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BEFORE THE WASHINGTON 

UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

 

In the Matter of a Penalty Assessment 

Against  

BLESSED LIMOUSINE, INC. 

in the amount of $2,200 

DOCKET TE-190072 

ORDER 01 

DENYING MITIGATION;  

IMPOSING AND SUSPENDING 

PENALTY 

BACKGROUND 

1 On February 19, 2019, the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission 

(Commission) assessed a $2,200 penalty (Penalty Assessment) against Blessed 

Limousine, Inc. (Blessed Limo or Company) for 127 violations of Washington 

Administrative Code (WAC) 480-30-221, which adopts by reference sections of Title 

49 Code of Federal Regulations (C.F.R.).1 The Penalty Assessment includes: 

 a $1,500 penalty for one violation of 49 C.F.R. Part 382.115(a) for failing 

to implement an alcohol and/or controlled substances testing program on 

the date it began commercial motor vehicle operations;  

 a $100 penalty for one violation of 49 C.F.R. Part 393.51 for having a 

commercial motor vehicle with an inoperable air pressure gauge, a brake 

warning device;  

 a $300 penalty for three violations of 49 C.F.R. Part 393.62(a) for having 

a commercial motor vehicle with defective emergency exits: windows that 

either do no open or do not close;  

 a $100 penalty for one violation of 49 C.F.R. Part 393.83(d) for having a 

commercial motor vehicle with an improper exhaust pipe. 

                                                 
1 WAC 480-30-221 adopts by reference sections of Title 49 C.F.R. Accordingly, Commission 

safety regulations with parallel federal rules are hereinafter referenced only by the applicable 

provision of Title 49 C.F.R. 
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 a $100 penalty for one violation of 49 C.F.R. Part 393.205(c) for having a 

commercial motor vehicle with loose or missing wheel fasteners; and, 

 a $100 penalty for 120 violations of 49 C.F.R. Part 395.8(a) for failing to 

require its drivers to make records of duty status. 

The Penalty Assessment also explains that the Company must act within 15 days after 

receiving and choose to either pay the amount due, contest the occurrence of the 

violations, or request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty. If the Company 

chooses not to take any of the actions, the Penalty Assessment explained that the 

Company may be subject to additional enforcement action. 

2 On April 23, 2019, Blessed Limo responded to the Penalty Assessment admitting the 

violations and requesting mitigation of the penalty based on the written information 

provided. In its response, the Company stated that it has made improvements and created 

new infrastructure to prevent future violations. It did not specifically address any of the 

violations. The Company noted that it is a small business, and that it would be difficult 

for it to pay the penalty amount in full. The Company did not provide any additional 

details or supporting documentation. 

3 On April 30, 2019, the Company submitted to Commission staff (Staff) a corrective 

action safety plan in which the Company acknowledged some of the violations identified 

in the Penalty Assessment and also described the steps it had taken to correct those 

violations. 

4 On May 2, 2019, Staff filed a response recommending the Commission affirm the $2,200 

penalty amount but suspend a $1,100 portion of that penalty for a period of two years, 

and then waive it, subject to the conditions that (1) Staff will conduct a follow-up 

investigation within two years, or as soon thereafter as practicable, (2) the Company must 

not incur any repeat acute or critical violations during those two years, and (3) the 

Company must pay the $1,100 portion of the penalty that is not suspended. Staff 

explained that it believed no mitigation was appropriate in this case because of the 

severity of the violations, the Company’s late response to the Penalty Assessment, and 

the Company’s failure to address a majority of the violations identified in the Penalty 

Assessment. Staff also explained, however, that it believed suspension was appropriate, 

in part, because the Company provided a corrective action safety plan that addressed 

some of the violations in the Penalty Assessment, and because Blessed Limo is a small 

company with six commercial motor vehicles, six drivers, and a reported gross revenue in 

2017 of $217,000. 
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DISCUSSION AND DECISION 

5 Washington law requires charter and excursion carriers to comply with federal safety 

requirements and undergo routine safety inspections. In some cases, Commission 

requirements are so fundamental to safe operations that the Commission will issue 

penalties for first-time violations. Violations defined by federal law as “acute” or 

“critical” meet this standard. 

6 Violations are considered “acute” when non-compliance is so severe that immediate 

corrective action is required regardless of the overall safety posture of the company. 

