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RE:  MANDATORY APPEARANCE BEFORE ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE 

 Unlawful Activity as a Solid Waste Carrier in Violation of RCW 81.77.040 

Docket TG-190488 

 

Dear Sean Smith: 

 

It has come to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission’s (Commission) 

attention that you continue to engage in business as a solid waste collection carrier without 

applying for or receiving a certificate from the Commission. Revised Code of Washington 

(RCW) 81.77.040 states that “a solid waste collection company shall not operate for the hauling 

of solid waste for compensation without first having obtained from the commission a certificate 

declaring that public convenience and necessity require such operation.” 

 

The Commission is initiating an enforcement action against you and your company. This letter 

and its attachments are the Commission’s formal demand that you cease operating until you 

obtain the required certificate for the transportation of solid waste. Until you obtain that 

certificate, you must also stop all advertising of your company’s solid waste service. Failure to 

do so may result in a serious financial penalty. 

 

Please be aware that operating as a solid waste company without the required certificate is illegal 

and subject to a penalty of up to $1,000 per violation. The penalty for advertising for solid waste 

services without a certificate is also up to $1,000 per advertisement. 

 

As the attached documents explain, you are now REQUIRED TO APPEAR in Lacey before 

one of the Commission’s Administrative Law Judges on November 26, 2019, at 9 a.m. The 

basis for the Commission’s enforcement action is explained in the attached Order and the 

supporting Declaration of Kathryn McPherson. The subpoena details the requirement for you to 

appear at the preliminary hearing about your unauthorized business.  

 

At your hearing, the judge will explain the laws and rules governing the solid waste carrier 

industry and explain your rights under the Commission’s enforcement process. When you appear 

before the judge, you should be prepared to take one of the following actions: 

 



 

 

Option A- Cease Operating as a Solid Waste Collection Carrier 

The Administrative Law Judge will allow you to testify, under oath, that you have  

shut down your business. You should be prepared to explain specific actions you  

have taken to dissolve your company and to discontinue any advertising you may 

have previously arranged (websites, phone books, newspapers, etc.). This does not stop 

you from applying for a solid waste carrier certificate. It simply means that you will cease 

illegal operations until you do so. Should you choose to apply for a certificate in advance 

of the hearing and the Commission deems you eligible to receive a temporary certificate, 

you may present that information at the hearing. 

 

Option B- Contest the Applicability of RCW 81.70.260 to Your Company 

 

The Administrative Law Judge will schedule a formal evidentiary hearing. At that  

time, you will be required to present proof that your business is not within the  

regulatory jurisdiction of the Commission. If you win your case, the judge will 

dismiss the Commission’s complaint against you. If you lose your case, you will  

need to proceed under Option A or risk further enforcement action by the  

Commission.  

 

As you prepare for your preliminary hearing, you may find the Commission’s informational 

handouts included in this packet to be helpful. You might also wish to review the laws and 

related rules governing your business. These include: 

 

 RCW Chapter 81.77 

 Washington Administrative Code (WAC) Chapter 480-70 

 

These legal resources and other helpful items can be found on the Commission’s website: 

www.utc.wa.gov. If you have any questions about the certificate application, the Commission’s 

Licensing Services staff is available at (360) 664-1222. 

 

If you have any questions about your obligations under the law and your mandatory appearance, 

Kathryn McPherson, Compliance Investigator, is available at (360) 664-1108 or 

Kathryn.McPherson@utc.wa.gov. 

 

 

Thank you for your cooperation. 

 

Sincerely,  

 

 

 

Mark L. Johnson 

Executive Director and Secretary 

Attachments: 

1) Order 01- Order Instituting Special Proceeding; Complaint Seeking to Impose Penalties; 

http://www.utc.wa.gov/
mailto:Kathryn.McPherson@utc.wa.gov


 

 

Notice of Mandatory Appearance at Hearing (set for November 26, 2019) 

2) Subpoena 

3) Declaration of Kathryn McPherson 

4) Application Packet for Solid Waste certificate 

5) UTC Informational Handouts 

a.    Motor Carrier Overview 

b.    Transportation Fact Sheet 

c.    Motor Carrier Insurance Requirements   

 

 

 

 

  


