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BEFORE THE WASHINGTON 

UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 
 

 

In the Matter of a Penalty Assessment 

Against  

 

JOSE IBARRA MARTINEZ d/b/a 

IBARRA MOVING 

 

in the amount of $2,200 

DOCKET TV-180862 

 

ORDER 01 

 

GRANTING MITIGATION TO $1,200; 

SUSPENDING PENALTY, IN PART 

 

BACKGROUND 

 

1 On November 2, 2018, the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission 

(Commission) assessed a $2,200 penalty (Penalty Assessment) against Jose Ibarra 

Martinez d/b/a Ibarra Moving (Ibarra Moving or Company) for 51 critical violations of 

Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-15-555 and WAC 480-15-560 through 

570, which adopt by reference sections of Title 49 Code of Federal Regulations (C.F.R.).1 

The Penalty Assessment includes: 

 

 a $1,600 penalty for 16 violations of 49 C.F.R. Part 391.45(a) for using a 

driver not medically examined and certified;  

 a $100 penalty for one violation of 49 C.F.R. Part 391.51(a) for failing to 

maintain a driver qualification file for each driver it employs;  

 a $100 penalty for 30 violations of 49 C.F.R. Part 395.8(a) for failing to 

require its driver to make a record of duty status; 

 a $100 penalty for one violation of 49 C.F.R. Part 396.17(a) for using a 

commercial motor vehicle not periodically inspected; and 

 a $300 penalty for three violations of WAC 480-15-555 for failing to 

obtain criminal background checks for three prospective employees.  

 

2 On November 19, 2018, the Company responded to the Penalty Assessment, admitting 

the violations and requesting mitigation of the penalty based on the written information 

provided. The Company stated it that has created a successful safety management plan 

                                                 
1 WAC 480-15-560 and -570 adopt by reference sections of Title 49 C.F.R. Accordingly, 

Commission safety regulations with parallel federal rules are hereinafter referenced only by the 

applicable provision of 49 C.F.R. 
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approved by Commission staff (Staff) and has since corrected the violations at issue. 

 

3 On December 3, 2018, Staff filed a response recommending the Commission grant the 

Company’s request for mitigation, in part. Staff recommends the penalties related to 

medical certification requirements, vehicle inspection requirements, and criminal 

background checks be reduced by half, and that the Commission impose a total penalty of 

$1,200. Staff further recommends that $700 of the reduced penalty be suspended for a 

period of two years, and then waived, subject to the following conditions: 1) the 

Company may not incur any repeat violations of critical regulations and 2) the Company 

must pay the $500 portion of the penalty that is not suspended. Staff will conduct a 

follow-up investigation in two years to review the Company’s safety management 

practices. 

 

DISCUSSION AND DECISION 

4 Washington law requires household goods carriers to comply with federal safety 

requirements and undergo routine safety inspections. Violations discovered during safety 

inspections are subject to penalties of $100 per violation.2 In some cases, Commission 

requirements are so fundamental to safe operations that the Commission will issue 

penalties for first-time violations.3 Violations defined by federal law as “critical” meet 

this standard.4  

5 The Commission considers several factors when entertaining a request for mitigation, 

including whether the company introduces new information that may not have been 

considered in setting the assessed penalty amount, or explains other circumstances that 

convince the Commission that a lesser penalty will be equally or more effective in 

ensuring the company’s compliance.5 We address each violation category below. 

                                                 

2 See RCW 81.04.405. 

3 Docket A-120061, Enforcement Policy for the Washington Utilities and Transportation 

Commission ¶12, 15 (Jan. 7, 2013) (Enforcement Policy). 

4 49 C.F.R. § 385, Appendix B. 

5 Enforcement Policy ¶19. 
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6 49 C.F.R Part 391.45(a). The Penalty Assessment includes a $1,600 penalty for 16 

violations of 49 C.F.R. Part 391.45(a) because the Company used a driver not medically 

examined and certified on 16 occasions. Upon receiving notice of this violation, the 

driver completed a medical examination and the Company provided a copy of the 

medical examiner’s certificate to Staff. The Company stated in its response that it has 

established new procedures to ensure compliance going forward. 

