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BACKGROUND 

1 On June 18, 2019, the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission 

(Commission) issued Penalty Assessment DG-190369 against Behnke Construction 

(Behnke or Company) in the amount of $1,000, alleging one violation of 

RCW 19.122.030(2) for failing to provide the required notice to facility operators through 

a one-number locator service before excavating on December 5, 2018. 

2 On July 12, 2019, Behnke filed a letter with the Commission contesting the violation, 

claiming that the Commission was confusing Behnke with another company called 

“Behnke and Sons.” However, Behnke next states in its letter that the gas line had been 

improperly installed and if it had been installed correctly, Behnke would not have hit the 

gas line. Benhke claimed to have many pictures showing that the gas line was improperly 

installed, but attached no pictures with its letter. The letter makes no request for a hearing 

and no request for mitigation. 

3 On July 29, 2019, Commission staff (Staff) filed a response recommending the 

Commission deny the Company’s contest of the violation. Staff explained that part of its 

investigation included a review of a reports submitted by Puget Sound Energy (PSE), 

another from PSE’s Gas First Response team, and a third from PSE’s contract locator. All 

reports identified Behnke Construction as the party responsible for the damage on 

December 5, 2018. Staff recommends that the Commission not schedule a hearing 

because the Company presented no new evidence. In its response, Staff notes that even if 

the line were improperly installed, Washington law, which “authorizes a civil penalty for 
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failing to notify the one-number locator service if damages occur, requires only that an 

underground natural gas facility is damaged without providing the proper notice to the 

one-call service to be considered a violation.” 

DISCUSSION AND DECISION 

4 RCW 19.122.030(2) requires excavators to provide notice “to a one-number locator 

service not less than two business days and not more than ten business days before the 

scheduled date for commencement of excavation, unless otherwise agreed by the 

excavator and facility operators.” Further, an excavator is prohibited from excavating 

“until all known facility operators have marked or provided information regarding 

underground facilities.”1 Excavators who violate these provisions are subject to penalties 

of up to $10,000 per violation.2 

5 As a preliminary matter, we determine that no hearing is justified in this matter. While 

the Penalty Assessment explained that the Company could request a hearing to contest 

the violation, the Company did not request a hearing. The Penalty Assessment advised 

the Company that a request for hearing will only be granted if material issues of law or 

fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in hearing. Here, no issues of law or 

fact are in dispute. The Company tacitly admits that it hit the gas line in question, 

defending itself only by asserting without supporting documentation that the gas line was 

improperly installed. The Company offers no new facts to suggest that it had a valid dig 

ticket covering its excavation. The facts, therefore, are undisputed, and the law is clear.  

6 The Commission also denies the Company’s contest of the violation. The undisputed 

facts demonstrate that the Company struck a natural gas line on December 5, 2018, when 

it did not have a valid dig ticket. The Company has thus violated the law. 

7 We will, however, construe the Company’s submission as a request for mitigation. The 

Commission considers several factors when entertaining a request for mitigation, 

including whether the company introduces new information that may not have been 

considered in setting the assessed penalty amount, or explains other circumstances that 

                                                 
1 RCW 19.122.030(5). 

2 RCW 19.122.055(1)(a). 
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convince the Commission that a lesser penalty will be equally or more effective in 

ensuring the company’s compliance.3 

8 Here, the Company did not introduce any new information that would warrant mitigation 

of the penalty. Companies that dig without giving proper notice and without a valid dig 

ticket put their employees, the public, and the facility operator’s employees at risk. The 

damage incident at issue could have resulted in a fire or an explosion. It is the Company’s 

responsibility to provide adequate notice and secure a valid dig ticket covering the area 

prior to performing any excavation. Accordingly, we find that the Commission properly 

penalized Behnke for damaging a gas pipeline, and conclude that the Company’s request 

for mitigation should be denied. 

ORDER 

THE COMMISSION ORDERS:  

9 (1) Behnke Construction’s contest of the violation is DENIED.  

10 (2) Behnke Construction’s request for mitigation is DENIED. 

11 (3) Behnke Construction is assessed a penalty of $1,000. Behnke Construction must 

either pay the $1,000 penalty or file jointly with Commission staff a proposed 

payment arrangement by September 2, 2019. 

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective August 19, 2019. 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

 

 

MARK L. JOHNSON 

Executive Director and Secretary 

NOTICE TO PARTIES: This is an order delegated to the Executive Secretary for 

decision. As authorized in WAC 480-07-904, you must file any request for 

                                                 
3 Docket A-120061, Enforcement Policy for the Washington Utilities and Transportation 

Commission (January 7, 2013) at ¶19. 
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Commission review of this order no later than 14 days after the date the decision is 

posted on the Commission’s website.  


