July 20, 2018

Utilities & Transportation Commission

P.O. Box 47250 | .
Olympia, WA 98504 ;
Attn: Mark Johnson

Reference #: D-180474

Dear Mr. Johnson:

| received a penalty in the mail for Builders Supply, Inc. in reference to the
violations of the Washington State Dig Law, Case Numbers 18-021 thru 024, Puget
Sound Energy vs. Builders Supply.

It is stated in the letter that Builders Supply needed to respond within 15 days.
During this time period, my uncle passed away suddenly and | was the person in
charge that needed to take care of all of his personal affairs and I closed my
company, Builders Supply, | am no longer the owner.

[ am very sorry this date slipped by. | am accepting the conditions, but | am asking
if I can just pay the $6,000.00 that | owe for the violations right now? | will be
signing up for the NUCA Dig Safe Training this week and when completed, | will
send all of the documentation right away to the Commission.

| look forward to hearing from you and hope you understand my circumstances.

Thank you,

Kevin Hager






WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION |
PENALTY ASSESSMENT D-180474

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

‘T have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the
matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under
oath, the following statements.

[ ]11. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred and enclose $16,000 in payment
of the penalty.

M 2. Accept conditions. I admit that the violations occurred and enclose $10,000 toward the
payment of the penalty I also accept the Commission’s offer to suspend, and ultimately
waive, the remaining $6,000 penalty amount subject to the conditions that the ownéand
field supervisors of Builder’s Supply complete NUCA Dig Safe Training within four
months of the issuance of this penalty assessment; submit documentation of that =
attendance to the Commission within five (5) days of attending the training; and comrmt
no further violations of RCW 19.122 within the next 12 months

[ 13. Contestthe violation. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur for the reason§ I
describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest here, your o
request will be denied):

[ ]a) Iask fora hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an
administrative law judge for a decision.
OR [ ]b) IaskforaCommission decision based solely on the information I provide
above.

[ 1 4. Request mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should be
reduced for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting your
application here, your request will be denied):

[ ]a) Iaskforahearingto present evidence on the information I provide above to an
administrative law judge for a decision. ‘
OR [ ]b) Iask fora Commission decision based solely on the information I provide
above.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: V. 20\& [Month/Day/Year], at {000\ Lo [City, State]

\ewon Soder
Name of Respoﬁdent (company) — please print - \Sfgnature of Applicant
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Any request for mitigation must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request.
Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the
Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation(s) or application for
mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The
administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of his or her decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

e Pay the $16,000 amount due; or

e Pay $10,000 of the total penalty and notify the Commission that you accept the offer to
suspend, and ultimately waive, the remaining $6,000 penalty subject to the conditions that
the owners and field supervisors of Builder’s Supply complete NUCA Dig Safe Training
within four months of the date of this Penalty Assessment; submit documentation of that
attendance to the Commission within five (5) days of attending the training; and commit no
further violations of RCW 19.122 within the next 12 months; or

e Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of any or all of the violation; or

e Request mitigation to reduce the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and submit it electronically through the
Commission’s web portal within FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice. If you are
unable to use the web portal, you may submit it via email to records@utc.wa.gov. If you are
unable to submit the form electronically, you may send a paper copy to the Washington Utilities
and Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection. The Commission may then sue you to colléct the penalty.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective June 18, 2018.

/s/ Rayne Pearson
RAYNE PEARSON
Director, Administrative Law Division



