Date of Service: April 16,2019

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

RECE] VE[D NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
MAY 20 2019 FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

WASH, '
UT. & TP. COMM PENALTY ASSESSMENT: D-190113

PENALTY AMOUNT: $1,000

Investigation # 7959
Andrew Damerau UBI: 601 634 671
Andrew’s LandShapers Phone: (360) 331-4020

19123 SR 525
Freeland, WA 98249

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that you have
violated Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 19.122.030(2) by failing to request a dig ticket prior
to performing an excavation. RCW 19.122.070(1) states, in part, that violations of any provision of
the chapter are subject to a civil penalty of not more than $1,000 for an initial violation and not
more than $5,000 for each subsequent violation within a three-year period.

The Commission reviewed findings and recommendations made by the Washington State Dig Law
Safety Committee (Safety Committee) and hereby notifies you that it is assessing a penalty against
you for $1,000 on the following grounds:

On February 20, 2019, the Safety Committee heard the complaint for case 18-092
against Andrew’s LandShapers (Company) regarding a potential violation of the
Washington State dig law, RCW 19.122, that occurred on November 13, 2018. The
complainant in this case was Bayview Meadows Community Association (BMCA).
The Safety Committee determined that the Company committed the following
violation:

e One violation of RCW 19.122.030(2) for failing to submit a request to have
underground utilities located through a one-number call service prior to
excavating.

The Safety Committee recommended that the Commission assess the following
$1,000 penalty against Andrew’s LandShapers:

e $1,000 penalty for one violation of RCW 19.122.030(2); and

e The opportunity to suspend $800 of the penalty if the owner completes
National Utility Contractor Association (NUCA) Dig Safe Training within
12 months of the date of this Notice, and the company incurs no additional
dig law violations within 12 months of the date of this Notice.

Commission regulatory staff (Staff) reviewed the Safety Committee’s determination
and agrees with its conclusion. Staff found that Andrew’s LandShapers violated
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RCW 19.122.030(2) one time. Staff based this decision on the following
information provided by the Safety Committee:

BMCA alleges that on November 13, 2018, Andrew’s LandShapers was digging a
trench for a drain and encountered a thrust block, which was protecting a joint in
BMCA'’s six-inch water main. Andrew’s LandShapers’ excavation damaged the
joint in the water main and created a leak. Prior to excavating, Andrew’s
LandShapers did not notify a one-call service to request marking of the
underground facilities at the excavation site.

Photographs and documentation submitted to the Safety Committee by BMCA were
examined and considered by Staff. The photographs, taken at the time of the
damage incident and subsequent repair, show the damaged water main, surrounding
area, and the repaired main. A search of the one-call ticket database by Staff
indicates that Andrew’s LandShapers did not submit a request to locate
underground facilities for the site before excavating. Staff determined that
Andrew’s LandShapers violated RCW 19.122.030(2) one time on November 13,
2018, by failing to submit a request to locate underground utilities before
excavating.

Staff recommends the Commission assess a $1,000 penalty against the Company
for one violation of RCW 19.122.030(2), for failing to provide the required notice
to a one-number locator service not less than two business days before excavating,
as follows:

e $1,000 penalty for the violation of RCW 19.122.030(2), which occurred on
November 13, 2018.

Staff’s research indicates that the Company has a history of submitting utility locate
requests, and that the violation appears to be the result of the Company’s negligence rather
than a lack of knowledge of the requirements of Washington’s dig law. After considering
all of the circumstances, Staff concurs with the Safety Committee’s recommendation that
the Commission offer to suspend $800 of the total penalty for a period of one year subject
to the conditions that (1) Andrew’s LandShapers’ owner attends Dig Safe training provided
through the National Utility Contractors Association (NUCA) within 12 months of the date
of this Notice; and (2) Andrew’s LandShapers commits no further violations of RCW
19.122 within 12 months from the date of this Notice.

The Commission agrees with Staff’s recommendation and assesses a penalty of $1,000
with an offer to suspend $800 of the penalty amount subject to the following conditions:
(1) Andrew’s LandShapers’ owner completes NUCA Dig Safe Training within 12 months
of the date of this Notice, and (2) Andrew’s LandShapers has no further violations of RCW
19.122 within 12 months of the date of this Notice. The Commission will waive the
suspended penalty amount of $800 if the Company complies with both conditions. If the
Company fails to comply with either of these conditions, the $800 suspended penalty will
become immediately due and payable, in addition to any new penalties that the
Commission may assess for additional violations.
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These facts, if not contested or if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, are
sufficient to support the penalty assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may deny
committing the violation and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in
writing. Alternatively, if there is a reason for the violation that you believe should excuse you from
the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence presented at a
hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing only if material issues of
law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest
the violation or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written statement of the reasons
supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See
RCW 81.04.405. :

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the
Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for
mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The
administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of his or her decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

e Pay the $1,000 amount due;

e Pay $200 of the total penalty amount and notify the Commission that you accept the offer
to suspend, and ultimately waive, the remaining $800 of the penalty amount subject to the
following conditions:

o Andrew’s LandShapers’ owner attends Dig Safe training provided through NUCA
within twelve (12) months of this Notice; and

o submit documentation of that attendance to the Commission within five (5) days of
attending the training; and

o commit no further violations of RCW 19.122 within twelve (12) months of the date
of this order; or

e Request a hearing to contest the violation; or

e Request mitigation to reduce the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and
Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within
FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection. The Commission may then sue you to collect the penalty.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective April 16, 2019.

/s/ Rayne Pearson
RAYNE PEARSON ‘
Director, Administrative Law Division
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PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission within 15
days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false statements
under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the matters set forth
below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the following
statements.

[ 1 1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violation occurred and enclose $1,000 in payment of the
i p
penalty.

M 2. Accept conditions. I admit that the violation occurred and enclose $200 toward the payment
of the penalty. I also accept the Commission’s offer to suspend, and ultimately waive, the
remaining $800 penalty amount subject to the following conditions:

o Andrew’s LandShapers’ owner attends Dig Safe training prov1ded through NUCA
within twelve (12) months of this Notice; and

o Submit documentation of that attendance to the Commission within five (5) days
of attending the training; and

o Commit no further violations of RCW 19.122 within twelve (12) months of the
date of this Notice.

[ 13. Contest the violation. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur for the reasons I
describe below:

[ 1a) Iask fora hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an
administrative law judge for a decision.
OR [ ]b) Iask fora Commission decision based solely on the information I provide above.

[ 14. Request mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty should be reduced for
p
the reasons set out below: :

[ ] a) Iask forahearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an
administrative law judge for a decision.
OR [ ]b) IaskforaCommission decision based solely on the information I provide above.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: ,,S’/Z/é// / f/ [Monfh/Day/Y ear], at ﬁ/‘//@‘%ﬁ) [City, State]
SWI2E) Dbl Ay

Name of Respondent (company) — please prmt Signature of App’li’éaﬁt




RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official
proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath required or
authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime,
and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution
under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”