7 Staff recommends that the Commission reduce the penalty for these violations from 

$1,600 to $800 because the Company took prompt corrective action. Staff also notes that 

these are first-time violations. Finally, Staff is sensitive to the Company’s financial 

situation and the impact of a significant penalty on a small business. The Company, 

which has one driver and one commercial motor vehicle, reported $56,500 in gross 

revenue in 2017. 

8 We agree with Staff’s recommendation to mitigate this portion of the penalty. These are 

first-time violations that the Company has since corrected, and the original penalty 

amount is significant in proportion to the Company’s revenue. The Commission’s goal in 

any enforcement proceeding is to obtain compliance, not create an insurmountable 

financial burden for a small company. Accordingly, we reduce the penalty for this 

violation category by half, and assess a total penalty of $800 for 16 violations of 49 

C.F.R. Part 391.45(a). 

9 49 C.F.R. 391.51(a). The Penalty Assessment also includes a $100 penalty for one 

violation of 49 C.F.R. Part 391.51(a) because the Company failed to maintain a driver 

qualification file for its driver. The Company stated in its response that it implemented a 

new procedure to prevent future violations from occurring. 

10 Staff recommends no mitigation of this portion of the penalty. We agree. Although the 

Company promptly corrected the violation, the Commission assessed the minimum 

penalty for this violation. We thus conclude that no further penalty reduction is 

warranted. 

11 49 C.F.R. Part 395.8(a)(1). The Penalty Assessment also includes a $100 penalty for one 

violation of 49 C.F.R. 395.8(a)(1) because the Company failed to require its driver to 

make a record of duty status. The Company stated that it now records duty status on an 

appropriately-formatted timecard. 

12 Staff recommends no mitigation of this portion of the penalty. We agree with Staff’s 

recommendation. Because these were first-time violations, the Commission assessed a 
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penalty by type of violation rather than assessing a penalty for each occurrence. We 

conclude no further penalty reduction is warranted.  

13 49 C.F.R. Part 396.17(a). The Penalty Assessment also includes a $100 penalty for one 

violation of 49 C.F.R. Part 396.17(a) because the Company used a commercial motor 

vehicle not periodically inspected. The Company stated that its vehicle was inspected on 

September 18, 2018, and provided Staff with a copy of the annual vehicle inspection 

report. The Company further stated that it has implemented new procedures to prevent 

the violation from reoccurring. 

14 Staff recommends this portion of the penalty be reduced by half because the Company 

promptly corrected the violation and created new procedures to ensure future compliance. 

We conclude that Staff’s recommendation is reasonable in light of the circumstances, and 

assess a reduced penalty of $50.  

15 WAC 480-15-555. The Penalty Assessment includes a $300 penalty for three violations 

of WAC 480-15-555 for failing to obtain criminal background checks for three 

prospective employees. The Company stated that it was unaware of this requirement, and 

has since completed a background check for its only current employee, Leonard Andraca. 

The Company also stated that it has created new procedures to ensure compliance going 

forward. 

16 Staff recommends this portion of the penalty be reduced by half because Ibarra Moving 

took prompt corrective action, provided documentation that it completed a background 

check for Mr. Andraca, and implemented a policy to prevent future violations from 

occurring. We agree with Staff’s recommendation. The Company provided satisfactory 

documentation that it corrected the violations and implemented new procedures. 

Accordingly, we assess a reduced penalty of $150 for these violations. 

17 Penalty Suspension. The Commission considers several factors when determining 

whether to suspend a portion of a penalty, including whether it is a first-time penalty for 

the same or similar violations, and whether the company has taken specific actions to 

remedy the violations and avoid the same or similar violations in the future, such as 

purchasing new technology, making system changes, or training company personnel.6 

                                                 

6 Id. at ¶20. 
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Another factor we consider is whether the company agrees to a specific compliance plan 

that will guarantee future compliance in exchange for suspended penalties.7 

18 In this case, penalties were assessed for first time violations. In addition, the Company 

has taken action to prevent each of the violations from reoccurring. Suspending a portion 

of the penalty with the conditions proposed by Staff will both increase compliance and 

provide a strong incentive to avoid violations in the future. Accordingly, we suspend a 

$700 portion of the penalty for two years, and then waive it, subject to the following 

conditions: (1) The Company may not incur any repeat violations of critical regulations; 

and (2) the Company must pay the $500 portion of the penalty that is not suspended. 

