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GRANTING MITIGATION TO $8,200; 

IMPOSING AND SUSPENDING PENALTY 

 

BACKGROUND 

 

1 On May 16, 2019, the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission 

(Commission) assessed a $16,200 penalty (Penalty Assessment) against Merchants Parcel 

Delivery, Inc., d/b/a Merchants Moving & Storage Co. (Merchants Moving or Company) 

for 16 violations of Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-15-555, and 147 

violations of WAC 480-15-570, which adopts by reference sections of Title 49 Code of 

Federal Regulations (C.F.R.).1 The Penalty Assessment includes: 

 

 a $1,600 penalty for 16 violations of WAC 480-15-555 for failing to 

complete criminal background checks for each of the Company’s 16 

employees;  

 a $14,400 penalty for 144 violations of 49 C.F.R. § 391.45(a) for using a 

driver not medically examined and certified on 144 occasions;  

 a $100 penalty for one violation of 49 C.F.R. § 390.35 for making or 

causing to make a fraudulent or intentionally false record entry; and 

 a $100 penalty for two violations of 49 C.F.R. § 391.51(a) for failing to 

maintain driver qualification files for two of the Company’s drivers.  

 

2 On May 31, 2019, the Company responded to the Penalty Assessment, admitting the 

violations and requesting mitigation of the penalty based on the written information 

provided. The Company described the corrective actions it took to remedy each violation, 

                                                 
1 WAC 480-15-570 adopts by reference sections of Title 49 C.F.R. Accordingly, Commission 

safety regulations with parallel federal rules are hereinafter referenced only by the applicable 

provision of Title 49 C.F.R. 
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provided supporting documentation, and explained why each violation occurred. 

 

3 On June 7, 2019, Commission staff (Staff) filed a response recommending the 

Commission grant the Company’s request for mitigation, in part. Staff recommends the 

Commission mitigate the penalties assessed for violations of WAC 480-15-555 and 49 

C.F.R. § 391.45(a) and assess a total reduced penalty of $8,200. Staff further 

recommends that $5,000 of the reduced penalty be suspended for a period of two years, 

and then waived, subject to the following conditions: (1) Staff conducts a follow-up 

focused safety investigation in two years or as soon thereafter as practicable to review the 

Company’s driver qualifications and employee criminal background checks; (2) the 

Company does not incur any repeat violations of critical or acute regulations; and (3) the 

Company pays the $3,200 portion of the penalty that is not suspended.  

 

DISCUSSION AND DECISION 

4 Washington law requires household goods carriers to comply with federal safety 

requirements and undergo routine safety inspections. Violations discovered during safety 

inspections are subject to penalties of $100 per violation.2 In some cases, Commission 

requirements are so fundamental to safe operations that the Commission will issue 

penalties for first-time violations.3 Violations defined by federal law as “critical” or 

“acute” meet this standard.4  

5 The Commission considers several factors when entertaining a request for mitigation, 

including whether the company introduces new information that may not have been 

considered in setting the assessed penalty amount, or explains other circumstances that 

convince the Commission that a lesser penalty will be equally or more effective in 

ensuring the company’s compliance.5 We address each violation category below. 

6 WAC 480-15-555 and 49 C.F.R. § 391.45(a). The Penalty Assessment includes a $1,600 

penalty for 16 violations of WAC 480-15-555 because the Company failed to acquire 

criminal background checks for any of its 16 employees. The Company stated that it has 

implemented new procedures for completing criminal background checks for all 

                                                 

2 See RCW 81.04.405. 

3 Docket A-120061, Enforcement Policy for the Washington Utilities and Transportation 

Commission ¶12, 15 (Jan. 7, 2013) (Enforcement Policy). 

4 49 C.F.R. § 385, Appendix B. 

5 Enforcement Policy ¶19. 
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prospective employees on a going-forward basis and provided an example of a completed 

criminal background check. 

7 The Penalty Assessment also includes a $14,400 penalty for 144 violations of 49 C.F.R. § 

391.45(a) because the Company used three drivers who were not medically examined and 

certified on 144 occasions. Upon receiving notice of this violation, the drivers completed 

their medical examinations and the Company provided to Staff a copy of one employee’s 

medical certificate. 

8 Staff recommends that the Commission reduce the penalty for these violation categories 

by half, from $16,000 to $8,000, because the Company took prompt corrective and 

preventative actions. Staff also notes that these are first-time violations. 

9 We agree with Staff’s recommendation to mitigate this portion of the penalty. These are 

first-time violations that the Company has since corrected, and the Company provided 

documentary evidence that it has changed its practices going forward. Accordingly, we 

reduce the penalty for these violation categories by half, and assess a total penalty of 

$8,000 for 16 violations of WAC 480-15-555 and 144 violations of 49 C.F.R. § 

391.45(a). 

10 49 C.F.R. § 390.35. The Penalty Assessment also includes a $100 penalty for one 

violation of 49 C.F.R. § 390.35 because a Company representative signed a document 

attesting that an annual review and evaluation of its driver was complete prior to 

receiving that employee’s annual motor vehicle report. 

11 Staff recommends no mitigation of this portion of the penalty because the violation is 

classified as “acute,” and could have resulted in the Company allowing a disqualified 

driver to operate a commercial motor vehicle. We agree with Staff’s recommendation. 

Although the Company claims the violation was inadvertent, the seriousness of the 

potential consequences weigh against mitigation. Accordingly, we uphold the $100 

penalty assessed for this violation.  

