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BEFORE THE WASHINGTON 

UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

 

In the Matter of a Penalty Assessment 

Against  

 

BENS MOVING & DELIVERY 

SERVICES, INC. 

 

in the amount of $1,000 
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ORDER 01 

 

ORDER GRANTING  

MITIGATION TO $200 SUBJECT 

TO CONDITION 

 

 

BACKGROUND 

 

1 Washington law requires household goods carriers to file annual reports and pay 

regulatory fees by May 1 of each year.  WAC 480-15-480.  On February 28, 2014, the 

Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) mailed annual 

report and regulatory fee packets to all household goods carriers.  The forms included 

a reminder that companies must file their annual reports and pay their regulatory fees 

by May 1, 2014, or face penalties of $100 for each violation of Commission rules.  In 

the case of continuing violations, each day’s continuance is a separate violation.  

RCW 80.04.405. 

 

2 Bens Moving did not file its annual report on May 1, 2014, and had not made that 

filing by May 15.  On June 4, the Commission assessed a penalty of $1,000 against 

Bens Moving, calculated as $100 per business day from May 1 to May 15. 

 

3 On June 12, 2014, Bens Moving responded to the Commission’s penalty assessment 

contesting the violations and requesting a hearing.  The Company failed, however, to 

include a written explanation for its request, as required.  On July 7, the Commission 

issued a notice denying the Company’s request for a hearing and providing an 

opportunity for the Company to submit a written statement supporting its request for 

mitigation.  

 

4 On July 14, 2014, Bens Moving filed a letter explaining the circumstances that led to 

the violations.  The Company stated that its owner lost his home to foreclosure in 

February 2014, and was unable to secure permanent housing until June.  The 
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Company also stated it has not done any business since obtaining its permit in 

September 2013 because it was blocked from advertising on Craigslist until April 

2014, and its ads have since been flagged by competitors and removed from the 

website.  

 

5 On July 28, 2014, Commission Staff (Staff) filed a response recommending the 

Commission reduce the penalty to $200 due to the Company’s compelling 

circumstances.  Staff noted, however, that the Company has not yet filed its annual 

report, and therefore conditioned its recommendation on the Company making the 

required filing within 10 days of the date of this order. 

 

DISCUSSION 

 

6 WAC 480-15-480 requires permitted household goods carriers to file annual reports 

and pay regulatory fees by May 1 of each year.  Companies are responsible for 

complying with their legal obligations, and the Company should have ensured its 

annual report was timely filed; the Company was not relieved of that obligation 

simply because it collected no intrastate revenue.   

 

7 The Commission nevertheless agrees with Staff’s recommendation.  The Commission 

may consider a number of factors when entertaining a request for mitigation, 

including a company’s history of compliance, a company’s annual intrastate revenue, 

and the likelihood the violation will recur.1  Bens Moving has been regulated since 

September 5, 2013; the Commission has consistently mitigated penalties for 

companies in their first year of operation.  The Commission has also consistently 

denied mitigation to companies that have not yet filed their annual reports by the date 

the Commission issues a decision.  We are willing to make an exception in this case 

because the Company’s owner presented compelling information related to serious, 

personal financial hardship.  The exception is, however, subject to the condition 

proposed by Staff; the Company must file its annual report no later than 10 days from 

the date of this order, or the entire $1,000 penalty will be due and payable without 

further notice. 

 

                                                 
1 Docket A-120061, Enforcement Policy for the Washington Utilities and Transportation 

Commission (January 7, 2013). 
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ORDER 

 

THE COMMISSION ORDERS:  

 

8 (1) The request of Bens Moving & Delivery Services, Inc. for mitigation of the 

$1,000 penalty is GRANTED in part, and the penalty is reduced to $200 

subject to the condition that the Company file its completed annual report no 

later than August 11, 2014.   

 

9 (2)  If the Company fails to file its annual report by August 12, 2014, the entire 

$1,000 penalty is due and payable on August 13.   

 

10 (3) If the Company files its annual report by August 12, 2014, the $200 penalty is 

due and payable no later than August 15, 2014. 

 

11 The Secretary has been delegated authority to enter this order on behalf of the 

Commissioners under WAC 480-07-904(1)(h). 

 

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective August 1, 2014. 

 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

 

 

 

STEVEN V. KING 

      Executive Director and Secretary 

 

 

NOTICE TO PARTIES:  This is an order delegated to the Executive Secretary 

for decision.  As authorized in WAC 480-07-904(3), you must file any request for 

Commission review of this order no later than 14 days after the date the decision 

is posted on the Commission’s website.  The Commission will grant a late-filed 

request for review only on a showing of good cause, including a satisfactory 

explanation of why the person did not timely file the request.  A form for late-

filed requests is available on the Commission’s website. 


