WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TN-170226
PENALTY AMOUNT: $1,100

Sound Generations
2208 Second Avenue
Seattle, WA 98121

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that you have
committed violations of Washington Administrative Code 480-31-100 Equipment — Safety, and
480-31-130 Operation of Motor Vehicles, which adopt Title 49 Code of Federal Regulations
(CFR) Parts 391, and 396.

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.405 allows penalties of one hundred dollars for each
violation. In the case of an ongoing violation, every day's continuance is considered a separate
and distinct violation.

In February 2017, Commission Motor Carrier Investigator Sandi Yeomans conducted a
compliance review of Sound Generations and documented the following critical violations:

e Ten violations of CFR Part 391.45(a) — Using a driver not medically examined and
certified. Sound Generations allowed two of its drivers, Nickolas Adams and Lorri
Engbaum to drive on 10 occasions during which time the drivers were not medically
examined and certified. Mr. Adams drove twice in April 2016 and Ms. Engbaum drove
six times in May and June 2016.

e Eight violations of CFR 396.17(a) — Using a commercial motor vehicle not
periodically inspected. Sound Generations operated eight commercial motor vehicles
which had not been periodically inspected.

The Commission considered the following factors in determining the appropriate penalties for
these violations:

1. How serious or harmful the violation is to the public. The violations noted are serious
and potentially harmful to the public. Transportation providers put the traveling public at
risk by using drivers not medically examined and certified and by using vehicles not
periodically inspected. An undetected medical condition or vehicle defect both present
serious safety concerns. '

2. Whether the violation is intentional. Considerations include:

o  Whether the company ignored Commission staff’s previous technical assistance;
and
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e  Whether there is clear evidence through documentation or other means that shows
the company knew of and failed to correct the violation.

Sound Generations began operations as Senior Services in 1967. In its April 2016
application for name change, Sound Generations vice-president Joanne Donahue
acknowledged the company’s responsibility to understand and comply with applicable
motor carrier safety rules. Prior to the name change, Commission staff most recently
provided technical assistance to the company in October 2004. The company knew, or
should have known about these requirements.

Whether the company self-reported the violation. The company did not self-report
these violations.

Whether the company was cooperative and responsive. Sound Generations cooperated
with the investigation and provided Staff with requested documentation.

Whether the company promptly corrected the violations and remedied the impacts.
The company demonstrated its interest in gaining compliance by correcting violations as
they were identified during the compliance review investigation.

The number of violations. For a company this size, the number of critical violations
noted is insignificant.

The number of customers affected. The company traveled 549,727 miles and reported
$14,000,000 in gross revenue for 2016. These safety violations likely affected a
significant number of customers as well as members of the traveling public.

The likelihood of recurrence. The Commission does not know if the company is likely
to repeat these violations, but the company is cooperative and has taken steps to correct
these violations and prevent future occurrences.

The company’s past performance regarding compliance, violations, and penalties.
This is the company’s first compliance review in many years. The company has no recent
history of previous violations or penalties.

The company’s existing compliance program. Sound Generations has no formal
compliance program.

The size of the company. Sound Generations is a large company, with 67 drivers and 47
commercial vehicles. In 2016 the company reported 549,727 miles traveled and
$14,000,000 in gross revenue.

These are first-time violations, but the Commission’s Enforcement Policy provides that some
Commission requirements are so fundamental to safe operations that the Commission will issue
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mandatory penalties for each occurrence of a first-time violation.! The Commission generally
will assess penalties per type of violation, rather than per occurrence, for other first-time
violations of critical regulations that do not meet the criteria for mandatory penalties. The
Commission will assess penalties for any repeat violations of critical regulations found in future
compliance investigations, including for each occurrence of a repeat violation.

The Commission has considered these factors and determined that it should penalize Sound
Generations $1,100 for violations of WAC 480-31-100 Equipment — Safety, and 480-31-130
Operation of Motor Vehicles, which adopt Title 49 CFR Parts 391 and 396, calculated as
follows:

¢ Ten violations of CFR Part 391.45(a) — Using a driver not medically examined and
certified. The Commission assesses a penalty of $100 for each occurrence of these

critical violations of requirements that are fundamental to safe operations, for a total of
$1,000.

e Eight violations of CFR 396.17(a) — Using a commercial motor vehicle not periodically
inspected. The Commission assesses a penalty of $100 for one critical violation of this
type, rather than assessing a penalty per occurrence.

This information, if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support the
penalty assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe any or all of the violations did not occur,
you may deny committing the violation(s) and contest the penalty assessment through evidence
presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing only if
material issues of law or fact concerning the violation(s) require consideration of evidence and
resolution in a hearing. Any contest of the penalty assessment must include a written statement
of the reasons supporting that contest. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of
the contest.

If there is a reason for any or all of the violations that you believe should excuse you from the
penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of this penalty through evidence presented at a
hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing only if material issues of
Jaw or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request for
mitigation must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to
provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See RCW 81.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the
Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation(s) or application
for mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The
administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of his or her decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

I Docket A-120061 — Enforcement Policy of the Washington Utilities & Transportation Commission —
Section V.
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e Pay the amount due.
e Contest the occurrence of the violations.
e Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and
Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within
FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may take additional enforcement action,
including but not necessarily limited to suspending or revoking your certificate to provide
regulated service, assessing additional penalties, or referring this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective May 15, 2017.

ﬁORY J. KOPTA

Administrative Law Judge
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT TN-170226

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the
matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. [ hereby make, under
oath, the following statements.

[ 1 1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violation occurred and enclose $
in payment of the penalty.

[ ] 2. Contest the violation. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur for the reasons I
describe below:

[ ] a) Iask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to
an administrative law judge for a decision
OR [ ] b) [Iask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide
above.
[ ] 3. Application for mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty should
be reduced for the reasons set out below:

[ ] a) Iask forahearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to
an administrative law judge for a decision
OR [ ] b) TIask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide
above.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: [month/day/year], at [city, state]
Name of Respondent (company) — please print Signature of Applicant
RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official
proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath
required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a
defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”