12 49 C.F.R. § 391.51(a). The Penalty Assessment also includes a $100 penalty for two 

violations of 49 C.F.R. § 391.51(a) because the Company failed to maintain driver 

qualification files for two of its drivers. The Company states that it has now compiled 

driver qualification files that include all of the necessary records. The Company 

explained that it mistakenly believed it was not required to maintain driver qualification 

files for its drivers who do not have commercial driver’s licenses. 

13 Staff recommends no mitigation of this portion of the penalty. We agree. While the 

Company promptly corrected this first-time violation, the Commission assessed the 
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minimum penalty. The Commission could have assessed a penalty of $100 per violation, 

for a total of $200. Instead, the Commission exercised its discretion to assess a “per 

category” rather than a “per violation” penalty. Accordingly, we conclude no further 

penalty reduction is warranted. 

14 Penalty Suspension. The Commission considers several factors when determining 

whether to suspend a portion of a penalty, including whether it is the company’s first 

penalty for the same or similar violations, and whether the company has taken specific 

actions to remedy the violations and avoid the same or similar violations in the future, 

such as purchasing new technology, making system changes, or training company 

personnel.6 Another factor we consider is whether the company agrees to a specific 

compliance plan that will guarantee future compliance in exchange for suspended 

penalties.7 

15 In this case, penalties were assessed for first time violations. In addition, the Company 

has taken action to prevent each of the violations from reoccurring. Suspending a portion 

of the penalty with the conditions proposed by Staff will both increase compliance and 

provide a strong incentive to avoid violations in the future. Accordingly, we suspend a 

$5,000 portion of the penalty for two years, and then waive it, subject to the following 

conditions: (1) Staff will conduct a follow-up focused safety investigation in two years or 

as soon thereafter as practicable to review the Company’s driver qualifications and 

employee criminal background checks; (2) the Company may not incur any repeat 

violations of acute or critical regulations; and (3) the Company must pay the $3,200 

portion of the penalty that is not suspended. If the Company fails to comply with these 

conditions, the suspended penalty will become immediately due and payable without 

further Commission order. 

 

FINDINGS AND CONCLUSIONS 

16 (1) The Commission is an agency of the State of Washington, vested by statute with 

authority to regulate rates, rules, regulations, and practices of public service 

companies, including household goods carriers, and has jurisdiction over the 

parties and subject matter of this proceeding. 

 

                                                 

6 Id. at ¶20. 

7 Id. 
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17 (2) Merchants Moving is a household goods carrier subject to Commission 

regulation. 

 

18 (3) Merchants Moving violated WAC 480-15-555 when it failed to acquire criminal  

 background checks for each of its 16 employees. 

 

19 (4) The Commission should penalize Merchants Moving $800 for 16 violations of 

WAC 480-15-555. 

 

20 (5) Merchants Moving violated 49 C.F.R. § 391.45(a) when it used drivers who were 

not medically examined and certified.  

 

21 (6) The Commission should penalize Merchants Moving $7,200 for 144 violations of 

49 C.F.R. § 391.45(a).  

 

22 (7) Merchants Moving violated 49 C.F.R. § 390.35 when it made or caused to make a 

fraudulent or intentionally false record entry. 

 

23 (8) The Commission should penalize Merchants Moving $100 for one violation of 49 

C.F.R. § 390.35.  

 

24 (9) Merchants Moving violated 49 C.F.R. § 391.51(a) when it failed to maintain  

  driver qualification files for two of its drivers. 

 

25 (10) The Commission should penalize Merchants Moving $100 for two violations of  

  49 C.F.R. § 391.51(a). 

 

26 (11) The Commission should assess a total penalty of $8,200 for 163 violations  

  of WAC 480-15 and Title 49 C.F.R. 

 

27 (12) The Commission should suspend a $5,000 portion of the penalty for a period of  

  two years, and then waive it, subject to the conditions set out in paragraph 15,  

  above. 
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ORDER 

THE COMMISSION ORDERS:  

28 (1) Merchants Parcel Delivery, Inc., d/b/a Merchants Moving & Storage Co.’s request 

for mitigation of the $16,200 penalty is GRANTED, in part, and the penalty is 

reduced to $8,200.  

 

29 (2) The Commission suspends a $5,000 portion of the penalty for a period of two  

  years, and then waives it, subject to the following conditions: (1) Staff will  

  conduct a follow-up focused safety investigation in two years or as soon thereafter   

  as practicable to review Merchants Parcel Delivery, Inc., d/b/a Merchants Moving  

  & Storage Co.’s driver qualifications and employee criminal background checks;  

  (2) Merchants Parcel Delivery, Inc., d/b/a Merchants Moving & Storage Co. may  

  not incur any repeat violations of acute or critical regulations; and (3) Merchants  

  Parcel Delivery, Inc., d/b/a Merchants Moving & Storage Co.’s must pay the  

  $3,200 portion of the penalty that is not suspended within 10 days of the effective  

  date of this Order. 

 

30 (3) If Merchants Parcel Delivery, Inc., d/b/a Merchants Moving & Storage Co. fails  

  to satisfy any of the conditions in paragraph 29 of this Order, or fails to comply  

  with the terms of any payment arrangement, if applicable, the entire unpaid  

  portion of the $8,200 penalty will become immediately due and payable without  

  further Commission order. 

 

31 The Secretary has been delegated authority to enter this order on behalf of the 

Commissioners under WAC 480-07-904(1)(h). 

 

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective June 12, 2019. 

 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

 

 

 

MARK L. JOHNSON 

      Executive Director and Secretary 

 

NOTICE TO PARTIES:  This is an order delegated to the Executive Secretary for 

decision. As authorized in WAC 480-07-904(3), you must file any request for 
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Commission review of this order no later than 14 days after the date the decision is 

posted on the Commission’s website.  