Violations classified as “critical” are indicative of a breakdown in a carrier’s management 

controls.  

7 The Commission will, however, consider several factors when entertaining a request for 

mitigation, including whether the company introduces new information that may not have 

been considered in setting the assessed penalty amount, or explains other circumstances 

that convince the Commission that a lesser penalty will be equally or more effective in 

ensuring the company’s compliance. The Commission also considers whether the 

violations were promptly corrected, a company’s history of compliance, and the 

likelihood the violation will recur. We address each violation category below. 

8 49 C.F.R. Part 382.115(a). The Penalty Assessment assessed a $1,500 penalty for one 

violation of 49 C.F.R. Part 382.115(a) because the Company failed to implement a 

controlled substance and alcohol testing program on the date it began commercial motor 

vehicle operations. RCW 81.04.530 allows a penalty of up to $1,500 for this violation. 

9 Staff recommends the Commission affirm the $1,500 penalty because this violation is 

acute, and “[n]on-compliance with acute regulations are quantitatively linked to 

inadequate safety management controls and usually higher than average accident rates.”2 

We agree with Staff’s recommendation. The Company did not address why it failed to 

implement a controlled substance and alcohol testing program prior to commencing 

commercial motor vehicle operations. This violation is serious because it could result in 

permitting drivers with positive drug test results to operate commercial motor vehicles, 

which poses a danger to any passengers in those vehicles and to the travelling public. 

                                                 
2 Staff’s Response to Mitigation Request at 3 (citations omitted). 
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Accordingly, we conclude that a $1,500 penalty for one violation of 49 C.F.R. Part 

382.115(a) is appropriate. 

10 49 C.F.R. Part 393.51. The Penalty Assessment assessed a $100 penalty for one 

violation of 49 C.F.R. Part 393.51 because the Company had a commercial motor vehicle 

with a defective brake warning device. In this instance, the device was identified as an 

inoperable air pressure gauge.  

11 The Company did not address this violation in its request for mitigation or its corrective 

action safety plan. Staff recommends no mitigation of this portion of the penalty. We 

agree with Staff’s recommendation. Accordingly, we conclude that a $100 penalty for 

this violation is appropriate. 

12 49 C.F.R. Part 393.62(a). The Penalty Assessment assessed a $300 penalty for three 

violations of 49 C.F.R. Part 393.62(a) because three of the Company’s commercial motor 

vehicles had defective emergency exits; the windows of those vehicles either would not 

open or would not close. 

13 The Company did not address these violations in its request for mitigation or its 

corrective action safety plan. Staff recommends no mitigation of this portion of the 

penalty. We agree with Staff’s recommendation. Accordingly, we conclude that a $300 

penalty for three violations of 49 C.F.R. Part 393.62(a) is appropriate. 

14 49 C.F.R. Part 393.83(d). The Penalty Assessment assessed a $100 penalty for one 

violation of 49 C.F.R. Part 393.83(d) because the Company had a commercial motor 

vehicle with an improper exhaust pipe. 

15 The Company did not address this violation in its request for mitigation or its corrective 

action safety plan. Staff recommends no mitigation of this portion of the penalty. We 

agree with Staff’s recommendation. Accordingly, we conclude that a $100 penalty for 

this violation is appropriate. 

16 49 C.F.R. Part 393.205(c). The Penalty Assessment assessed a $100 penalty for one 

violation of 49 C.F.R. Part 393.205(c) because the Company had a commercial motor 

vehicle with loose or missing wheel fasteners. 

17 The Company did not address this violation in its request for mitigation or its corrective 

action safety plan. Staff recommends no mitigation of this portion of the penalty. We 
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agree with Staff’s recommendation. Accordingly, we conclude that a $100 penalty for 

this violation is appropriate. 

18 49 C.F.R. Part 395.8(a). The Penalty Assessment assessed a $100 penalty for 120 

violations of 49 C.F.R. Part 395.8(a) because the Company allowed its drivers to drive on 

120 occasions without requiring its drivers to make records of duty status. 

19 Staff recommends no mitigation of this portion of the penalty. We agree with Staff’s 

recommendation. While the Company may have addressed this violation in its corrective 

action safety plan and set in place a remedy to prevent future violations, the penalty 

assessed is not per violation, but by violation category. Accordingly, we conclude that a 

$100 penalty assessment for these 120 violations is appropriate. 

