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BEFORE THE WASHINGTON 

UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 
 

In the Matter of a Penalty Assessment 

Against  

 

EMPIRE DISPOSAL INC. 

 

in the amount of $5,300 

DOCKET TG-161282 

 

ORDER 01 

 

    ORDER GRANTING MITIGATION TO       

    $2,700 

 

 

BACKGROUND 

 

1 On December 23, 2016, the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission 

(Commission) assessed a $5,300 penalty (Penalty Assessment) against Empire Disposal 

Inc. (Empire or Company) for 53 critical violations of Washington Administrative Code 

(WAC) 480-30-221, which adopts by reference 49 C.F.R. Part 383 related to commercial 

driver’s license standards and Part 391 related to driver qualifications. 

 

2 On January 17, 2017, Empire filed a response to the Penalty Assessment admitting the 

violations and requesting a hearing. The Company did not provide any written 

explanation or documentation to support its request. 

 

3 On January 20, 2017, the Commission issued a Notice Denying Request for Hearing and 

Notice of Opportunity to file a Written Response (Notice). The Notice allowed the 

Company to provide a written response to explain how the violations occurred and why it 

believes the penalty should be reduced. 

 

4 On January 27, 2017, Empire filed a written response to the Notice, admitting the 

violations related to commercial driver’s license standards, disputing the violations 

related to driver qualifications, and requesting mitigation of the penalty based on the 

information provided. Specifically, the Company admits that its employee drove without 

a valid Commercial Driver’s License (CDL), but denies that its driver qualification files 

were incomplete. 

 

5 On February 3, 2017, Commission staff (Staff) filed a response recommending the 

Commission grant the Company’s request for mitigation, in part. The Penalty Assessment 

includes a $5,200 penalty for 52 violations of 49 C.F.R. Part 383.37(b) and a $100 
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penalty for one violation of 49 C.F.R. Part 391.51(b)(2). Because these are first-time 

violations and the Company promptly corrected them, Staff recommends the Commission 

reduce the assessed penalty from $5,300 to $2,700. 

 

DISCUSSION AND DECISION 

 

6 Washington law requires solid waste collection carriers to comply with federal safety 

requirements and undergo routine safety inspections. In some cases, Commission 

requirements are so fundamental to safe operations that the Commission will issue 

penalties for first-time violations.1 Violations defined by federal law as “critical,” which 

are indicative of a breakdown in a carrier’s management controls, meet this standard.2  

Critical violations discovered during safety inspections are subject to penalties of $100 

per violation.3  

 

7 The Commission considers several factors when entertaining a request for mitigation, 

including whether the company introduces new information that may not have been 

considered in setting the assessed penalty amount, or explains other circumstances that 

convince the Commission that a lesser penalty will be equally or more effective in 

ensuring the company’s compliance.4 We address each violation category in turn. 

 

8 WAC 480-30-221, 49 C.F.R. Part 383.37(b). The Penalty Assessment includes a $5,200 

penalty for 52 violations of 49 C.F.R. Part 383.37(b) because Company employee Melroy 

Manner drove on 52 occasions with an expired CDL. In its response, Empire explained 

that Mr. Manner did not notify the Company when his CDL expired on August 16, 2016. 

On September 6, 2016, Empire obtained a driving record for Mr. Manner, but failed to 

notice his CDL status and continued to allow him to drive. Empire accepts responsibility 

for the violations that occurred after Mr. Manner’s driving record was obtained on 

September 6. 

 

                                                 
1 Docket A-120061, Enforcement Policy for the Washington Utilities and Transportation 

Commission ¶12 (Jan. 7, 2013) (Enforcement Policy). 

2 49 C.F.R. § 385, Appendix B. 

3 See RCW 81.04.405. 

 

4 Enforcement Policy ¶19. 
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9 Because these are first-time violations, Staff recommends the Commission reduce the 

penalty by half, to $2,600. We agree with Staff’s recommendation and assess a reduced 

penalty, but reject the Company’s claim that it is not responsible for the violations that 

occurred prior to September 6, 2016. Empire, not its employees, is ultimately responsible 

for ensuring each of the Company’s drivers has a valid CDL. We nevertheless find that 

mitigation of this portion of the penalty is appropriate because Empire promptly corrected 

the violations by reassigning Mr. Manner to non-driving duties as soon as it became 

aware of his CDL status.  

 

10 WAC 480-30-221, 49 C.F.R. Part 391.51(b)(2). The Penalty Assessment also includes a 

$100 penalty for four violations of 49 C.F.R. Part 391.51(b)(7) because Empire failed to 

maintain driving record inquiries in the driver qualification files for employees John Hall, 

Brian Johnson, Troy Scott, and Daniel Young. In its response, the Company disputes that 

these violations occurred and explains that it did not provide the driving record inquiries 

during the compliance review because Staff did not specifically request them. The 

Company claims that these documents are maintained online only. 

 

11 In its response, Staff explains that it reviewed complete electronic files for each of the 

four drivers, and none contained driving record inquiries as required. Staff recommends 

no mitigation of this portion of the penalty because the Penalty Assessment assessed a 

reduced penalty of $100 for four violations.  

 

12 As a preliminary matter, we deny the Company’s contest of the violations. Staff indicates 

in its response that it conducted a full review of each employee’s electronic file, not just 

their paper personnel files, as the Company claims. We find Staff’s response credible, 

and conclude that Empire violated 49 C.F.R. Part 391.51(b)(2).  

 

13 We also find that no further penalty reduction is warranted. The Commission could have 

assessed a $400 penalty, but, because these are first-time violations, assessed a “per 

category” rather than “per violation” penalty. Accordingly, we decline to mitigate this 

portion of the penalty. 

  

FINDINGS AND CONCLUSIONS 

14 (1) The Commission is an agency of the State of Washington, vested by statute with 

authority to regulate rates, rules, regulations, and practices of public service 
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companies, including solid waste collection carriers, and has jurisdiction over the 

parties and subject matter of this proceeding. 

 

15 (2) Empire is a solid waste collection carrier subject to Commission regulation. 

 

16 (3) Empire violated WAC 480-30-221, which adopts by reference 49 C.F.R. 

383.37(b), when its employee drove on 52 occasions with an invalid CDL.  

 

17 (4) The Commission should penalize Empire $2,600 for 52 violations of WAC 480-

30-221, which adopts by reference 49 C.F.R. 383.37(b). 

 

18 (5) Empire violated WAC 480-30-221, which adopts by reference 49 C.F.R. Part 

391.51(b)(2), when it failed to maintain driving record inquiries in driver 

qualification files for four employees. 

 

19 (6) The Commission should penalize Empire $100 for four violations of WAC 480-

30-221, which adopts by reference 49 C.F.R. Part 391.51(b)(2). 

 

ORDER 

 

THE COMMISSION ORDERS:  

 

20 (1) Empire Disposal Inc.’s request for mitigation of the $5,300 penalty is 

GRANTED, in part, and the penalty is reduced to $2,700.  

 

21 (2) Empire Disposal Inc. must pay the $2,700 penalty no later than February 24,  

  2017. 

 

22 The Secretary has been delegated authority to enter this order on behalf of the 

Commissioners under WAC 480-07-904(1)(h). 

 

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective February 10, 2017. 

 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 
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STEVEN V. KING 

      Executive Director and Secretary 

 

NOTICE TO PARTIES: This is an order delegated to the Executive Secretary for 

decision. As authorized in WAC 480-07-904(3), you must file any request for 

Commission review of this order no later than 14 days after the date the decision is 

posted on the Commission’s website.  

 


