing to request utility locates prior to performing an excavation on 

April 15 and May 3, 2019. The Commission found that there was insufficient evidence to 

uphold one of the violations recommended by the Safety Committee. The Penalty 

Assessment offered the Company the option to suspend, and ultimately waive, a $2,000 

portion of the penalty subject to the conditions that: a) Owners of Vasiliy’s Construction 

attend Dig Safe training provided through the National Utility Contractor Association 

(NUCA) within 12 months of the date of the Penalty Assessment; and b) the Company incur 

no further violations of RCW 19.122 within 12 months from the date of the Penalty 

Assessment. 
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4 On August 13, 2020, Vasiliy’s Construction filed a response contesting the violation and 

requesting a hearing. Vasiliy’s Construction failed to include any evidence or explanation 

to justify consideration of its request.  

5 On September 22, 2020, Commission staff (Staff) filed a response recommending the 

Commission deny the Company’s request for hearing. In its response, Staff notes that 

Vasiliy’s Construction has not introduced any new information that requires 

consideration and resolution in hearing. Staff further states that the Company did not 

attend, or present any evidence during, the Safety Committee review that led to the 

Penalty Assessment. Likewise, the Company did not provide Staff with any information 

during Staff’s investigation. 

DISCUSSION AND DECISION 

6 RCW 19.122.030(2) requires excavators to “provide the notice required by subsection (1) 

of this section to a one-number locator service not less than two business days and not 

more than ten business days before the scheduled date for commencement of excavation . 

. .” Further, an excavator is prohibited from excavating “until all known facility operators 

have marked or provided information regarding underground facilities.”1 Excavators who 

violate these provisions are subject to penalties of up to $10,000 per violation.2 

7 As a preliminary matter, we deny the Company’s request for a hearing. The Penalty 

Assessment advised the Company that a request for hearing will only be granted if 

material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in hearing. 

Here, no issues of law or fact are in dispute. The Company provided no evidence to refute 

the evidence presented by Staff. The facts, therefore, are undisputed, and the law is clear. 

Accordingly, the Company’s request for a hearing is denied. 

8 The Commission also denies the Company’s contest of the violations. The undisputed 

facts demonstrate that the Company failed to obtain a utility locate prior to performing an 

excavation on April 15, 2019 and failed to obtain a utility locate at least two business 

days prior to commencing excavation on May 3, 2019. The Company has thus violated 

the law. 

9 We will, however, construe the Company’s submission as a request for mitigation. The 

Commission considers several factors when entertaining a request for mitigation, 

including whether the company introduces new information that may not have been 

 
1 RCW 19.122.030(5). 

2 RCW 19.122.055(1)(a). 
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considered in setting the assessed penalty amount, or explains other circumstances that 

convince the Commission that a lesser penalty will be equally or more effective in 

ensuring the company’s compliance.3 

10 Here, the Company did not introduce any new information that would warrant mitigation 

of the penalty. Companies that dig without first obtaining an underground utility locate 

put their employees, the public, and the facility operator’s employees at risk. The damage 

incident at issue could have resulted in a fire or an explosion. It is the Company’s 

responsibility to secure a utility locate prior to performing an excavation. Accordingly, 

we find that the Commission properly penalized Vasiliy’s Construction for excavating 

without a valid utility locate request and conclude that the Company’s request for 

mitigation should be denied. Vasiliy’s Construction must take one of the following 

actions within 10 days of the effective date of this Order: 

• Pay the $6,000 penalty. 

• Pay $4,000 of the penalty amount and notify the Commission that the 

Company accepts the Commission’s offer to suspend, and ultimately 

waive, the remaining $2,000 portion of the penalty subject to the 

conditions that (1) Vasiliy’s Construction’s owners attend Dig Safe 

training provided by NUCA within 12 months of the effective date of this 

order and submit documentation of the Company’s attendance within five 

days of completion, and (2) Vasiliy’s Construction incurs no additional 

violations of RCW 19.122 within 12 months of the effective date of this 

Order.  

ORDER 

THE COMMISSION ORDERS THAT: 

11 (1) Vasiliy’s Construction Plus, LLC’s request for hearing is DENIED.  

12 (2) Vasiliy’s Construction Plus, LLC’s contest of the violation is DENIED. 

 
3 Docket A-120061, Enforcement Policy for the Washington Utilities and Transportation 

Commission (January 7, 2013) at ¶19. 
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13 (3) Vasiliy’s Construction Plus, LLC, must either pay the $6,000 penalty or take the 

alternative action described in paragraph 10, above, within 10 days of the 

effective date of this Order. 

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective October 13, 2020. 

 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

 

 

 

       
MARK L. JOHNSON 

      Executive Director and Secretary 

 

 

NOTICE TO PARTIES: This is an order delegated to the Executive Secretary for 

decision. As authorized in WAC 480-07-904(3), you must file any request for 

Commission review of this order no later than 14 days after the date the decision is 

posted on the Commission’s website.  