20 We also agree with Staff that suspending a portion of the penalty is appropriate in light of 

the circumstances. The Company provided a corrective safety plan that addressed some 

of the violations and the Company is a small business. Our goal here, as in any 

enforcement proceeding, is to increase compliance, not create an insurmountable 

financial burden for a regulated company. Accordingly, we suspend a $1,100 portion of 

the penalty for a period of two years, and then waive it, subject to the following 

conditions: (1) Staff will conduct a follow-up investigation within two years, or as soon 

thereafter as practicable, (2) the Company must not incur any repeat violations of critical 

regulations during those two years, and (3) the Company must pay the $1,100 portion of 

the penalty that is not suspended within 10 days of the date of this Order. 

FINDINGS AND CONCLUSIONS 

21 (1) The Commission is an agency of the State of Washington, vested by statute with 

authority to regulate rates, rules, regulations, and practices of public service 

companies, including charter and excursion carriers, and has jurisdiction over the 

parties and subject matter of this proceeding. 

22 (2) Blessed Limo is a charter and excursion carrier subject to Commission regulation. 

23 (3) Blessed Limo violated 49 C.F.R. Part 382.115(a) when it failed to implement a 

controlled substance and alcohol testing program.  

24 (4) RCW 81.04.530 allows a penalty of up to $1,500 for a failure to implement a 

controlled substance and alcohol testing program. 
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25 (5) Blessed Limo should be penalized $1,500 for one violation of 49 C.F.R. Part 

382.115(a). 

26 (6) Blessed Limo violated 49 C.F.R. Part 393.51 because one of its commercial motor 

vehicles had a defective brake warning system, identified as an inoperable air 

pressure gauge.  

27 (7) Blessed Limo should be penalized $100 for one violation of 49 C.F.R. 

Part 393.51. 

28 (8) Blessed Limo violated 49 C.F.R. Part 393.62(a) by having commercial motor 

vehicles with defective emergency exits, with windows that either would not open 

or would not close.  

29 (9) Blessed Limo should be penalized $300 for three violations of 49 C.F.R. 

Part 393.62(a). 

30 (10) Blessed Limo violated 49 C.F.R. Part 393.83(d) by having a commercial motor 

vehicle with an improper exhaust pipe. 

31 (11) Blessed Limo should be penalized $100 for one violation of 49 C.F.R. 

Part 393.83(d). 

32 (12) Blessed Limo violated 49 C.F.R. Part 393.205(c) by having a commercial motor 

vehicle with loose or missing wheel fasteners. 

33 (13) Blessed Limo should be penalized $100 for one violation of 49 C.F.R. 

Part 393.205(c). 

34 (14) Blessed Limo violated 49 C.F.R. Part 395.8(a) when it failed to require its drivers 

to make records of duty status on 120 occasions. 

35 (15) Blessed Limo should be penalized $100 for 120 violations of 49 C.F.R. 

Part 395.8(a). 

36 (16) The Commission should assess a total penalty of $2,200 for 127 violations of 

Chapter 480-30 WAC and Title 49 C.F.R. 

37 (17) The Commission should suspend a $1,100 portion of the penalty for a period of 

two years, and then waive it subject to the conditions set out in paragraph 20. 
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ORDER 

THE COMMISSION ORDERS:  

38 (1) Blessed Limousine, Inc.’s request for mitigation is DENIED. The penalty amount 

of $2,200 is affirmed, but the Commission exercises its discretion to suspend a 

portion of the penalty amount subject to conditions. 

39 (2) The Commission suspends a $1,100 portion of the penalty for a period of two 

years, and then waives it, subject to the conditions set out in paragraph 20. 

40 (3) Blessed Limousine, Inc. must pay the $1,100 portion of the penalty that is not 

suspended within 10 days of the effective date of this Order. 

41 The Secretary has been delegated authority to enter this order on behalf of the 

Commission under WAC 480-07-903(2)(e). 

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective May 15, 2019. 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

 

 

MARK L. JOHNSON 

Executive Director and Secretary 

NOTICE TO PARTIES: This is an order delegated to the Executive Secretary for 

decision. As authorized in WAC 480-07-904(3), you must file any request for 

Commission review of this order no later than 14 days after the date the decision is 

posted on the Commission’s website.  