Staff will conduct a follow-up safety investigation in two years to review the Company’s 

safety management practices. If the Company fails to comply with either of the 

conditions, the suspended penalty will become immediately due and payable without 

further Commission order. To reduce the financial impact of the penalty, the Company 

may work with Staff to establish mutually agreeable payment arrangements. 

 

FINDINGS AND CONCLUSIONS 

19 (1) The Commission is an agency of the State of Washington, vested by statute with 

authority to regulate rates, rules, regulations, and practices of public service 

companies, including household goods carriers, and has jurisdiction over the 

parties and subject matter of this proceeding. 

 

20 (2) Ibarra Moving is a household goods carrier subject to Commission regulation. 

 

21 (3) Ibarra Moving violated 49 C.F.R. Part 391.45(a) when it used a driver not 

medically examined and certified on 16 occasions.  

 

22 (4) The Commission should penalize Ibarra Moving $800 for 16 violations of 49 

C.F.R. Part 391.45(a).  

 

23 (5) Ibarra Moving violated 49 C.F.R. Part 391.51(a) when it failed to maintain a 

driver qualification file for its driver. 

 

                                                 

7 Id. 
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24 (6) The Commission should penalize Ibarra Moving $100 for one violation of 49 

C.F.R.  Part 391.51(a). 

 

25 (7) Ibarra Moving violated 49 C.F.R. Part 395.8(a) when it failed to require its driver 

to make a record of duty status. 

 

26 (8) The Commission should penalize Ibarra Moving $100 for 30 violations of 49 

C.F.R.  Part 395.8(a). 

 

27 (9) Ibarra Moving violated 49 C.F.R. Part 396.17(a) when it used a commercial motor  

  vehicle not periodically inspected. 

 

28 (10) The Commission should penalize Ibarra Moving $50 for one violation of 49    

  C.F.R.  Part 396.17(a). 

 

29 (11) Ibarra Moving violated WAC 480-15-555 when it failed to acquire criminal   

  background checks for three prospective employees.  

 

30 (12) The Commission should penalize Ibarra Moving $150 for three violations of    

  WAC 480-15-555. 

 

31 (13) The Commission should assess a total penalty of $1,200 for 51 critical violations  

  of WAC 480-15 and Title 49 C.F.R. 

 

32 (14) The Commission should suspend a $700 portion of the penalty for a period of  

  two years, and then waive it subject to the conditions set out in paragraph 18,  

  above. 

 

ORDER 

 

THE COMMISSION ORDERS:  

 

33 (1) Jose Ibarra Martinez d/b/a Ibarra Moving’s request for mitigation of the $2,200 

penalty is GRANTED, in part, and the penalty is reduced to $1,200.   

 

34 (2) The Commission suspends a $700 portion of the penalty for a period of two  

years, and then waives it, subject to the following conditions: (1) Jose Ibarra 
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Martinez d/b/a Ibarra Moving must either pay the $500 portion of the penalty that 

is not suspended or file jointly with Staff a proposed payment arrangement within 

10 days of the effective date of this Order; and (2) Jose Ibarra Martinez d/b/a 

Ibarra Moving may not incur any repeat violations of critical regulations. 

 

35 (3) Commission Staff will conduct a follow-up review of Jose Ibarra Martinez d/b/a  

  Ibarra Moving’s operations approximately two years after the effective date of  

  this Order. 

 

36 (4) If Jose Ibarra Martinez d/b/a Ibarra Moving fails to satisfy any of the conditions in 

paragraph 34 of this order, or fails to comply with the terms of the payment 

arrangement, if applicable, the entire unpaid portion of the $1,200 penalty will 

become immediately due and payable without further Commission order. 

 

37 The Secretary has been delegated authority to enter this order on behalf of the 

Commissioners under WAC 480-07-904(1)(h). 

 

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective December 5, 2018. 

 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

 

 

 

MARK L. JOHNSON 

      Executive Director and Secretary 

 

NOTICE TO PARTIES:  This is an order delegated to the Executive Secretary for 

decision. As authorized in WAC 480-07-904(3), you must file any request for 

Commission review of this order no later than 14 days after the date the decision is 

posted on the Commission’s website.  

 


